Customer Reviews for

The Corner: A Year in the Life of an Inner-City Neighborhood

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is one of my top two non-fiction books of all time. Here is why: First, it is well-written and intriguing. There is little to no academic jargon to wade through. It is a plain spoken book about the realities of inner-city life. It is not difficult to read in a literary sense, but certainly in an ethical and moral sense. This brings me to the second reason why I found it to be such an important book: It puts a face on the experiences of poor minorities living in urban areas. I'm 23 and I've been working in inner-city communities since I was 15. When I hear people talk disparagingly about minorities, inner-city youth, single moms, 'welfare moms,' my heart breaks, and in many ways, I am also angry that people talks so much about a life they know so little about. I found that this book accurately put a face on the people who are so often referred to as one statistics or another (related to drugs, single moms, incarceration, welfare). There was no glorification and little over-victimization of the people in the book and their experiences as poor, black, and affected by drugs and the underground economy. This book should be required reading for all Americans who wish to learn more about and develop informed opinions about poor, inner-city communities and the people who live there. I find it particularly relevant to those interested in drug laws and sentencing, as well as access to drug treatment. I think that this would also be a very helpful book for people who work in urban areas or are planning to someday (social work, education, ministry). The book leaves very big questions to be answered by the reader. How do I judge the people in this book? What would I do if I grew up in such a community? How do I go forth from here? A very powerful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    You have to think about this

    I first read this book in sophomore year of high school. And then I read it again. And again. It is a book you just cannot ignore. 'The Corner' had everything in it - a fast story, perspectives, wit, hope, cruelty, defeat, sadness, and sometimes, an unexpected joyous victory. It centres around the life of a young boy, DeAndre from one of Baltimore's worst neighborhoods. It deals with a year or so in his life and the people who affect it. Life in the street and the constant struggles poor people on drugs face are the recurrent themes. Gary is an unforgettable, lovable character. He is DeAndre's father, and a very good example of how life can get the better of you. Reading 'The Corner' makes you realize how much of a blind eye America is turning on a whole bunch of people who do not even have a regular dollar and yet manage to go from day to day barely living out their dope-ridden existences. There are people who come out winning however, like Miss Ella the rec center lady, and Mike who gets away to the Marines and a new life. Read this book. It just might change your attitude.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    This is the best book

    I live right up the street from where the family in this book lived. and all the stuff in this book is TRUE no lie!!! if i looked outside right now, i could probaly name at least 10 things that went on in this book thats happening now! And thats the truth! and i also know some of the people who were in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    I watched the mini-series againa coupke of weeks ago. I can't wa

    I watched the mini-series againa coupke of weeks ago. I can't wait to read the book. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Best book i have ever read!!!

    Corner: A Year in the Life of an Inner- City Neighborhood, is the best book about a ture story that i have ever read. After just begining the book, you already feel as though you know many of the characters and after not too long, you begin to share their pain. The book is based around four characters lives, Gary, Fran, Fran's son DeAndre and Fat Curt, who has been addicted to heroin for so long that he has shriveled up into a little man with bloated feet, arms and legs. The book follows these charcters around, introducing you to a neighborhood that so many dont know exsist. this story shows how the way the government is dealing with the war on drugs is not right. by putting these people into jail is only making their problem worse. David Simon and Edward Burns show that people with serious drug problems belong in rehab were they can get help, not behind bars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    A REALITY BROUGHT TO LIGHT!

    THIS IS AS CLOSE AS YOU CAN GET TO UNDERSTANDING 'DA HOOD' READ IT AND RESPECT IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    REAL

    One Word- 'REAL!' I read the book & saw the Miniseries on HBO. I have contacted HBO in regards to releasing the miniseries on DVD. Please do the same. Very Real... Very Raw.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Not for your racist uncle

