Customer Reviews for

The Complete Vampire Chronicles: Interview with the Vampire/The Vampire Lestat/The Queen of the Damned/The Tale of the Body Thief

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Anne Rice-great writer

    I have not read these books for a while, but when I did, I, like many others, fell in love with the words, the characters and the world they inhabit. Yes, the stories are complex and dark, somewhat disturbing- they are not for everyone. They are also well written, smoothly read, and while fiction, incorporate much historical research.

    I would like to point out that I think it was very smart that Memnoch the Devil was not included in this set. With Memnoch, the series changed considerably, and most people either loved it or hated it. If you are a skeptical person, if you love lestat's character in the first books and want to see him in all his brattish, cynical glory continue- and if you are not interested in Christian dogma being incorporated into the series as a forefront, decidedly changing the characters, then STOP before you reach Memnoch. I know its tempting to find out what happens, but honestly it will ruin it for you. The Chronicles dont need to be concluded, and considering many people find the series goes downhill from Memnoch on, spare yourself the pain and let the story live on in your imagination as you want it to.
    And go read Rice's Violin, Feast of All Saints, and Cry to Heaven- all magnificent, singular novels that arent bogged down by being part of a never-ending series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic series of vampuric interest

    The series mainly centers around the title character Lestat. Lestat is a fascianting study of the flawed uber-vampire who does what he wants and refuses to conform to the vampire "rules". He knows he is not perfect but realizes the only way to live through immortality is to enjoy oneself whenever one can. The supporting cast has their fair share of interesting characters and the personalities of the vampires are really the heart of the series.<BR/>A couple of things Rice does makes her vampire world so fascinating. The vampires act as their own little microsociety with rules and taboos that are well thought out and extremely interesting. For example the longer a vampire makes before creating another vampire determines how powerfull that new vampire will be. There are complications to living forever that you never would of thought of. The vampires have no sexual urges but instead the act of bloodletting serves as their mental and physical urge for copulation. Vampires don't marry each other but instead have extremely strong emotional bonds with each other and thier own fledglings, IE: When you create another vampire they become your fledgling. They stay together for an indefinite period until an unknown force breaks their emotional connection. This makes for some fascinating relationships that almost seem like "couples" but without the physical relationship. These bonds are often between same gender vampires and sometimes include three or four vampires. All these interesting parameters make for an web of relationships that frequently change.<BR/>Fantastic writing with the finest detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Make It Your New Years Resolution To Buy and Read Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles!

    Even if you read this when the title of the article no longer applies I strongly recommend that you do it anyway. I first saw the film, Interview with the Vampire, which was one of the first that I ensured was in my DVD collection when I started it a few months ago, which I thought was nothing short of sheer brilliance. Following seeing the inspiring film, I hunted down the book. I read it in a matter of hours as I could not drop it. I had not previously heard of Anne Rice, but was well impressed, the book exceeded the quality of the film, to my suprise. However the latest film offering based upon Anne Rice's books was "The Queen of the Damned" starring the sadly late Aaliyah was no short of shambolic, although is no reflection of the book of the same name which is intreaguing and wonderfully written. To my delight I found that their were a whole series, the "Vampire Chronicles" and went out to find them, which is rather strange for me as by nature I love sports, swim and go to the gym, and usually am not at all interested in books, normally its girls, sports and Ferraris.So that just goes to show how good these books are. "The Vampire Lestat" is by far the most absorbing book in the collection, however all four are instantly involving wonderfully spun tales full of stories in which Anne Rice gives the reader the ticket for her Emotional Roller-Coaster ride through the books packed with lavish description. All the tales have perfect continuity from one to the next and the lavish emotional description of the environments that completely involve the reader make them feel in the midst of Anne Rice's novel. The Vampires are not cliche, with no garlic rubbish, some are even religeous, and all of their traits are convinvingly explained. The connections between the characters are fabulous, and are made extremely clear through the third book "The Queen of the Damned". The books are all thouroughly involving and very emotional. "The Tale of the Body Theif" puts another interesting spin on the supernatural elements of the tales providing another sensual, emotional and intreaging journey through the world of Lestat and the others. They are my favourite series of books due to Anne Rice's amazing powers of description and her amazing ability to make the smallest of things very intricate and emotional. The quality of "The Vampire Chronicals" will no doubt make you want to go out and read the next book in the series "Memnoch the Devil" in which Lestat meets the Devil who takes him on an adrenaline pumped journey through time, creation and the world, and is again highly intreaging and emotional.If you only buy one set of books this make it these. I guarantee that you will enjoy them. You need these books on your shelves!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Go for it if you love drama thats drawn out.

