Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

YOUR SEARCH IS OVER!!! BUY THIS RIGHT NOW!!!

This is the ultimate Lovecraft collection! I have tried other collections that cost the same or more and none match up to this edition. This is flat out the best Lovecraft edition available for the Nook. The table of contents works flawlessly and each story is in chrono...
This is the ultimate Lovecraft collection! I have tried other collections that cost the same or more and none match up to this edition. This is flat out the best Lovecraft edition available for the Nook. The table of contents works flawlessly and each story is in chronological order instead of alphabetical order. The advantage of this is that you get a true feel of the growth and change of Lovecraft through the years. This edition contains 2744 nook pages and loads immediately and runs smoothly. It can be read in small doses since many of his works are short stories. Cthulhu Chick mentions her website and that you can get this there for free. The advantage of buying it here is that it can be accessed through your "library" on multiple devices instantaneously. Sideloading an ebook is time consuming, must be done on each individual reading device you want the book on, and those books never show up in your "library". I also feel strongly that this collection is of such excellent quality that Cthulhu Chick deserves the attention and the money for putting this together. H.P. Lovecraft is a literary genius and this is the best collection available for your nook. Stop reading my review and start reading this book. Thanks Cthulhu Chick. Buy this right now!

posted by robertp1708 on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easy format makes for an easier read.

Love the format...You can pick a specific chapter say chapter 17 on the content page and then it redirects you to that chapter instead of flipping pages so that you can start reading immediately. It is a excellent read with various mysteries and horror stories. You can ...
Love the format...You can pick a specific chapter say chapter 17 on the content page and then it redirects you to that chapter instead of flipping pages so that you can start reading immediately. It is a excellent read with various mysteries and horror stories. You can be nine or thirty-nine and the stories are still just as applicable. This is a book that I highly recommend if you like/liked anything by R.L. Stine (i.e. Goosebumps) or Stephen King.

posted by AnaJames1909 on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Excellent

    Lovecraft is by far my favorite author to date. Just wonderfull

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    greatest collection ever

    greatest collection ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    Great collection -- well formatted, and NO TYPOs!

    I don't think I want to comment on Lovecraft -- he's a complicated subject. But I really appreciate CthulhuChick collecting all of these stories and making them available in one affordable ebook that has been carefully checked and edited, so that it's not full of errors and misprintings. Easy to read, and easy to find your way around in the book. It's interesting to read the stories in the order they were written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    between good and very good.

    between good and very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    A GOOD SAMPLING, BUT NOT COMPLETE

    A healthy collection of Lovecraft's stories, but sadly the title is misleading. I thougt I' d get this so I could free up some space on my bookshelf, but comparing it with my B&N hardcover edition, this ebook is missing some stories, like THE BEAST IN THE CAVE, among others.

    I would recommend this as an introduction to a master who inspired the likes of Stephen King, Guillermo Del Toro, and countless others. Lovecraft was a writer who--his stories might seem unimpressive at first--gets under your skin and forces you to ponder those stories for weeks. Only after, do you get an inkling of just how much of a visionary this guy really was, and how he's influenced everything from other novelists, games, cartoons, and movies. Get this if you want a good intro to the source of practically all modern horror, but just remember: THIS AIN'T ALL THERE IS OF H.P. LOVECRAFT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Thanks

    Just wanted to say thanks for putting this compilation together for us to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Nice creepy and good quality

    I love how the whole thing is hyper linked and I haven't been able to find a typo yet, spooky!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Filled with formatting errors, stay away from this compilation. 

    Filled with formatting errors, stay away from this compilation. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Terrific basic collection of HPL writings

    I can't speak highly enough of this ebook. It appears to have been assembled by an independent maker of ebooks, but it was done very well. I am not finding any diversions from original materials. Editing of pages and bookmarks is done well.

    I am very happy with the amount of HPL material within. I haven't don't a comprehensive check, but I believe all of his published stories are here. I almost paid $20 for a book like this in a retail store!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Chodegrinder

    Great complilation. Everything related to harry potter, magic schools or dumpledorph shall be boiled alive in its own juices.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    ~Twi

    Ponies?
    P o n i e s?
    Pones?
    Pwnyz?
    P0?13$?
    P0n3?
    I personally prefer number three.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Mia:)

    Hello im a first year

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A cat

    Runs in and claws the dog. †Dewey†

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    To dogs

    A cat named Shadowlily ran in and scratched the male dogs eyes. Then she ran back to her mate Darkember at shadow lily second result.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    What is wrong with you people

    Can you losers actually review the book? You probably havent eve read it. Anyway for all you people who ezpected a modern amazing book tis isnt. This is an old (1915) book and you just have to get used to it. It was amazing to me. If yoive ever played Arkham Horror then you will love these games if you havent played arkham horror or read these books then go get a laife and chat on some other books review vpage

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Hello

    Hi my name is

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Jason

    He hallusanation dissapears

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Alex

    What...

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Kaitlynn

    *she stops and looks at him* "hey whats wrong with you."

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5