Customer Reviews for

The Coming of the Horseclans

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Excellent ! Very imaginative Sci-fi/fantasy series. If you are l

    Excellent ! Very imaginative Sci-fi/fantasy series. If you are looking for a series that will keep you your interest and is a page turner than purchase this book! There are three spelling errors and nothing to get upset about. I hope that B&N will post the rest of this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Leader's Den Of HorseClan

    Leader's Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This is a book about men who ride horses and live in clans. Thus

    This is a book about men who ride horses and live in clans. Thus, Horseclans. Not only only do these nomadic barbarians live to ride and ride to live (and slay), but they can communicate by telepathy, not just among themselves, but with their horses. Awesome, isn't it? But wait, there's more, because they can also communicate with...Sabre Tooth Tigers! Who are their friends! Because why not.

    The time is the future, a post-apocalypse North America that has reverted to a medieval stage of civilization.The leader of the Horseclans is Milo Morai. He is, in fact, one of the "undying," a group of mutant humans who posses extraordinary healing abilities. Milo's enemies are twofold: in the foreground are the Ehleenee, Greek-speaking invaders who have set up shop in what was the American South. Yes, in the post-apocalyptic future, the Greeks invade America. The Greek noblemen are portrayed as corrupt, sensual, mincing boy-lovers, in contrast to the uniformly hetero and stalwart Horsemen. In the background are the shadowy "witchmen," who are immortal scientists from the twentieth century. But they are evil, of course: body-stealing brainiacs who want to enslave all mankind.

    This all sounds a bit silly, and it is, but it is also well-written for this kind of thing. The author knows his way around a saddle and a suit of armor. Politically correct it is NOT. Women are treated as booty in all senses of the word, although Adams draws strong female characters. Greeks are subject to every old stereotype you can imagine, mostly involving separating the men from the boys. Black people are portrayed positively, as physicians; they practice a form of Islam. Scientists are evil eggheads. However, the book delivers the goods: battles are plenty and fierce and villains are brought to justice in entertaining ways. Courage and skill on a horse are ultimately more important than ethnicity or gender. It's pure pulp entertainment and well done for what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    i put this series at the same level that i put the drey prescott

    i put this series at the same level that i put the drey prescott series and conan i once owned 18 horseclan novels i wish that i still had them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    To whitetail

    Goldenstripes mate is lilysta, not you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Skystep Featherbreese

    (About the prophecy. Peaceful sky is either skystep or skyleaf. But the leap the day away makes no sense. Leapwind is dead.) SKYSTEP~ Name: Skystep Description: grey with white paws. Eye color: blue Rank: warrior/queen mate: used to be Limecreek now none. Kits: Featherbreeze, creeksplash, spottedflame, silverkit History: mother died and left me an my littermates alone. They all died eventually and i was the only survivor. Family: Lake(mom) Ocean Oak Wave (littermates) FEATHERBREEZE~ Name: Featherbreeze Description: pale grey with long tail Eye color: ocean blue Rank: warrior Kits: none yet Mate: hopefully Streamshade Family: Skystep(mom) Spottedpaw and Leapwind (littermates)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Owlfeather

    Name:owlfeather Description: A gold furred cat with amber eyes and a torn ear. Noone know how she got it. Apprentices: Moonpaw (Moonpelt) History: Never told and forgotten Family: Abandoned but lilystar and goldenstripe adopte ne an i have three sisters. Siblings: Snowfire and heathershine Gender: Female.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Heathershine

    "I wonder what it means. After all certaintly includes many of our cats." She said thoughtful her emerald eyes puzzled.~Heathershine

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Skyleaf

    Name: Skyleaf Description: A smallish dark gray she cat with lighter gray paws, a slightly lighter colored stomach, blackish tips on her ears, and a long tail the same shade as her paws, with emerald green eyes, and a hint of turquoise. Mate: Onetail Kits: None yet, but wants some! Personality: Fun-loving, normally calm, and fiercely loyal to everything and everyone that she cares about. Apprentices: Hollypaw(died before becoming a warrior) Family: Jewelfrost(who sacrificed herself in the fire) History: Joined HorseClan, but before that, her history is shadowed and unknown. It was just recently discovered that Jewelfrost was her sister. Skyleaf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Jewelfrost

    I have but many words of warning for you. Beware the horse's fallen birch and shards of the new storm. Release the pelt of the ghost. Star the lily's wolven hound. And love the brave silver's star. Weave steps in the peaceful sky and blossom in it's rays. Hope for twoleg names and leap the day away. Please do this all and it will bring great peace for seasons.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    F

    Hahahalol second reveiw in 2012!!!!! WOOOOOO

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Perfect Read

    I just wish there where more of this series in ebook form so that i can reread them all i really enjoyed reading the origanil books but they are almost impossable to find the complete series in paper back any more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Glad this is coming to the digital age

    A few years ago I was trying to find these books in old bookstores. They have been out of print for some time now and I loved them as a kid. I hope they do the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    A great book to escape with

    Havent seen this book for many years. I read it when I was in high school. The whole series is excellent. Not a great peice of literature, but a fun read when you want to get away. I hope BN digitaly publishes all of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    It's Back and still a wild ride

    For those of you who need to replace their worn additions or those of you who want to visit the Horseclans for the first time this series is for you. Originally 'Coming of the Horseclans' sold over 3 million copies before the Robert Adams passed away in the 1990s. Time has done nothing to stop this books powerful story. A timeless classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2