BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Confession (Mike Daley Series #5)

Average Rating 3
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Don't waste your money, this is a rip off!

    I have read other Sheldon Siegel books that were pretty good. This one is only part of a book. Nothing tells you that when B/N advertised it. Therefore, I will probably not be buying any more Siegel books. Not sure if Barnes/Noble is the culprit or if Siegel is, either way I was terribly disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Got ROBBED! DO NOT BUY THIS!

    You do NOT get the entire book! Only the first 23 chapters - What crap!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I contacted B&N and within 24 hrs I recieved a refund with a

    I contacted B&N and within 24 hrs I recieved a refund with an offer to inform me when the issue with the incomplete book is corrected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    So Disappointed

    Yep, after only 23 chapters, 350 pages, it stops right in the middle of the story. Obviously, it's not a problem with the novel, but rather with its transition to digital form. Nevertheless, after paying for it, I expect to be able to read the full book! I requested help from B&N, but never received a reply. Bummer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Only part of the book - A RIP OFF!

    The book only gives your the first 23 chapters / 350 pages! It's probably about one-half of the entire book.

    DON'T BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    MOVE OVER GRISHAM

    THIS IS MR. SIEGEL'S BEST TO DATE. MIKE AND ROSIE ARE SO BELIVEABLE. I READ THIS IN ONE DAY. I RECOMMEND ALL HIS BOOKS SO HIGHLY. EACH BOOK GETS BETTER NAD BETTER. HOW ARE YOU GOING TO TOP THIS ONE? KEEP WRITTING AND I WILL KEEP READING. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE ENJOYMENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    HIS BEST YET

    Many times when an author uses the same characters over and over they become stale NOT SO with Mr. Siegel's Mike and Rosie. He only gets better and better with each book. Had to be in bed for a few days figuring that the book would keep me busy for those few days only one problem I read it with in the first day as the book was so GREAT. Mr. Siegel PLEASE keep writing about the episodes of Mike and Rosie and your readers will continue to follow. Thanks for giving us such a subperb author and such a wonderful style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great legal thriller

    They are law partners and lovers who were once married but realized they couldn¿t live together so they divorced. Lawyers Mike Daley and Rosie Fernandez agree not to take any high profile cases until their son sleeps through the night. When their friend Father Ramon Aguirre is arrested for killing a female parishioner he asks Mike and Rosie to handle the case and they agree because they won¿t turn their back on someone they care about........................ There is plenty of evidence that points to the priest as the criminal. His fingerprints are on the murder weapon, on her shoulder and on the bathtub faucets. The victim was made to look as if she committed suicide in the bathtub but the coroner rules it a homicide to make matters worse, the victim was pregnant and Father Ramon admits he donated sperm for an artificial insemination. It will take nothing less than a miracle for the lawyers to find the real killer to get the priest acquitted................................ Sheldon Siegel is to legal thrillers like Robin Cook is to medical thrillers. This enthralling novel keeps reader attention with one surprise after another bombarding the audience especially during the trial scenes in THE CONFESSION. The relationship between Mike and Rosie add an exotic dimension to this exciting courtroom drama in which the defense and prosecutor interrogation of witnesses makes for an authentic terrific tale......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    The best legal thriller I've read in a long time.

    Ex-priest turned lawyer Mike Daley doesn¿t go to confession much, but he does keep in touch with his good friend, Father Ramon Aguirre. Father Aguirre tells Mike of the sexual harassment suit that has been building against the San Francisco Archdiocese, but, just as the case heats up, the plaintiff¿s lawyer turns up dead and Father Aguirre is the lead suspect. Mike knows that Father Aguirre didn¿t commit this crime, but the evidence is overwhelming¿and when the medical examiner discovers the victim was pregnant, Mike fears that secrets from Father Aguirre¿s past might seal his fate. With nothing to go on but their instincts, Mike and his partner/ex-wife Rosie dive head first into a case of sex, corruption, religion and murder to free their client. `The Confession¿ is the BEST entry in the Mike Daley legal series. Razor sharp dialogue and twists galore will readers turning the pages frantically to discover who did it and why. I finished `The Confession¿ in one sitting¿it¿s that good. This tale of murder moves at breakneck pacing and the setting of the church mixed with sex clubs keeps it fresh. Sheldon Siegel is a master of the legal thriller. He has an undeniable gift of spinning a great yarn and his newest is his best. With so many legal series appearing and disappearing, the Mike Daley series remains strong by being exciting and original, a series that I look forward to reading for years to come. Sheldon Siegel does not stray from what he does best¿writing a GREAT story. Forget all the other lawyers turned authors before him, Sheldon Siegel is the real deal¿an author that deserves the top spot on all the bestseller lists! A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    I CONFESS...THIS BOOK IS BRILLIANT!!!!

    WOW!!! What a thrill to have my annual visit not only with Mike and Rosie but also with Nick the Dick and Terrence the Terminator! This is Sheldon Siegel's fifth incredible book in this phenomenal legal/mystery series set in San Francisco and sometimes in marvelous Marin and I feel that it is definitely his best one yet! The preliminary hearing in the judge's chambers and the edge-of-seat courtroom scenes are written so well that you just cannot believe that the author is not a litigator in real life! This book will make the perfect summertime read and is guaranteed to hit the charts instantly....providing some aggressive marketing is done on the part of publishers thereby showing some modicum of respect for this truly wonderful writer. Thank you, Sheldon, for such a terrrrrrific book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1