Customer Reviews for

The Cottage on Juniper Ridge (Life in Icicle Falls Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    Welcome back to picturesque Icicle Falls, Washington! In the fou

    Welcome back to picturesque Icicle Falls, Washington! In the fourth installment of the Life in Icicle Falls series, author Sheila Roberts provides her readers with a fun twist to the townspeople's stories with a theme that we can all relate to: simplifying one's life.




    The Cottage on Juniper Ridge is told in the third person narrative that alternates between a group of women who belong to a book club, who have decided to start the new year reading resident town author Muriel Sterling's book Simplicity, a guide to a simpler and plain way of living.




    In true Sheila Roberts fashion, the reader is transported back to the picturesque Bavarian style small mountain town of Icicle Falls, Washington, which is nestled in the Cascade Mountains, where they catch up with all the familiar townspeople from the previous books in the series, as well as meeting new lovable characters.




    This series is simply delightful, the storyline picks up where the last book left off, it flows seamlessly and is so entertaining that you can't help but become captivated and invested in the lives that inhabit Icicle Falls. I really enjoyed that each chapter starts with a tidbit on simplifying life from Muriel Sterling's guidebook Simplicity, which then leads into the stories of how each of the ladies in the book club are inspired to make changes in their lives based on the helpful information from the guidebook. The reader easily gets drawn into this story about friendship, support, and finding balance and simplicity in one's life. Through the laughter, smile, and tears, you'll find yourself cheering on these lovely ladies as they each overcome obstacles and strive to find joy in their lives. The author's thoughtful message about discovering what's important in life and shedding what isn't, and learning to enjoy a full and simple life is one that will make you ponder what changes you can make in your own life.




    With a wonderful cast of characters who are realistic and lovable, humorous dialogues and interactions, and a richly detailed description of the town of Icicle Falls, The Cottage on Juniper Ridge is a lighthearted romance story full of love, laughter, friendship, and living a good life, that will leave you wanting to return to Icicle Falls for another enjoyable visit. I love, love, love this series!




    The Cottage on Juniper Ridge is the fourth book in the Life in Icicle Falls series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Gwen

    Oh. Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    To: Kath and Porfessor What

    Uhh, the description sounded exactly like the original pact clans. I will watch how this unfolds, if it is too much like the pact clans, Lilywolf will tell you herself to stop. (That is what happened to me!) ~A fellow roleplayer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Amber and brave

    How about "active" for one like the hq or something or the clans...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Kah

    No. Al leave a few resses open... like four or five. I have some info to post about realistic stuff. Pelt color, launguage, eye color, names, ect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Omg guys

    Grow up! You guys are alway like "Stop nook s**" and "I dont wanna see that c***" I think its very weird that you use cuss words, which kids dont want to see, protesting about stuff kids dont want to see. So someone posted something bad on a book. So what? Ok. It done. But when you protest it just draws the attention right back to the post. Hald the time they dont show up anyways. Dont get me wrong, I dont like it as much as you do, but its far more annoying when 5 people come and post STOP THIS ****. Just stop. Let it go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Ger

    Whatever ghought you loved me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Saphire

    Yes you guys are right. It is part of life but come on! Are you really gonna go in real life and sell yourself on craigs list? Are you gonna post an ad saying 'come r**€ me at this adress'? Nope. And thats what ppl do. Yes some are looking for bfs and sx but its not right. I grew up in a Christian family and didnt actually become Christian until I stopped doing this crap. Trust me, it might be fun but it is a waste of time. Its also why rping is falling. BECAUSE WHEN PARENTS LOOK AT WHAT THERE KID IS DOING, THEY MIGHT FIND THEM DOING THIS. I almost got caught. So close and my parents would never let me out of there sight for another 50 years. Trust me, it will save you the trouble. And more rpers. AND kids dont have to go wandering. There is a page for adertising you know. When i was on my sx streak, about halfway through the two year thing, i realized what i was doing and what advertising at the erin hunter books meant. So i stopped advertisig there and i adveetised at 'sx' (full name). Just dont be lazy. I know there are atlwast ten people out in the RP world that do not wanna see this. Im speaking for those 10+ people. Do it for them, not for yourself. I have to go for vacation so ill be back Sunday late night most likely. And I hope that I can remember to read your reply's bwcause trust me, they do matter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Professor what

    Ill work on it. Want the clans in it or naw?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    4 STARS This book is about changing your life by making it sim

    4 STARS

    This book is about changing your life by making it simpler. Some jump in without much planning to change. Jen Heath hates her life. She is working two jobs to afford her condo but can't enjoy being home in it.

    Jen decides to sale her condo and leave big city behind. She is renting a cottage right outside of Icicle Falls. Her land lord is good looking firefighter did help sway her mind. She wants to enjoy friends, make bread & garden and work part time.

    Jen sister Toni is afraid she is loosing her family. They are so connected to their phones, computer. Toni thought her sister crazy to want to move without first finding a job. She comes to love Icicle Falls.

    Some are afraid they are on the path to being a hoarder and tries to de junk her house. I am trying that right now it is harder to do.

    Garrett Armstrong is renting his cottage for the first time. The more he sees of Jen the more he thinks she is like his ex-wife and a flake. He is dating a cop instead. He is a firefighter. He is raising his 5 year old son.

