Customer Reviews for

The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi and QiGong

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    Although this book is rated 'excellent' by top experts, try the 2nd Edition, even better!!

    Although this book was rated 'excellent' by top experts in tai chi & qigong, the new 2nd edition has 204 ILLUSTRATIVE SKETCHES TO HELP YOU LEARN THE LONG FORM OF TAI CHI. Do a search for the 2nd edition, much more powerful than even this edition was. Also, the complimentary DVD or 3 volume video program 'T'ai Chi & Qigong: The Prescription for the Future' is a powerful addition to the very detailed book instruction of the 2nd edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    Excellent Guide to Learning T'ai Chi

    I love your book 'The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & QiGong.' It's one of the best books I've ever read to help introduce people to the benefits of T'ai Chi and QiGong. I recommend it to all my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    My Video & DVD Program is now available thru BN.com!!

    My ground breaking Tai Chi & Qigong instructional DVD and VHS video program is now available through BN.com. Search 'Tai Chi & Qigong: The Prescription for the Future' under videos or dvd. This fun, effective, and very user friendly instructional program is based on the same immediately useful and enjoyable approach as my best selling book, The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong. This program has helped people all over the world find dramatically improved health, mental, physical, and emotional. A Qigong teacher from San Francisco's Beyond Anonymous wrote of my program: 'Douglas has done for Qigong what Apple did for the computer -- he's brought it to the people.' US Tai Chi Forms Grand Champion Sifu Hong Yijiao wrote: 'Sifu Douglas takes the best parts of Tai Chi and explains them simply using American culture, not requiring the reader have a grounding in Chinese culture or history.' My life long goal is to share the magic of Tai Chi and Qigong with as much of the world as I can. My series is sold worldwide, and I get powerful testimonials that leave me convinced that this series can be of benefit to anyone and everyone. I've taught Tai Chi & Qigong for many of the world's largest corporations, university medical schools, health networks, and even prisons. My program is effective, enjoyable, and accessible to most anyone who wants to change their life. Team USA Coach Michael Steward wrote of my book, 'All you ever needed to learn to change your life.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi and QiGong

    If you want a stuffy, rigid, arrogant approach to Tai Chi & Qigong, you won't enjoy this book. HOWEVER, if you want to have some fun, while assimilating huge amounts of information on both Tai chi & Qigong, then you will enjoy this book. The light hearted approach is the very essence of Tai Chi & Qigong. It encourages you to 'relax' into the learning, rather than making Tai Chi or Qigong, yet another 'hard' thing to study or endure in life. It may change your life, if you will breathe and relax into the inspirational messages it imparts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2001

    Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi and QiGong

    A beginner's view from the bottom of the mountain I began T'ai Chi with the hope it would calm my Type A personality or, better yet, a way to deal with the daily stress in my life. Of course, being a Type A personality, my patience level with not 'knowing it all immediately' was very short. The book helped me to understand not only the underlying basis of T'ai Chi but also to accept that what I knew and how I executed the moves was perfect for my place in time. Through that understanding, I now look forward to simply moving through the form to a peacefulness I've never known before. I would recommend the book for people like me who have a need to 'know' before you really understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    Not Only for Beginners, But a Great Reference for Teachers

    A Tai Chi teacher emailed about this book and said he'd read it 4 times and still found information that was beneficial to his practice and teaching. This book explains the background of the art/sciences of T'ai Chi & Qigong, so that when you arrive at the actual exercises your mind and body are prepared to truly 'relax open' to the benefits they offer. Unlike many Tai Chi books, this one doesn't expect you to learn Chinese culture or history, before allowing you to get the benefits. It explains the power of these amazing Chinese gifts to the world in a very practical and meaningful way to our daily lives. However, for those who truly want to understand the facinating depth of the Chinese sciences that helped create these health tools, this book offers a great deal of information. The book extolls all to look deeper into these fantastic health arts, to discover local classes, and to expand the use of these health tools in our work, health care, and for our kids in school as well. No matter what style of T'ai Chi you decide to learn, this book will be very useful and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Comprehensive Explanation of the Wonders of Tai Chi and Qigong

    This book explains methodically and clearly how T'ai Chi & Qigong work, how to get the most from your practice, and how to incorporate these powerful health tools into a healthy lifestyle. It explains that to truly benefit from Traditional Chinese Medical TCM practices, which T'ai Chi & Qigong are, you must be able to 'believe' that they work. TCM understood what modern medicine is only now beginning to realize, that the mind powerfully affects the body. Therefore, this books fun, expansive, and wide ranging explanations of the tenants of T'ai Chi and Qigong are as important as the actual expercises it teaches, because the explanations and diagrams unlock mental doors so that when you get to the Sitting Qigong exercise your mind is open to fully experience the powerful benefits of that section. The Sitting Qigong Relaxation Therapy, in turn, opens doors to an 'internal' awareness of self, that is then incorporated into the actual T'ai Chi movements. Ultimately creating a powerful mind/body techniqe of internal observation and stress release that allows the practitioner to daily cleanse the accumulated stress or energy blocks that modern life leaves with us each day. As the book explains, there is no other exercise on earth that can enable you to lessen depression/anxiety, improve sleep, reduce or eliminate many chronic pain conditions, boost immune system responses, increase breathing capacity, reduce allergic/asthma symptomology, improve balance/coordination, and slow the aging process, all in one twenty minute daily routine. This book uniquely enables you to experience the excitement of discovery about medical research that validates the above claims, while actually taking you through exercises to begin to truly experience these benefits. The book is also very honest in its approach by saying that Tai Chi & Qigong are best learned in a class, using books like this as a supplement to expand class benefits. However, for those who cannot get to a class for some reason, a fully instructional 3 volume video set is referred, entitled 'T'ai Chi & Qigong: The Prescription for the Future.' As a package this book and the video set offer a formidable education tool, a very fun journey, and a health program that may change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    A beginner's view from the bottom of the mountain

