Customer Reviews for

Communist Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A perfection of society and revolution

Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels were simply products of their time. They observed the opression of obvious capitalist England. Though the care of the working class has greatly improved, they are still treated, to scale, like trash. Marx and Engels show human nature and h...
Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels were simply products of their time. They observed the opression of obvious capitalist England. Though the care of the working class has greatly improved, they are still treated, to scale, like trash. Marx and Engels show human nature and how no one will stay opressed, in theory. The ideas of the book are great but in todays capitalism it would be a imposiblity for a socialist/Marxist reform. Of course Marx or Engels couldnt have known how strong capitalism would have become,nevertheless, the book still has very strong points to be made about the working class. I heard from a earlier reviewer that one of the 'paradoxes' was that once the proletarian took power they wouldn't elect a leader and hand over power. The reviewers point was that due to human nature no one would just give up the power they fought for. Not many revoluitions have been succesfully carried out and sustained by the working class but one comes to mind and that is the French Revolution ( the second part). And the working class did give over power. So theres some historical evidence to back up this book. I would suggest this book to anyone honestly, its gives a very straight foward view of how capitalism cannot work forever.

posted by Anonymous on October 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't worry folks, I didn't read it to learn from it, I read it

Don't worry folks, I didn't read it to learn from it, I read it to do some homework for my next book and also to remind myself of the lunacy behind the book that stir up a lot of turmoil and misery in the world. I don't want to review the book itself, since there are ma...
Don't worry folks, I didn't read it to learn from it, I read it to do some homework for my next book and also to remind myself of the lunacy behind the book that stir up a lot of turmoil and misery in the world. I don't want to review the book itself, since there are many reviews already out there. I rather point out what it does to a free society. Communism/socialism creates equality for sure. It makes everyone equally miserable. How do I know? Because I lived in one of those so called Soviet created equalities. While there are many people who try to define what Soviets were as oppose to the socialism that was preached by this book, I would like to remind them that Lenin was a student of Marx's teachings. Not directly, but studying and documenting all that he could in order to rise up the masses of Russian people. Also, to remind everyone, the people were easily swayed, since the times of Tsar were not easy for many peasants and a large percentage of them were not educated, so it was easy to preach equality that can never exist in the real world to the mass of 'oppressed' and convince them to take away, not just from Royal Russian family and their supporters, but anyone who had something that they earned on their own. Kulaks, people who worked hard and had enough. The rest thought that spreading the others' hard work is a good idea. Sounds familiar in today's world. Whether it was equal and fair, well, so called Kulaks worked for what they had, so anyone can make that judgement call on fair. Marx speaks of what needs to be done and one that should stick out to everyone is this perfect society for the working man and NO INHERITANCE? Excuse me, I have seen this before, but just a reminder to everyone. Equal and fair, fine, I will byte, but after you work your whole life, you can not leave the inheritance and that is a good idea? It is a good book to read to understand the mind of a alcoholic, such as Marx, who was offered numerous opportunities to provide for his family and in not taking those opportunities, this bum allowed a few of his own kids die from starvation. Does that sound like a man whom anyone would listen to? If you would like a more realistic book than this one, I would recommend "Lord of the Ring" (sarcasm intended). Read it for your own knowledge, but to take any of this seriously is to say that you want to give up your freedoms to society, to others and in Marx's school of socialism to government, who are always 'just' (sarcasm intended again).

posted by JakeNJ on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't worry folks, I didn't read it to learn from it, I read it

