Customer Reviews for

The Covenant with Black America

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Covenant or Convenience?

    Let me touch on a few pillars in this work. Covenant II (Establishing a system of public education in which all children achieve at high levels and reach their full potential). This ignores the real problem. The ''public indoctrination system'' is doing exactly what it was designed to do. In a word, ''The Public School System'' as we know it is irremediably broken. Funding more failure IS NOT the answer. Covenant III (Correcting the system of unequal justice). Let me add that Life, Liberty, and Property do not exist because men have made laws. Rather, the purpose of law is the equal protection and unmitigated defense of life, liberty, and property. The law, then, is negative. That is, the law does not create justice but, in truth, the law should prevent (negate) injustice. And justice is achieved when injustice is absent. Hence a working knowledge of fact, law, and procedure and how to move the courts will go a long way towards this aim. Covenant V (Ensuring broad access to affordable neighborhoods that connect to opportunities). Treatment without diagnosis is malpractice. The essayists here seem completely oblivious to the fact that Black Communities have been infected with an economic virus and hit with Wall Street Schemes that not one in a million people can diagnose, let alone, properly treat. Thus the plunder of the working poor will continue without the real cure. ''The plight of the poor is profitable to the powerful.'' -(EFOBI.com.) Covenant VI (Claiming our democracy). How can we claim our Democracy� When, in fact, America is a Constitutional Republic Not a Democracy! Covenant VIII (Accessing good jobs, wealth and economic prosperity). How do you access jobs, wealth and economic prosperity? Aren't Jobs the direct result of work that needs to be done? Given the condition of black communities, and given the amount of work that needs to be done, shouldn't Black America be experiencing full employment? James Hart, the brilliant Beverly Hills economist (and advisor to the rich) may know more about how money really works, credit intelligence and economic viruses than anyone in this country, once said: real wealth is the result of ''imagination, vision, innovation and action.'' In which case, Black America is plenty rich. Simply put, maybe it is asking itself the wrong questions...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    A Call To Action

    I found this book to be very insightful as to the disparities that exist in services rendered to African-American communities. It outlines the shortage of resources and what steps can be taken to aleviate them. Very intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Its About Time!

    This is a very necessary book, which is a follow-up to the activism of many who have gone before us dealing with the Afrikaan American struggle in White America. This book outlines what is missing in our lives and what needs to be done. The Covenant In Action gives you ideas on how to complete this misssion. To release our future Kings and Queens from their current bondage - mental, economical and physical slavery - we must fulfill our Covenant promise to the next and future generations -- a free America for all of us. The Bible has 7 Covenants this book has 10. God Bless America - the land of the not quite so Free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Newfound respect for Tavis Smiley

    It has been said over and over that the best way to hide something from people is to place it in a book. The intrigue of The Covenant with Black America is so strong, that White America is looking in to find out if there is a secret agenda hidden. There is no secret agenda. What we have here is a mastermind at work who has created a solution to the socio-economic pitfalls of our society by inviting scholars in each domain who are unafraid to address issues of concern that have gone unaddressed for too long. I highly suggest that every Black person in America read and support this work as a celebration of change. I always thought that Tavis was just another amicable media figure with the power of gab, but I now have a newfound respect for him and will be reading more of his titles very carefully. I truly overlooked this man's talent as a writer and compiler for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Not to disappoint, but NOT as I expected!!!!

    This book brought issues that were pertinent and appropriate, but didn't make strong structure for resolving the many issues that affect blacks. Then at times you could find that many of the author's writing where not reader friendly for persons who lack strong academia and understanding. I brought the book b/c I am a proud black female who loves and admires Tavis Smiley but it was more in your face we did something unimaginable than I help my people with things that they may not readily find in a library or receive in the school nor CJ system. It just needs a little more tweaking to be an excellent book. It was good but it fail to stand up to it's hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Long Overdue

    There has been so much written, past and present, to serve as a beacon for people of color in the ongoing struggle to elevate ourselves. There are too many of us still operating under the old slave mentality and far too many of us selling our souls to be the negro on top even if we have to put a foot on the throats of other sisters and brothers. We desparately need a covenant....an agreement..a bond...a promise to our culture to better ourselves, our lives and the future of people of color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Required reading

    Few books make it to my 'required reading' list--those that I would so highly recommend to anyone who is seeking to better understand the world and how it works. This is one such book. I was reminded at time of McCrae's 'Bark of the Dogwood' with its extensive themes of race and what happens to people who are persecuted, though that is a work of fiction (equally as powerful as this, though). But 'Covenant' is more a series of lectures--now, don't be turned off by that term--it's not what you'd think. Chapters on spiritual and religious values give insight into a culture, a people, and where we all, black or white, are going and can go. You MUST read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Keep Moving On !

    It's time to step up ! What a wonderful resource and roadmap for the future. The possibilities are endless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Covenant delivers Smart Approaches to Subject

