Customer Reviews for

The Company She Keeps

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could Not Put It Down!!!!

Could not put this book down. Georgia's autobiography is a remarkable story of struggle, pain, and ultimately some redemption for a woman who defitnitely lived on the edge.
The characters, and stories are compelling. I constantly asked myself how a woman like this...
Could not put this book down. Georgia's autobiography is a remarkable story of struggle, pain, and ultimately some redemption for a woman who defitnitely lived on the edge.
The characters, and stories are compelling. I constantly asked myself how a woman like this got mixed up with the dysfunctional, evil and semi-evil men here, but perhaps this is a symptom of being battered. What is clear is that she is a remarkable lady but while you empathize with her, she still made some wrong choices that ultimately drove her into the insaneness of her life. Hopefully today she is healthy, and has found the balance she so desperately sought. I wish her all the best.

posted by Beren54 on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

interesting but pathetic

I am very displeased with the purchase of this book. It should be renamed 'How I slept with a truck load of people and screwed up my kids'

posted by 7154521 on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    interesting but pathetic

    I am very displeased with the purchase of this book. It should be renamed 'How I slept with a truck load of people and screwed up my kids'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Could Not Put It Down!!!!

    Could not put this book down. Georgia's autobiography is a remarkable story of struggle, pain, and ultimately some redemption for a woman who defitnitely lived on the edge.
    The characters, and stories are compelling. I constantly asked myself how a woman like this got mixed up with the dysfunctional, evil and semi-evil men here, but perhaps this is a symptom of being battered. What is clear is that she is a remarkable lady but while you empathize with her, she still made some wrong choices that ultimately drove her into the insaneness of her life. Hopefully today she is healthy, and has found the balance she so desperately sought. I wish her all the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Great Book.  Didn't know she was married to Joey Lamendola.  Lea

    Great Book.  Didn't know she was married to Joey Lamendola.  Learn something everyday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Excellant

    Very good book. Georgia is a very strong woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Absolutely a GREAT Book!

    From the moment I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down! I absolutely loved this book! The way she expressed herself and described what went on all throughout her life made you feel like you were right there experiencing it all with her. The struggles and hell she went through to come out on top of it all is a true inspiration! I recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    Interesting and exciting. The thrill of the mob life with a different ending.

    I foung the story interesting not only for it's mob connections but that it took place in an area that I grew up in. The references to local establishments and people was fun to read. The twists throughout the book kept my attention and the ending became thought provoking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Disappointing ending...unfinished story...

    I was disapointed in the ending as the author barely touched on how she got custody of the child. It left a lot of unanswered questions. Also, she is featured prominently in photos in the book
    +with Chuck Woolery, but never much mentions what part he played in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    This is a very interesting book about an extremely brave woman that is hard for the average person to relate to. A good read typical of people
    with money and no moral character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    INSPIRATIONAL!

    I was rivited from the moment I began to read this book. A beautiful smart capable young woman took a wrong turn at the cross roads of her adolesnce. She grew up fast and tried to please everyone, except herself. She followed her heart and not her head. Her young life was so sad. There were plenty of people to blame her misery on, but instead of placing blame and excepting her mistakes as fait a compli, like a Phoenix, Georgia rose from the ashes, dusted herself off and grew to be a smart, savvy, powerful woman. This book could have ended in tragedy. Instead it is a testimonial to the power of the human spirit. Awesome read. Awesome woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Excellent Mob story!

    It was so interesting and better because it is a true story. I read this years ago and now it is coming out again. Please read it you will learn a lot about the MOB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    The Company She Keeps

    This book sounds like a Mega Hit Movie. Wow! It really blew me away. Georgia Durante must have nine lives, and I think there are so many good reasons why God has kept her on this planet. She is definitely a survivor who still has wit, humor, compassion and strength as well as a lot of courage. These all are very admirable qualities that she possesses. I couldn¿t put this book down. I was also really impressed when I was reading about her company, Performance Two, and her driving skills. She is so talented. She definitely has nerves of steel as well as a lot of guts. Georgia Durante is an amazing woman and this book is a must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    An Amazing Life Of Survival

    Georgia Durante's life is full of times that test and challenge her. You'll read how she passes all the tests and answers all the challenges. These include an abusive husband, life in the Mafia, raising children, building a successful business and finding happiness. Be prepared as you read for a host of feelings to overcome you. There'll be times when you'll cheer Georgia on. There will also be times when you'll gain this feeling of empowerment for yourself. The Company She Keeps is one of those rare books that will launch you into an examination of your own life. You'll learn that the only thing that can stand in your way is you. Georgia Durante has turned her life into a gift. By sharing all of the moments featured in The Company She Keeps, she helps a good person become greater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    GREAT book

