Customer Reviews for

The Cove

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Ethereal love story

There is an ethereal feel to this story, as if the Cove was part of another world. I found myself drawn in by Laurel, a sad and lonely young woman lost to the Cove. Laurel is rather a mix of simple and complex. She speaks simply, she lives simply, she loves simply. Howe...
There is an ethereal feel to this story, as if the Cove was part of another world. I found myself drawn in by Laurel, a sad and lonely young woman lost to the Cove. Laurel is rather a mix of simple and complex. She speaks simply, she lives simply, she loves simply. However she is not simple-minded. Intelligent and strong, life in the Cove has not broken her. Devoted to a brother that is her world and ostracized by her community, she clings every day to every minute glimpse of beauty that she can find, few as they are in such a desolate landscape.

Her brother Hank is an honorable man who was horribly wounded in the war against the Germans. He and his sister are both viewed as outsiders, living in a Cove that most feel is cursed. However while Hank returns from the war a hero and sees a better life in his future, his sister Laurel will never be anything but cursed, marked at birth as a witch.

The Cove is viewed by the town as cursed, but in seeing the Cove through Laurel’s eyes I came to love it. Quiet and peaceful, it is free of people, since everyone fears it. There are some areas completely in shadow where light never falls, but there are also pockets of beauty where butterflies flit and colorful parakeets skirt across the sky as sunlight glistens in a hidden copse. There is always beauty in life. Sometimes you just have to look a little harder for it.

This is a story of judgement-- people passing judgement that they have no right to pass-- and the story slowly reveals itself, like the peeling of an onion, layer by layer.

I would consider this story to have a didactic theme, with a moral lesson hiding in the story. However there is also something cautionary about it. This story left me feeling melancholic yet hopeful.

My final word: As the title would indicate, the setting in this story is everything. The ethereal feel of the Cove, the darkness, dankness, with pockets of beauty, is haunting. Laurel is one of these hidden beautiful bits. Unfortunately few could see the beauty of the Cove, nor that of Laurel. But I definitely felt the beautiful spirit of this story. I loved it!

posted by nfmgirl on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Had a lot of potential but ultimately couldn't deliver. It fel

Had a lot of potential but ultimately couldn't deliver. It felt slow and laborious with characters who were written as stereotypes. Some of the writing showed beauty, but there wasn't enough of it to make this a compelling read.

posted by nyc123 on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ethereal love story

    There is an ethereal feel to this story, as if the Cove was part of another world. I found myself drawn in by Laurel, a sad and lonely young woman lost to the Cove. Laurel is rather a mix of simple and complex. She speaks simply, she lives simply, she loves simply. However she is not simple-minded. Intelligent and strong, life in the Cove has not broken her. Devoted to a brother that is her world and ostracized by her community, she clings every day to every minute glimpse of beauty that she can find, few as they are in such a desolate landscape.

    Her brother Hank is an honorable man who was horribly wounded in the war against the Germans. He and his sister are both viewed as outsiders, living in a Cove that most feel is cursed. However while Hank returns from the war a hero and sees a better life in his future, his sister Laurel will never be anything but cursed, marked at birth as a witch.

    The Cove is viewed by the town as cursed, but in seeing the Cove through Laurel’s eyes I came to love it. Quiet and peaceful, it is free of people, since everyone fears it. There are some areas completely in shadow where light never falls, but there are also pockets of beauty where butterflies flit and colorful parakeets skirt across the sky as sunlight glistens in a hidden copse. There is always beauty in life. Sometimes you just have to look a little harder for it.

    This is a story of judgement-- people passing judgement that they have no right to pass-- and the story slowly reveals itself, like the peeling of an onion, layer by layer.

    I would consider this story to have a didactic theme, with a moral lesson hiding in the story. However there is also something cautionary about it. This story left me feeling melancholic yet hopeful.