    I read this book a few years ago, it was actually the longest book I had read at the time (8th grade), and I just ordered it because I really want to have my own copy to memorize. I live in Jacksonville, Florida, and although I do agree that every person in this world has the ability to "rise above" and do whatever he or she chooses, so many bigots in this city blame the black people in the ghetto for being lazy and not wanting to do anything to make their situation better. This shows, beyond a doubt, that if you were equipped with the skills that people in the ghetto are equipped with, you would probably not do any better than they're doing. This is a crucial work in my life. I'm glad I read it when I did, and realized that the mayor, sheriff, and all the politicians in my area may not agree, but black people are in a vicious cycle of survival, oppression, and complete self-loathing. I have so much more sympathy now than I ever did before I read this book for the less fortunate. I can't put into words exactly how great this book is, so I'll stop now :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    5 STARS

    Grimey,and Real. For those of you who want to learn, the corner will show you its real in the battlefield.It'll show you why you lock your doors when you ride past the corners in your area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2001

    Everyday life in Baltimore and every other state in America

    ITS REAL LIFE IT HAPPENS RIGHT NEXT DOOR OR DOWN THE STREET AND THIS BOOK IS EXCELLANT BECAUSE IT GOES INTO EVERY DETAIL OF THE STRUGGLE .YOU CAN'T HELP TO GET EMOTIONAL READING THIS BOOK BECAUSE EVERYONE KNOWS SOMEBODY WHOS LIFE FITS INTO THIS BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    A Must Read for Every American

    Having taught at the same school with co-author, Ed Burns, I was more than curious to find out what The Corner was all about. After reading it, I feel like I've have gained insight into humanity. The book has also helped me to better understand some of the students I have the most difficulty relating to. This book is truly a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    THE CORNER ! ! !

    THIS BOOK WAS AN INTRESTING BOOK AND AS ME GROWING UP IN THE STREETS I DID MOST OF THIS BOOK IS TRUE ! ! !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    The Truth

    The corner is a very real and yet underrated true story. The people who go throw this are just like me and you. I would love to see more true and touching story like this , so everyone can relize that a the corner is everywhere

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    Heart Touching

    This is a wonderful book. After I saw the HBO special I wanted to read the book. But I didn't but my teacher brought it for me. This book should be in everyones personal collection. Much Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Voices from the Front Lines of the 'Drug War'

    An exceptional fact-based view of the many facets of the drug business and how we're all connected with it.This book is the closest many people will ever get to understanding how a day can feel like two weeks or how to carry on when there's little hope to be found.A world in which most see two choices -- either to become another victim or find a way to survive.Hopefully,this work will open many minds to the bleak reality and closeness of the drug situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    This book should be a part everyone's personal library...

    This book was the most gripping book I have ever had the pleasure of reading. After watching The HBO special, I was compelled to find this book. I was completely enveloped in the realism. I think this book will touch a familiar chord in anyone who has experience substance abuse either in themselves or a loved one, and, give a crash course in urban authenticity to those who haven't. This book will become required reading for my children as they come of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Sad, But True....

    I enjoyed watching 'The Corner' on HBO, and also enjoyed reading the book, and I think what we all need to realize as individuals, is that no matter where we run, or no matter how much we try to escape, that there is a 'corner' everywhere. I hope DeAndre McCullough will finally realize his mistake, and change for a better world. As goes for Fran it's good to hear she is clean for more than 4 years, and also good to hear Blue made progress. As for Tyreeka, I wish her well, and hope that DeAnte Tyree McCullough does not turn out to make the same mistakes as his father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Touched Me Deeply.....

    After seeing the HBO special 'The Corner' I decided I had to read the book it was based on. Although I have never lived in the city and never had to experience some of the things DeAndre, Fran, and Gary have, I felt very touched by the struggles they faced. The book has opened my eyes to alot of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    GRETEST BOOK ON INNER CITY BALTIMORE

    I THINK THIS BOOK IS NOT ONLY GREAT BUT SHOWS THE TRUTH ON HOW IT IS NOT ONLY IN BALTIMORE BUT IN CITIES THROUTHOUT THE WORLD. I'M SURE THAT ALOT OF FAMILIES COULD RALATE TO THIS MOVIE AND BOOK. IT MAKES YOU WANT TO GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    ABOSUTELY TERRIFIC

    I don't read many books. This book, however, is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2