    As a child in the state of new York, and a resident in the city of Rochester, it was very aquird for me while reading this book. As she talked about many different places, and street names, I realized that they are right around me, and many of the people were friends with my grandmother. I also learned that in my house lived one of the members of the mafia. This book was very graphic for me, bacuase I could see the places where she had been. I loved the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    'The Company She Keeps'

    Georgia Durante's 'The Company She Keeps' is an amazing work of literary art in it's own right. My hat is off to both this wonderful book and most definitly to the incredible lady who lived to write about it. It will be an education to all who read it. I have read it twice and will probably read it many times more. 'Thanks' Georgia! Much success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Georgie Girl

    In this fascinating, very human story, Georgia Durante's elucidation of the American underworld poignantly illustrates how the dark side operates. Born and raised in Rochester, New York, she was the original, quintessential, 1960's 'Georgie Girl'. A Mafia darling, throughly intoxicated by the power of the men who adored her. She begins her journey for us as the 'Kodak Summer Girl' of 1969 at age seventeen,while simultaneously struggling to survive the after math of a violent rape by her brother-in-law, and ends it almost thirty years later in the courtrooms of California. Along the way there are high speed car chases through the streets of New York City, abusive marriages, gangland hits, stalkers with shotguns, narrowly missed plane crashes, and of course, treacherous lovers. A profusion of dramas produced under the glare of Hollywood lights, hosted by Angels and devils on both sides of the law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous!

    This book is one of the most wonderful books I have ever read. Georgia Durante makes you feel like her most dear friend who is experiencing her life with her. The things that I read in this book will stay with me FOREVER. I could not put it down. This book had me laughing out loud and welling up with tears. There is no other word to describe it than FABULOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Insightful look into the 'Mob'--warts and all!!

    I really enjoyed reading 'The Company She Keeps' for a variety of reasons. Though I never knew Ms. Durante personally I am from her home town! I knew of many of the people in the book though I didn't live there during much of the timeline. I can say this--her description of the town itself is right on. I was also fascinated by the rules in a world few people know. I thought Ms. Durante created a vehicle in which the reader could truly experience what it is like to live in this world. I am an actress by trade and have had the good fortune to play a character on the acclaimed HBO series 'The Sopranos.' I used Ms. Durante's book as a character study for my work on The Sopranos as well as other mob characters I have played. She made it easy for me to understand the behavior of women involved in this world. As an actress that is a valuable tool. The picture she painted was exciting, frightening and romantic all at once. I was also very impressed by the author's candid confession of her own mistakes--without blaming anyone for her choices or circumstances. Eventually, her own redemption gives hope to women in any situation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    An autobiography of enduring pathos...

    To think that I was actually tracking down another mob book, Mafia Marriage, also written by the wife of a Mafioso, to discover a far more courageous and gripping read in The Company She Keeps by Georgia Durante. Not just a great mob book, but an autobiography of enduring pathos and 'endless nightmares': A small town, covergirl; the Mafia friendships, romances and the murders; the marriages of love, abuse, and betrayal; the stalking of a manic and the FBI (you¿ll have to read to get her code name); the fugitive family and the bonds that broke and then mended; the get-away driver turned Hollywood stunt driver. The lighthearted and inconsequential image of mobster Sammy G being thrown from a horse into the water stands in my mind¿ Also, the irony of mobster Joey T showing up unannounced to Georgia¿s wedding asking a favor: For money! These remind me of how close to the inside Georgia was¿hanging out with choleric mobsters who also are portrayed with almost filial-like protection and caring. This serendipitous read made me think of my daughter and the effects that ones `company¿ can have. And despite the despair and at times baseness of man, the ramifications of `the company you keep¿ and the real life courage shown in this book makes this opportune for teen reading as well. So, sit back, get some coffee, and have plenty of hours ahead when you start this serendipitous read. Don¿t do as I did, and start the book in the evening. Even though Georgia is done with her `mob¿ life about half way through the book, you don¿t get any intermission. Thanks Georgia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    Nothing like I have read before

    Georgia accountings of her life are unbelieveable. You wonder how many tragic events can actually happen to a person? and yet she survives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2