Customer Reviews for

The Complete Book of Chess Strategy: Grandmaster Techniques From A to Z

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Hi

    Gsdfhjhddddchhktwsvvjjgrdvggrfdddszszddddcxdddddddddnngddddssusobfggs:$3:7$:%;%:%;;%:%:$:$:@:$:$::$%;%:%:%:$':&%#$2223323

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    This book explains basic chess strategy and theory. If you want

    This book explains basic chess strategy and theory. If you want to learn a new opening or just enjoy chess you would like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No summary about the book 

    No summary about the book 

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    General Book on Strategic Concepts

    This is a good general book on a very wide variety of strategic concepts. No single book should call themselves complete as there are many things not covered in this book. The strong point of this book is that it covers a lot of important ideas. If you are trying to focus on a specific idea (such as a type of tactic, opening traps) then this is the wrong type of book to get. To get a book on general ideas at a moderate difficulty (not a book for the tame at heart - nor for a lower rated player) then this is a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Good Intermediate Book - Not so good for Beginners

    The concepts and ideas covered in the Complete Book of Chess Strategy are very good for a player who already has a grasp of the basics. For a reasonably advanced player this book is a sure way to improve your game. On the other hand, and why I give this book a three instead of a four star rating, this book is far too difficult for either a young reader (too high of a reading level) or a chess player who is either a beginner or advanced beginner. The book seems to be somewhat showcased as a book good for beginner's when in fact this book shouldn't be read by anyone other than an Intermediate level player with a fair amount of experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Complete Book of Chess Strategy: Grandmaster Techniques From A to Z

    To get to the point this book does not compare in quality to the same author's 'Reasess Your Chess', which I would give 4 stars. Part of the problem is that the author leaves so many important parts of essential strategy out of the book - you see the book uses the word 'Complete'. If it was 90% complete this would be good, I would say at best 50% complete'. Now this still covers a lot of things so 2 stars instead of 1. The author should nees a second volume to have a right to use the word 'complete'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Complete Book of Chess Strategy: Grandmaster Techniques From A to Z

    This book makes too many assumptions that you know certain things (not talking about the very, very basics). Therefore, it jumps from one idea to the other and you must fill in the gaps 'since you know all this stuff already'. Certainly not step by step learning. This book is perhaps well written for the tournament player who has many books under his/her belt. But the material assumes you know a lot already to be effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Well written for the Intermediate level tournament player

    I can highly recommed this book if you are a chess player rated over 1200. Silman writing in all of his books is great for players in the 1200 to 2000 rating range. The problem I found was that for my son (age 10 rated about 900) the concepts and reading level are far too difficult. I mainly purchased the book for him, but found it wasn't the best choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Concepts often lack full explanation

    I have read a fair number of books which provide instruction on tactics. Many are just puzzles with answers. This book is a step better than that. However, the author does not provide sufficient explanation on numerous examples of what happens on very critical variations. This book is incomplete in many respects. For advanced players who don't need this explanation this book isn't needed. For less experienced players this explanation is very much needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    This Book open my eyes

    This is book is so wasy to read it help me understnad my Opening and middle game a lot better. everything is easy to look up and read this is a must for all chess players.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    A Masterpiece

    This book is a must have for any intermediate player. It covers about 40 opening systems as well as essential concepts used in the middle and endgame. Silman makes the ideas easy to understand with clear examples that are not hard to follow. Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    A Chess Reference For All

    This book is very easy to read and understand. The language is clean and direct. It is basically a chess dictionary and I think it should be on all beginners-intermediate players' bookshelves, or better yet, under your arm. A great chess book, I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Awesome

    This book is an excellent book for beginners and intermediate players. It gives short, concise explanations that anyone can understand. I really liked the explanations of openings in this book because Mr. Silman writes of the long term goals and short comings of each of them. This book just covered so much in a reasonably short time and did it very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1