    Don't worry folks, I didn't read it to learn from it, I read it to do some homework for my next book and also to remind myself of the lunacy behind the book that stir up a lot of turmoil and misery in the world. I don't want to review the book itself, since there are many reviews already out there. I rather point out what it does to a free society. Communism/socialism creates equality for sure. It makes everyone equally miserable. How do I know? Because I lived in one of those so called Soviet created equalities. While there are many people who try to define what Soviets were as oppose to the socialism that was preached by this book, I would like to remind them that Lenin was a student of Marx's teachings. Not directly, but studying and documenting all that he could in order to rise up the masses of Russian people. Also, to remind everyone, the people were easily swayed, since the times of Tsar were not easy for many peasants and a large percentage of them were not educated, so it was easy to preach equality that can never exist in the real world to the mass of 'oppressed' and convince them to take away, not just from Royal Russian family and their supporters, but anyone who had something that they earned on their own. Kulaks, people who worked hard and had enough. The rest thought that spreading the others' hard work is a good idea. Sounds familiar in today's world. Whether it was equal and fair, well, so called Kulaks worked for what they had, so anyone can make that judgement call on fair. Marx speaks of what needs to be done and one that should stick out to everyone is this perfect society for the working man and NO INHERITANCE? Excuse me, I have seen this before, but just a reminder to everyone. Equal and fair, fine, I will byte, but after you work your whole life, you can not leave the inheritance and that is a good idea? It is a good book to read to understand the mind of a alcoholic, such as Marx, who was offered numerous opportunities to provide for his family and in not taking those opportunities, this bum allowed a few of his own kids die from starvation. Does that sound like a man whom anyone would listen to? If you would like a more realistic book than this one, I would recommend "Lord of the Ring" (sarcasm intended). Read it for your own knowledge, but to take any of this seriously is to say that you want to give up your freedoms to society, to others and in Marx's school of socialism to government, who are always 'just' (sarcasm intended again).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    A perfection of society and revolution

    Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels were simply products of their time. They observed the opression of obvious capitalist England. Though the care of the working class has greatly improved, they are still treated, to scale, like trash. Marx and Engels show human nature and how no one will stay opressed, in theory. The ideas of the book are great but in todays capitalism it would be a imposiblity for a socialist/Marxist reform. Of course Marx or Engels couldnt have known how strong capitalism would have become,nevertheless, the book still has very strong points to be made about the working class. I heard from a earlier reviewer that one of the 'paradoxes' was that once the proletarian took power they wouldn't elect a leader and hand over power. The reviewers point was that due to human nature no one would just give up the power they fought for. Not many revoluitions have been succesfully carried out and sustained by the working class but one comes to mind and that is the French Revolution ( the second part). And the working class did give over power. So theres some historical evidence to back up this book. I would suggest this book to anyone honestly, its gives a very straight foward view of how capitalism cannot work forever.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Great!

    I really enjoyed this pamphlet. As a teenager, I know that kids today are raised with "communism is evil, capitalism is good, and that's that" without being explained to what exactly they are, and why one is considered bad, and the other good. this book is sometimes kinda boring at parts and hard to understand, mostly due to the vocabulary, but other times is wonderful, enlightening, and makes you upset about current society. you'll find yourself thinking, hmm communism is a good idea! i suggest this book to everybody frustrated with capitalism. WORKINGMEN OF ALL NATIONS, UNITE!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    Very Difficult Book

    I read this book for an 11th grade AP European History class and it is sooo difficult to read and understand...I struggled all the way through it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Must-Read for an America in Fear

    Since Americans don't really know what communism is, they should probably pick up this book. The scholarly Karl Marx explicates his predictions for the proletariat to rise against the bourgeois, and the elimination of private property--this is communism. The short book sums up the true basis of the economic/political system at its very beginnings. What is communism? It is not what we were taught during the Red Scare. It is different and deeper than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    All of u that hate communisim

    SCREW u and die in a hole and do it again till god gets tired of sending u to heaven and sends u to hell go karls marx screw the capitalist bastards

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    The Nazis

    The Nazi party was socialist (Socilism comunism and marxism are the same) are they the economic and social modle we want to mimic? I dont think so!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    As a young adult this book has changed my political views and if

    As a young adult this book has changed my political views and if your a person who wants to know more about Communism, Socialism, and how they view capitalism opposed to them; I would definitely pick this book up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    A must read for all who want to politics and, history!

    The Communist Manifesto is probably the most controversial and, influential book of the last 200 years it has caused more good and bad, in the world than anything. Here Marx lays down his platform and, his Theory of Communism. His ideas laid the foundation for Leftist politics of Europe today. He also provided motivation for for the Bolshevik Revolution, as far as what Marx said he is right. Europe in General is ran by Socialists and, Social Democrats all are parties that trace their roots to Marx and, gradually Capitalism has delcined throughout Europe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    A must-read

    It may be a little difficult to read, but it's pretty short, so you can do it. Besides, it will be well worth your while. Whether you decide at the end if there's something to Marx's ideas, or if its all junk is up to you, but this is definately a work that you should read, if only to give you something to muse about in your spare time . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    history was made

    Marx (and Engels) made history with manifesto. A must read for everybody who is intrested in history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2