    I began T'ai Chi with the hope it would calm my Type A personality or, better yet, a way to deal with the daily stress in my life. Of course, being a Type A personality, my patience level with not 'knowing it all immediately' was very short. The book helped me to understand not only the underlying basis of T'ai Chi but also to accept that what I knew and how I executed the moves was perfect for my place in time. Through that understanding, I now look forward to simply moving through the form to a peacefulness I've never known before. I would recommend the book for people like me who have a need to 'know' before you really understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    The Book & Video Series Set is a Powerful Instructional Tool

    The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong is an in depth and extremely unique analysis, introduction, and motivation to make T'ai Chi & Qigong part of your life, at home, at work, and everywhere and anywhere you want to relax, energize, and grow mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. However, if you combine it with the 3 volume video set by the author, 'T'ai Chi & Qigong: The Prescription for the Future,' you will find a very literally unequaled T'ai Chi and Qigong program. As the Olympic Team USA Coach said in his review, 'it will change your life.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    AN EXCELLANT COVERAGE. I agree with the Team USA Coach and the University of Texas T'ai Chi Teacher

    The reviewer below may have missed the most important message of the book, T'ai Chi is learned best in a live class, or if that's not possible with a video. Book's can only greatly enhance this process. Books can be great augments for your T'ai Chi progress, and in fact this book may be one of the best you will find. In fact, unlike many books this book doesn't 'pretend' that only a book can teach you T'ai Chi. Having said that though, this book is one of the most comprehensive coverages of the 'the best parts of T'ai Chi' as written by T'ai Chi Grand Master and United States T'ai Chi Forms Champion, Sifu Hong Yijiao. I agree with many of the very best T'ai Chi instructors in saying you'll find this book is truly a powerful addition to your T'ai Chi program, whether it is live or video.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    For Beginning thru Advanced - and FOR TEACHERS TOO

    DON'T Let the Title Fool You . . . This book was written to be a primer for T'ai Chi and Qigong teachers of ALL styles. It provides in depth understanding of what these magnificent health sciences are and how they work (at least as far as we know so far, because science is discovering more benefits every day.) I am happy that T'ai Chi and Qigong teachers in Australia, Africa, Europe, America, and even in Asia are using it as a student primer. Also, many have kindly informed me of how helpful it has been to find 'new' western/scientific ways to explain these powerful ancient eastern tools. Sifu Hong Yijiao, US T'ai Chi forms grand champion wrote to me that she liked the book's 'western' approach, and that it explained all the best parts of T'ai Chi without requiring a grounding in Chinese culture or history. Also, teachers such as Michael Steward, Team USA Olympic Coach, have lauded the vision the book expands of how T'ai Chi and Qigong can be used at all levels of society to not only save a great deal of social costs but to elevate our social quality of life. Chinese teachers have requested it be translated into Chinese, because it may encourage more young Chinese to try T'ai Chi & Qigong. They explained that the Western/science approach of the book may dispell the misunderstanding that many young Chinese have that T'ai Chi & Qigong are a 'superstitious' thing that Grandpa does. My hope is that this book will help expand the use of T'ai Chi & Qigong throughout world society, through health care, education, and business. I have also founded a global health education event 'World T'ai Chi & Qigong Day' to promote ALL T'ai Chi & Qigong teachers and schools worldwide. I hope you enjoy the book. One great focus of the book, is that T'ai Chi & Qigong should be FUN :-) If we enjoy the process we will stick with it, and our lives will be changed forever for the better for having incorporated these wonderful health and life sciences into our busy modern lives. Bill Douglas, Founder of World T'ai Chi & Qigong Day, Author of 'The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong' (Macmillan Reference 1999), 'Ascent of Consciousness from the Modern Plague of Stress' (Humanics Publishing 2000), 'The Amateur Parent' (2000)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Join a Global Volunteer Healing Event!!

    I am the Founder of World T'ai Chi & Qigong Day, a global volunteer healing event unlike the world has ever seen, and I invite you to get involved. Tens of thousands of people around the world who have experienced the healing benefits of T'ai Chi and Qigong are coming together each year the Saturday following April 7th, UN World Health Day, to conduct mass T'ai Chi & Qigong exhibitions in public places to celebrate World T'ai Chi & Qigong Day. In 2000, it will fall on Saturday, April 8th, 10 am worldwide. You can get each years date and discover how YOU can get involved by going to www.worldtaichiday.org. With 70% of all illness due to stress, the 6 leading causes of death related to stress, and UNWHO warnings of a global epidemic of stress induced depression, T'ai Chi & Qigong are in many ways a prescription for the future. Research indicates Tai Chi & Qigong practice can alleviate the overwhelming majority of these health problems. IF WE USE THEM. World Tai Chi & Qigong Day is an effort to educate a world public desperately in need of these tools, that they exist, and are proven to be highly effective, very cheap, and extremely safe. Thanks for making world history with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    Videos NOW AVAILABLE by author of 'Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong'!!! On various online bookstores!!

    VIDEOS now available from author of 'Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong'. Available through various online bookstores!!! 'The Complete Idiot's Guide to T'ai Chi & Qigong' is now the BEST SELLING T'ai Chi book. Check it out and FIND OUT WHY? A GREAT TOOL FOR T'ai Chi and Qigong TEACHERS as well as students!! T'ai Chi teachers worldwide are referring students to it as a primer, and using it as a reference for research and simple clear ways to explain complex concepts, to enable EVERYONE to get the MOST out of the wonderful health and personal growth tools of T'ai Chi & Qigong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1