    My final word: As the title would indicate, the setting in this story is everything. The ethereal feel of the Cove, the darkness, dankness, with pockets of beauty, is haunting. Laurel is one of these hidden beautiful bits. Unfortunately few could see the beauty of the Cove, nor that of Laurel. But I definitely felt the beautiful spirit of this story. I loved it!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I picked this book because I love Appalachian Fiction novels, pl

    I picked this book because I love Appalachian Fiction novels, plus I was a student at WCU some 20 years ago and knew the author, and I knew he had an incredible reputation regarding his knowledge of Appalachian History and working with the Mountain Heritage Center at WCU. I must say, I was extremely pleased with this writing! The book kept me on edge throughout the entire read and it left me wanting more! It stirred emotions in me like no other book I have ever read. I felt love, anger, betrayal and more when reading The Cove. What I thought was to be a mystery thriller turned in to be one of the best, most poetic love stories I have ever had the pleasure of reading. The character of Laurel is amazing. Her strength personifies her strong Appalachin heritage and her courage to love is endearing. I would be thrilled to see The Cove made into a movie, but they could leave out NOTHING! Not only would I see it at the theatre, I'd buy it for my collection. It is one book that I will pass on to my daughters to read for sure!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting

    The Cove is an atmospheric tale set in rural North Carolina during the last days of World War I. Shunned by the locals who think she's a witch, Laurel spends all her time in the shadow of a bleak cliff face, searching for tiny moments of beauty and peace. When a stranger appears in need of help, she and her brother provide him with a temporary home, not realizing his true identity or the danger that finds them. This book was a bit of a slow burn as not much happens until the last ten pages. That sounds kind of like a poor recommendation, but the author is so descriptive that this lonely world that Laurel inhabits really comes to life in a haunting and melancholy way.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Compelling story

    Well written and a fascinating story about the backdrop of World War I and its impact on a poor, rural backwater community. After finishing the story, I had to read Rash's Prologue again. Finally made sense.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Haunting work by Ron Rash

    Powerful piece of work by Rash. He described this area of the country perfectly, allowing me to really feel as if I am part of the story. My only complaint is that I feel like the last part was a bit rushed--the story seemed to end too quickly for characters I had suffered with so much along the way. But overall, I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys Appalachian fiction, eloquently described settings, or WWI historical fiction.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Had a lot of potential but ultimately couldn't deliver. It fel

    Had a lot of potential but ultimately couldn't deliver. It felt slow and laborious with characters who were written as stereotypes. Some of the writing showed beauty, but there wasn't enough of it to make this a compelling read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    I felt like I was watching a Hallmark movie or reading some roma

    I felt like I was watching a Hallmark movie or reading some romantic novel, both of which I am not into. I was disappointed as I have heard he is such a great writer.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    My Book Club read this for February. I enjoyed it. It was amazing to see how a person's life can be changed and effected by the ignorance of others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    The Cove

    This book got better and better the further along I read. Initially, I was a little disappointed and didn't think I'd like it but by the end I was truly enjoying it and didn't want to put it down. This is the second Rash book I've read....I think not the last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Here are some things bout the book: The Cove by Ron Rash

    If you are going to begin reading The Cove, be prepared to miss your appointment and cancel your dinner plans, because it's one of thise books that grabs you from the firsy page and won't let go. Ron Rash is a master of Storytelling and a wonderful authir who knows how to use words. Ron Rash uses language with such apparently effortless skill that it is as though he found the words in his barn as a child and has been training them to fit his needs ever since. There's not much he doesn't know about humans in turmoil, or his region, a place where nothing ever changes until of a sudden it does and often too much. Rash throws a big shadow now it's only going to get bigger and soon."
    - PAIGE SADOWSKI, a reviewer and a writer.
    Ron Rash's The Cove is an adult read that draws you in from the start: " At first Laurel thought it was a wrabler or thrush, though unlike any she'd eer eard before-it's song more sustained, as if so pure no breath need carry it into the world. Laurel raised her hands from the creek and stood. She remembered the bird Miss Calicut had shown the class. A Carolina Parakeet, Miss Calicut had said, and unfolded a hankerchief to reveal the green body and red and yellow head. Most parakeets live in tropical places like Brazil, Miss Calicut explained, but not this one. She'd let the students pass the bird around the room, telling them to look closely and not forget what it looked like, because soon there would be none left, none just in these mountains but probaly in the whole world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Try it, You"ll like it!