    Anne Rice goes into an almost psychotic detail in her dramatic books. Although i'm more of a "get to the point already" guy, her writing has earned my respect, and all of these books are great novels by Anne Rice, but I believe her magnum opus is her book, "Memnoch, the Devil" (sorry if i spelled that wrong) I have never seen a better attempted explanation of god, religion, and the meaning of life than is expressed in positively psychotic detail in this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Great Gift

    I got this for my best friend as a birthday present because she loves reading science fiction, fantasy novels etc etc, and she absolutely ADORES Anne Rice so I got her the entire set of the Vampire Lestat series. The cost is very good and the set is pretty portable and easy/light to carry. I can't comment on how great the books are since I've only see the movies a few times but my friend said that she finished them fast and they were really good. I like Anne Rice's Interview With A Vampire, and I believe that her vampire series is far beyond Twilight (totally incomparable).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My said

    Just finish reading interview with a vampire to me was kind of boring, but now i'm reading vampire lestat and is great so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'll read just about anything Anne Rice Writes!

    I have never really been interested in vampires and although I read a great deal, I have always shied away from them. that is until a friend of mine made me promise to give the "Twlight" series a look. Well I finally did and although it was probably written for a younger person (younger than myself that is (and that includes almost everyone)) it was totally refreshing. Now I have a diferent view of vampires and the "Twlight" vampires are adjusted just for my sort of person.

    Anyway I purchased "The Vampire Chronicles" and it was one of the best reads I have ever had. It totally opened me up to so many new thoughts. This woman is an excellent writer but I know none of you need me to tell you that. I am now reading "The Tale of the Body Thief" and then the next, etc. I am also looking at other series written by her and I am delighted to have a new writer to explore. As most of you know who love to read, a reader is not really happy unless they have an engrossing book to go home to or to take with them. I am happy as a clam these days and I have a notion that B&N will be shipping me more of Anne Rice's books.
    Can't say enough about her!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Complete Vampire Chronicles

    I really could not get into these books. I saw the movies a long time ago and have just finished another set of vampire books and was excited to read the classics, but was really disappointed. Just to slow maybe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Most Amazing Series Ever Created

    I finished the whole vampire chronicles and it was incredible.Much to good for words.Anne Rice is a passionate writer, no one will ever compare to her.The musings and conversations between the vampires are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Vampire Chronicles!

    I have loved Anne Rice's vampires for some years and am so happy to have this edition in my collection! No one writes vampires with more sensual flair than Anne Rice and I recommend this one for all her fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Anne Rice's books are gripping and in this series you believe there are vampires among us. Always have been. As always Anne Rice couldn't disappoint. She is a natural.

    Anne Rice's series "The COMPLETE VAMPIRE CHRONICLES" has you convinced that there have always been vampires among us with her detailed descriptions. I had a hard time putting each book down. I wanted to read each book from beginning to end all in one day.

    I have also read the continuation books of this series and with each book I am truly delighted. If I could rate her books that I have I would rate them past a 5 star. They are exquisite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is what vampires are all about!

    Forget the Twilight series! Those books are good for two things: reminding you of the teen angst you have so happily forgotten, and making vampires seem like the happy little family that lives next door. These novels, Anne Rice, is what vampires are all about. Dark, tortured souls, who live in agony or in sin depending upon their decision to try to remain good, or to let themselves become evil. The Vampire Chronicles are quite frankly the best books on vampires ever written, with only "Dracula" itself as competition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Anne Rice: AMAZING!!!!!

    Anne Rice is an amazing author, everything i have read by her is always extrmely interesting and its never a bad read. This series was one of my favorites and i would recommend it to anyone whom loves a good fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vampire Chronicles

    This is an amasing series. If you have seen the movies and not read the books then you seriously need to the detalis of the characters are much better than the movies explain. Interview with the vampire explains Louis and his torment and his view of his experiece is just fantastic. As for the Vampire Lestat if you htought that you knew what he was like then you have no idea. It answers alot of questions that run through you mind when your reading interview. Queen of the Damned is action packed. the series is a must have. i wont go into deatils and ruin it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING CHARACTERS AND ABSORBING STORIES!

    Anne Rice is one of the greatest vampire novelists since Bram Stoker. Her characters and stories pull you in and you cannot put the books down, they are that awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The series that started it all...

    This book series started my love affair with vampires a very long time ago and I can't help but go back and re-read them every few years. This series is for true vampire fans and is nothing like the recent Twilight Saga. Although those books weren't bad, they were definitely geared toward a much younger crowd. These are my kind of vampires. Sex and violence embodied. Excellent books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    vampire chronicals

    im just finishing readinh "The vamp lestat"... its excellent... he's this loving n exitin creature.... if you havent read it... you have toooo.... "interview with the vampire" is a good book... but lestat i better... cant wait to read queen of the deamed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    definite read

    let this be the book that gets you into vampires. if you are already a fan, why haven't you read this series yet!? totally original and keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Its an original vampire book...

    I'm in love with all kinds of vampires. I have read SEVERAL vampire books and none of them is like this one. Anne's writing style is like no other writer. And her stories can keep you entertained for hours non stop. For BIG TIME readers like me i really recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To All Vampire Lover's

    The Vampire Chronicles are great stories compiled together by a wonderful Author Anne Rice...She keeps you interested and captivated with imagination of a world only bloodlovers can relate to..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8