    Lots of good friends, lots of struggles, drama and action. You care for the characters and want things to workout for them. I wanted to also go to the chocolate festival in town. It sounded yummy. It is also a clean read.

    I was given this ebook to read and in return agreed to give a honest review of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Great Read

    I am reading the Icicle Falls series and this was as good as the previous ones. Sheila Roberts does an excellent job of holding your interest with her books. Can't wait for the next one which comes out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Drawn out

    Too drawn out to stay with it. I even read the reviews first, now i don't ttust them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just got done reading Sheila Robert¿s latest novel, The Cotta

    I just got done reading Sheila Robert’s latest novel, The Cottage on Juniper Ridge. Yet another story set in Icicle Falls, this time we meet Jen Heath and Stacey Thomas. Jen Heath reads a Muriel Sterling book on simplifying her life and that includes selling her Seattle condo and moving to Icicle Falls. Stacey is a long-time resident who turns simplifying her life into a business of matching people with the right gentle used and antique things.

    Once again, Sheila comes through with a great story about women and their incredible group of friends banding together to work through life’s problems. And it’s set in the gorgeous backdrop of the little mountain community of Icicle Falls. My husband, Thomas, and I would love to run a b&b in the little Ozark mountain town of Eureka Springs, AR one day. I think that’s why I like these stories so much, because I see myself fitting in this little town and getting along with these characters so much.

    I’m a member of Sheila’s street team, so I usually get the book before everyone else does. Maybe one day I’ll get one read and posted by the time it’s released? Thanks for letting me be involved, Sheila!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Sheila Roberts has done it again! Going back to Icicle falls to

    Sheila Roberts has done it again! Going back to Icicle falls to meet some new and revisit with some old characters. It's like going home. Love Jen who gave up her old life in the city to settle into the cottage on Juniper Ridge. Lots of challenges for her and the ladies of the book club as they find ways so simplify their lives. You will feel like you too belong in this little rural town. I just can't wait for the next installment so I can go home again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    I can't not say enough good things about this book, I absolutely

    I can't not say enough good things about this book, I absolutely loved this book. This is the second book in this series that I have read and one of these days I will get the first two read as this is one of my most favorite series. Icicle Falls is a town you fall in love with and want to pack up and move to. Another part of this book I liked was watching each of the characters learn how to simplify their life. It was ice watching each of them transform and their relationships prosper. I highly recommend this book to everyone and I can't wait for the next one in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    This weekend I went back and visited my friends at Icicle Falls

    This weekend I went back and visited my friends at Icicle Falls and even made some new friends.  I love reading the books from this series. The characters in this series are smart , spunky, and treasure their friendships.  The Cottage on Juniper Ridge did not disappoint.  After reading the book, SIMPLIFY, some of the residents of Icicle Falls  are inspired to do the same with their lives.  The results are motivational, fun and romantic.  Can't wait for my next visit.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    It's been a long hard road (lots of things to do recently, with

    It's been a long hard road (lots of things to do recently, with little or no time to read), but last night, I *finally* finished this book. I believe this is the fourth book in the "Life in Icicle Falls" series.

    I first discovered Ms. Roberts' (don't shoot me for using the wrong apostrophe there, I'm no good with the "s" ones) books when I saw Bikini Season and Angel Lane at BJs and picked them up. I think I read that in 2010 and then started looking for all her books. I have also told other friends too look for her books. She has an awesome sense of humor and knows how to write about relationships between, well, everyone, with a twist. Whatever catastrophe can happen will. Ms. Roberts finds the humor in real-life and puts it into a book. I <3ed this book and <3 all her books too!

    Since reading the first Icicle Falls novel, I can't wait to read Simplicity by Murial Sterling (hahaha). Don't get your hopes up if you are not familiar with these books, Murial is one of the characters.

    In the interest of full disclosure, I'm part of Sheila's street team and got this book for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    This was another wonderful book about a small fictional town, Ic

    This was another wonderful book about a small fictional town, Icicle Falls.  Everyone knows everyone else and in times of need and crisis, they help each other out.  The book focuses on several women in a book club that read a book about simplifying your life.  They are motivated in different ways to put the ideas to use, including Jen who moves from a huge city, Seattle, to the town of Icicle Falls and begins her life over so to speak.  Sheila Roberts writes nice, clean books with lots of good humor and yes, some romance thrown in for fun!  It would be hard for me to believe that anyone reading any of her books would be disappointed when they are finished.  I'll end this review with a quote from one of the characters, Charley:  "Here's to life.  Whether it's simple or complicated, the important thing is to make it good."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    I love this book!!! I think this us Sheila's best to date!!! I c

    I love this book!!! I think this us Sheila's best to date!!! I can't wait for the net one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    I love Sheila's books, and this one made me love them all the mo

    I love Sheila's books, and this one made me love them all the more.  A book club in Icicle Falls decides to read a book about someone who simplified their life, & then each person sets out to do so themselves.  As we follow each person's journey, we are inspired.  These women become our friends, & at the story's end, we are sorry to say good bye to them.  I can't wait to read the next book in this wonderful series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2