    'The Covenant with Black America' should be required reading for all Americans. Whether one agrees with the diagnosis and prescriptions is not the point. The point is to increase dialogue, understanding, and mutual progress. 'The Covenant' includes chapters on healthcare, public education, justice system, policing, housing, politics, rural roots, jobs, environment, and the digital divide. Each chapter outlines the issues from the author's perspective, provides a bio of the author (if this bio were at the front of each chapter, it would be helpful), collates statistics on the topic (a more diverse collation of statistics could increase the impact of the book), shares what the community can do, explains what individuals can do, tells what works now, and describes what leaders and politicians can do (again, further balance here would be beneficial). 'The Covenant' is the brainchild of Tavis Smiley who offers it as a roadmap toward future hope. He brings together a laudable team of experts in their field, though one might wish for greater diversity in political, social, and economic perspectives. Particularly helpful are the sections on what works now. It's always easy to identify a problem, it's somewhat easy to propose a solution, but it's always helpful to provide examples of currently workable and working models. Smiley follows the 'best practices' model of illustrating how to move into the future effectively by describing those who are already successfully doing so. A chapter on spiritual and religious values, given their historical and current emphasis in the African American community, also would add to the books value. Or, integrating the religious community more fully into the essence of each chapter's discussion would be another way to advance the message of the book. Not everyone from every political persuasion will agree with the suggested covenants--obviously. However, as the back cover explains, 'The Covenant with Black American' is moving beyond talking about 'our pain' to talking about 'our plan.' This is certainly in line with the historic African American focus on moving beyond being a victim to being a victor. Those who may have another socio-economic-political perspective on dealing with issues vital to African Americans (and to all Americans), rather than dismissing a book like this, should engage it should write their own Covenant with the same specificity of focus, though perhaps with distinctive answers. The front page quote says it well. 'The eyes of the future are looking back at us and they are praying for us to see beyond our own time' (Terry Tempest Williams). 'The Covenant' is a forward-looking book. Well aware of the past, grounded in the needs of the present, it details a process that can shape a renewed future for African Americans and all Americans-so we can become one America. As stated at the outset of this review and throughout, one does not need to agree with the diagnosis and prescriptions to understand the importance of the issue, to engage in the ongoing dialogue, and to propose their own amended Covenant. Business book buffs will also appreciate the new THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING by Brown & Wilson (Wiley Press, 2005) which is an outstanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Almost a roadmap

    I have been a big fan of the 'State Of The Black Union' for three years now and was excited to hear about 'The Covenant' as a virtual roadmap for self-improvement and community centered political action. I support this book wholeheartedly as a self-proclaimed and self-taught amateur intellectual. Just like many others I have been looking forward to a one-source document detailing grassroots action based strategies for affecting change. What I would like the conversation to evolve into is a dialogue systematizing our socio-economic advance creating an ordered national and global strategy we can all get behind that rises in intensity with respect to election years. Borrowing from Clausewitz that war is never ending and nothing but an extension of politics and policy our 'roadmap' should be focused and our determination dogged to acieve its noble ends. All and all I love this book and recommend to all. It is definately another step in the right direction encouraging dialogue on issues that are many times disconnected, but now brought together as an agenda to be pushed from our leaders to the constituencies that elect them. Get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Truth Shall Set Us Free

    This could be the vehicle to help heal the country. Not based on hype or mistruths. Gives a vision of hope and possibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Right Time At The Right Place

    Outstanding literature. Full of information and facts. could not put it down when I got started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Must Read!

    This book gives timely information I have been waiting for. The statistics are mind-boggling. The proposed solutions are doable, albeit challenging. The book was very readable and thought provoking. This book gives me hope that I can make a positive difference in my community, in my country, and in my world. I recommend it to anyone who, like I, feels powerless in an unfair world because of your ancestry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    So what & how do we go about solving the problems we are faced with today!!!!

    I recently encountered a big issue myself that has me very disenchanted with the state of our income and government today!!! To make a long story short I'm a tax paying, registered voter!!! Who recently felt the bad end of our government with a medical issure I'm currently dealing with Rhuematiod Arthritis and it's no joke (I wouldn't wish it on my worse enemy!!!) But, I had to apply for medical disablity and basicly I've been stuggling with the illness without any financial assistance for a year now!!!! Believe me I hate the fact that they make U jump thru hoops just to get a little bit of financial assist. I'm very upset with the fact they're making me go totally broke just to get a little assistance from them. Now that is a real joke!!! Believe me if I had my way I'd be successfully managing my massage business and earning my own way as I did before this disease attacked me! Now I've been employed and working in the system since I was 14 yrs old and I'm now 46. And the impression I got from the SSI office was this was something that could support me temporarly until I got an handle on this disease. We'll it's been a 1yr 7 months now since I've been strictened with this disease and for 10 months straight I was totally unemployed unable to literally turn on a light!!! And according to my RA specialist Dr. I'd be back to my old self in less then a year. We'll that hasn't come true thus far!!! And I'm a step away from the cardboard box sharing a vydock under some highway with a stranger!!!! So I'm writing for some answers cause I'm looking for assistance not a new way of living on the system cause I was quite happy being self sufficient!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    For such a time as this.

    'Every intersection in the road of life is an opportunity to make a decision, and at some time to only listen.' Duke Ellington

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    This is a 'must buy' for anyone who cares about the future

    This book is a must read for any one of any race who cares about our future, not only as a race, but as the human race. So what do we really have to be concerned about in the 21st century? Read this book and find out. This document not only clearly outlines the critical issues facing Black America, but America, period. It also provides options for actions on an individual, and collective level. Add this book to your library and you will be moved to commit to some form of social action to insure our future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!

    I think the Covenant is a great plan for getting black people to take action. It is a starting point, and hopefully, individuals will use the facts in the book to make a difference in our community. It really does take a multifaceted plan like the Covenant to get us moving in the right direction. -- Lawrence C. Ross, Jr. The Divine Nine: The History of African American Fraternities and Sororities (author) The Ways of Black Folks: A Year in the Life of a People (author) Sometimes Rhythm, Sometimes Blues (contributor) Friends With Benefits (author: September 2005)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    about time for the time

    it is great that information such as this is all in one book and it makes one reasonableness of living life to the highest come forth in truth, and for black american people to rise up to their rightful place in the world with no one holding them back, and it helps us remove those things that keep us down and not shift the blame to our oppressors. being respondable for one own action to reaction from their own thought process and to make that process better with time, like in the way we have become better to our present time from our yesterdays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1