    Had I been reading a book rather than my Nook, I would have taken a look at the ending! Wow!
    Had a really good discussion at "Bill's Book Club".

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Excellent

    This book explains how human nature fails to live up to its calling yet also how when it does suceed it does it so beautifully. So often the ones in positions of power are unfit to be there and cause untold suffering. This is a truth any clear minded soul can understand. Unfortunately a population which seems to be dwindlinding down and drowning in its unmindfullness and hatered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Fabuluous!

    Wonderful southern gothic in its purest form!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Lovely use of language

    Very sad at times and I had hoped for a happy ending, even so it was an excellent read. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    To gwen d sasha

    Ewwww

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Suzyq

    Wonderful story

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Debi's book blog Debi's book blog

    See blog site for this and others!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Story drew me in

    Loved this book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2015

    Life On the American Homefront~Chapter 2

    A/N~Thanks for all the comments amd character apps. Enjoy! <p> December 7, 1942 <p> "...Pearl Harbor has been bombed." <p> It was such a simple statement, yet so complex. "By whom?" I asked, wide awake. <p> "The Japs." My father was unable to hide the disgust in his voice. <p> "The Japs..." l repeated. "But...but why? Wjy would they kill so many innocent people?" <p> My fathee shook his head sadly. "I do not no other than that is how war is." <p> "That's horrid." <p> "That's war." <p> I remember crowdinfpg around the radio with my family, listening to the news. There had been so many deathes. The people of Hawaii were evacutaing to the mainland. Some of the Japs who had bombed Pearl Harbor had lived in Hawaii. There was so much information to try to take in. But one peice of inforomation was clear to everyone. The U.S. has entered the war. <p> December 25, 1942 <p> Christmas. A joyus celebration. Usually. This time though, it wasn't. We had a tree up and decorated the house with festive lights and decorations, but our hearts just weren't in it. My brother was going to enlist right after New Year's and my father was going to apply for a position as a mechanic overseas. "We all have a part to play in this." He told me. "Mime and Jake's are overseas." <p> "What about mine?" I was crying. For my family. For the deathes. The war. <p> He put his hand on my shoulder. "Yours is here. On the American Homefront. Stay strong my Katie-Cat." <p> February 20, 1943 <p> My brother and father had left to Europe. Robert and Matthew had enlisted and left for training. I remebr seeimg Matthew and Robert off. He had kissed me amd promised me he'd be back. He told me he would write as often as possible. And he told me he'd always think about me. Abigail was overseas too. Sbe had enlisted in the Nurses Corps. I remebr the tears and hugging Casey, she, and l had before she boarded the train. <p> As they went overseas, l was stayed home, supporting the war. Casey and l helped out at the Red Cross. We collected donations from people, made packages to send to the shoulders, held fundraisers, etc. My mother had found a job working as a plane mechanic. "With the men gone to war, it's up to us women to run America." She explained. "Without men to do the jobs, women have to step in."<p> February 28, 1943 <p> I had recieved two letters today. One was from my father and brother. <p> "Dear Katie-Cat, <br> "We are ok. We are not allowed to tell you where we are, but we are safe. I hope that you and your mother are ok at home. I have been fixing up jeeps and tanks. Armored cars and more. My work has kept me busy. <br> This is your brother. I am lucky to have stayed near father for this bit. Training for the army was brutal, but l excelled. I hope youe are ok. Don't get used to life without me annoying you, 'cause l'll be back before you know it. <br> We love you Katie. Tell your mother we miss her. Lots of love, <br> Cameron and Jake Ender." <p> I smiled. I then opened the other letter, which was from Matthew. <p> "Dear Katie,<br> I am happy here in the air force. It turns out that l am very good at flying a plane. I can do all sorts of tricks. Life is ok for now. We might be going onto the front lines soon though. <br> I really miss your sweet smile and bright eyes. Please write back soon. <br> Love, <br> Matthew." <p> &starf <p> Running out of characters! Thank you for reading! Appehs still welcome. Sorry if it isn't the most detailed. Thanks again for reading.~Shadow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Skycove

    You can contact me here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3