Customer Reviews for

The Complete Book Of Running For Women

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    I couldn't have done it without this book!

    I had always envied the runners, but never thought I could do it. And I couldn't--until I got this book. I would try, but I'd hurt myself because I'd push myself too fast or too hard. I religiously followed the training program in this book less than 4 months after starting the program, I now run 6.5 miles each time, 4 days a week! I feel better, I'm pain-free, I'm in better shape, I've lost more weight that I ever did with other exercise programs, and I actually enjoy running now(well, 95% of the time!). It even helped my self esteem, because I am now accomplishing something that I though I never could. I HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone who has wanted to run, but didn't think they could do it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    AMAZING!

    I purchased this book about half way through my 6 month half marathon training. I have never run before and began to feel the initial motivation for my training begin to slip away as the long run miles increased. This book really helped me get everything back on track. It was very imformative and I loved how it began motivating me right away. I completed the half marathon about three weeks ago and still reference this book as I begin to train for my first marathon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Love it!!!!

    I found this book very helpful with my running. I like how it all relates to me, as a woman, rather than what a guy should focus on. Those are two way different things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Inspirational and Useful

    The complete book of running for women will give any new commer to running a head start on their daily training program. Good details on typical training methods and covers diet and recovery to improve the runners out come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    I love this book

    This book is incredible. It provided me with an enormous amount of information on women's running. I am a morbidly obese beginner and this book has given me the motivation to stick with running. I will be participating in my first road race in June. I am committed to a lifetime of running as a result of reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    great book for beginners

    I think Kowalchik has alot of useful information in this book to get you started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Great Resource for Women Runners

    I bought this book as a beginner runner and found it to be a comprehensive tool to start running and now, 2 years later, I still find it very useful and turn to it often for schedules, training tips, weight training, etc. Recommended for anyone looking to start running, looking to increase mileage, or already a lifetime runner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    glad I bought this book.

    This book, 'The Complete Book of Running for Women...' has a lot of inspirational & useful information in it. I know I will refer to it time & time again. I had not run since high school, some 30 years ago, but after reading 'Running Forward - Looking Back' and getting inspired to try running again, I found this book. I loved the true stories in the Running Forward book and use this book for the nuts & bolts of health and training tips. So far, these are the only running books I own. (so far anyway)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Run and Get This Book!

    This is a fantastic book for runners of all levels. It is well written (I read it cover-to-cover) and packed with useful information. I refer back to it often for inspiration and training tips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Great Buy!

    I was new to running when I bought this book, and I love it! It has served many purposes such as helping me with diet, and alternative exercises on the days I don't run. Aside from the grammatical and editorial errors in this book, it is really one of the best on the market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    Good running info but misguided nutrition section

    While this book overall provides a lot of useful RUNNING information, especially to the beginner, the nutrition section may offend vegetarians, and provides misguided 'information' about the necessity of meat. In this section, Ms. Kowalchik sounds like she might have been paid by the dairy and meat industry to promote their products! She has a section devoted to promoting red meat for all its wonderful vitamin/mineral content (without mention of possible carcinogenic effects), insinuating that the reduction of meat in our diet is to blame for women falling short in their RDA of protein,which is flawed logic because we have generally increased our intake of protein from other sources to compensate. In a section on iron she points out that iron from vegetable products are best absorbed when served with meat, so 'add some meat to your bean chili.' (p. 93) That's the kind of statement that makes a vegetarian (like me) fume!! This is not to say she promotes a meat- or dairy- oriented diet (like Atkins)-- she basically promotes the food pyramid, but does not seem very open to or informed about the advantages of a more vegetable-soy oriented diet, which is widely touted by nutrition experts as quite healthy and safe. For those serious about nutrition, I would skip this chapter of the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Incredibly motivating!

    This was an interesting and informative read. I quite enjoyed it. I never was the type to pick up a fitness book but i am glad I did. This book explains diet, it motivates and allows anyone to realize their goals for their bodies (ie. health, self-concept, and self-confidence, etc.). I would recommend it to anyone as I could not put it down at night and have carried it everywhere for the last two weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2