Customer Reviews for

The Complete America's Test Kitchen TV Show Cookbook: Every Recipe from the Hit TV Show with Product Ratings and a Look Behind the Scenes

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Excellent, Highly recommended.

    Everyone has their own idea on how food should taste but there seems to be a universally accepted theme on a well prepared dish and one that misses its target. In my opinion, America's Test Kitchen recipes as a collective never miss the target. My family and friends all agree their recipes are consistently well thought out. The passion they have for teaching us "weekend chefs" how to cook well is quite evident. Alton Brown's recipes and America's Test Kitchen are the two sources that I do not worry about the results. With that said the downside to this book is also a plus, the recipes are sometimes very precise in their desire to create the perfect dish (ie. the number of strokes while preparing the eggs in a french omelet). The amount of time to cook a meal perfectly is not always in my schedule but a lot of the cooking techniques have found their way into the week night line up.
    Excellent resource, would recommend.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Our Favorite Cookbook

    We received the 2009 season cookbook as a gift and it sat on our shelf until we actually watched some of the shows. While it may seem like the test kitchen crew takes extra, un-necessary steps, I assure you - the outcome is amazing and well worth it! We make at least 1-2 recipes per week from this book making it the most used cookbook in our kitchen.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Indispensable Resource

    I'm a huge fan of the Test Kitchen show, and the things I love about the way they perfect their recipes and techniques are even more present in the printed version. I made the Pecan Pie a couple of weeks ago, and it was so good I'm going to bake two or three for Thanksgiving!

    Instructions that work every time, with a wealth of other useful information for your kitchen (product reviews, substitution advice, and more). Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    One of the best cookbooks ever; one of our favorites!! Amazing,

    One of the best cookbooks ever; one of our favorites!! Amazing, fool-proof recipes!! A must-have for anyone interested in cooking, beginner or advanced!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Delicious, Successful Recipes ... This Book Is a Great Value

    I LOVE cooking with recipes from America's Test Kitchen. The end result is always delicious -- however, I must caution that these recipes are usually complex ... not complicated, as in difficult to follow, but complex, as in multiple steps. Often, by the end of the recipe, you'll feel as if you've used every bowl, pot, and pan in your kitchen ... but, oh, the end result is WELL WORTH it. And I like the way that the chefs explain how they build and fine-tune their recipes: Why molasses instead of brown sugar, why buttermilk instead of regular milk, etc., in a particular recipe. This cookbook is a great collection and contains a full range of recipes ... some of the best ever from America's Test Kitchen. It's a great addition to any kitchen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Bought this for my husband and I have read it more than he has. It has every recipe from the TV show and is easy to understand and to use. Big bolok- heavy but a great reference to have in your cookbook library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Definitely recommend-all the tv show recipes available

    Love to watch the show but always forgot to go online to get the recipes. With this cookbook you have all the recipes from the show. I have made several and they are fantastic. I bought a second copy as a gift and she loves it also. Recipes are easy to follow and so far ingredients are in my pantry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    From Rio Vista, CA

    The best cookbook out there. It is the best book for beginners as well as the experience. I have given this book to my daughter and daughter-in-law as Christmas gifts and they love it. Everything comes out perfect.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    GREAT RECIPES FROM A GREAT TV SHOW

    The recipes in this cookbook are thoroughly tested. Every recipe has a few paragraphs of "WHY THIS RECIPE WORKS" with an explanation of ingredients interaction, cooking tips, etc. For instance, in the Foolproof Pie Dough recipe, vodka is added to pie dough to prevent the formation of gluten which makes the pie crust tough. The vodka vaporizes in the oven. Instead of just blindly following a recipe, you learn "WHY" certain procedures or ingredients are used in the recipe. I would recommend this cookbook for new as well as experienced cooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Haven't really had time to research this book fully.

    There are many recipes I would like to try in the near future and I will be referring to this book often.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1