BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Cowboy Next Door (Harlequin American Romance Series #1459)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Star Review - Cash Brothers series In The Cowboy Next Door

    4.5 Star Review - Cash Brothers series

    In The Cowboy Next Door by Marin Thomas, Johnny Cash has been looking after his siblings since he was a young man, taking over the responsibilities of a father. His mother was always on the run looking for her true love, coming home pregnant and leaving the children with her parents. His grandparents raised him and his siblings, but now that they are gone it's up to him to make sure that they are on the right path and to not loose the family ranch.

    Shannon Douglas's mother left when Shannon was a baby, and she always felt that she needed to be one of the boys, otherwise how could she be part of the family and not feel left out with just her brothers and her father. Since she was a child everything that any of them did she also had to do. And now as an adult she wants to be cowgirl of the year, everyone in her family has had that trophy and she wants it too.

    Shannon is the best friend of Johnny's sister, so when they find themselves in the same rodeo Johnny expects to feel the same protective feelings towards her but things have changed, Shannon is a fully-grown woman, something that his mind and body immediately realize. Due to her sponsorship commitments, Shannon is traveling and pretending to be in a love affair with C.J. Rodriguez, a cowboy also wanting to take the national title and trophy. But when Johnny finds Shannon fighting with her supposed boyfriend right before her ride, he knows that he must stop Rodriguez and help her focus.

    At first Johnny won't admit to the attraction and chemistry between them , he is nine years Shannon's senior and in his mind he would be robbing the cradle. But when they find themselves in a bar and drinking a few beers, before Johnny knows it he is dancing with Shannon and then taking her to her hotel room. At first he believes that he can be noble and walk away, but when she starts undressing and asks him to join her in the bathroom, his entire will to leave disappears without him noticing.

    A one-night stand that he believes was a mistake will make Johnny be cruel to Shannon the next morning, breaking her heart. When she gets injured during a ride and breaks a bone, she now will face more opposition from her family to continue her quest for the title and she will be facing a few painful weeks trying to recuperate before she looses her chances at the title completely.

    With the help of Johnny Shannon will continue training and trying to get over her fear she developed after the accident so she can win the title, but that may just cost him his job and the only chance he had of saving his family's ranch from being taken by the bank. Tough decisions this cowboy will have to make. Either he helps his true love get her dreams while he is deadly afraid for her life and safety and risk his family ranch, or he doesn't help keeping his job safe but loose her for his lack of faith.

    Another great book by Marine Thomas, I can't wait for the next installment in the Cash Brothers series and see who is next to loose his heart from this very handsome and heartbreaking playboys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    Marin Thomas did a good job writing The Cowboy Next Door.  Johnn

    Marin Thomas did a good job writing The Cowboy Next Door.  Johnny had to deal with having feelings for Shannon,  a female bull rider and his bosses daughter.  Meanwhile Shannon is overcoming what  could prove to be a career ending injury.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Enjoyable read and a great beginning to the Cash Brothers series

    Enjoyable read and a great beginning to the Cash Brothers series. Oldest brother Johnny has always been the responsible one but maybe now it's his turn to live a little. Recommended read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Johnny Cash has been looking out for his siblings for as long as

    Johnny Cash has been looking out for his siblings for as long as he can remember. His mom was always searching for love and while he searched for ways to keep his family together.

    Shannon Douglas is the girl who is Johnny's sister's best friend. He bandaged her knees and watched out for her along with his sister. Now she wants to win all around cowgirl riding bulls, can he watch out for her while she does that?
    Can the cowboy who needs to take care of everyone else and keep them safe fall for the girl next door who puts herself in harms way at every event? Will Johnny ever see Shannon as his sister's friend who is 9 years younger than him?

    It's easy to fall in love with The Cash Brothers! You will get a look into the life of all the brothers in this book but a special look at the relationship between Johnny and Shannon.

    I can't wait for book two to find out what happens with The Cash Brothers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I very much enjoyed this book. I love cowboys and I love rodeo c

    I very much enjoyed this book. I love cowboys and I love rodeo cowboys. It was nice to read about a lady bull rider. Johnny and Shannon were good strong characters both surviving growing up after their mothers abandoned them. Johnny and his siblings being raised by their loving grandparents. Shannon and her brothers by their father. Johnny nine years older then Shannon finds himself seeing Shannon in a whole new light. She is no longer his baby sisters childhood friend she's a intriguingly beautiful woman. 
    I LOVED the ending of this book. I suggest having kleenex at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    This Sweet and Sexy Cowboy Romance Is A Winner There are days w

    This Sweet and Sexy Cowboy Romance Is A Winner

    There are days when a woman wants to be lassoed into sweet and sexy cowboy romance, and for days such as these, The Cowboy Next Door fits the bill perfectly. The first book in The Cash Brothers series draws the reader into the rodeo world, gives them insight into broken families and relationships, and has them hoping for a happy ending for characters who deserve a better life and happiness with one other.

    This romance will pull you into the story as you are introduced to the dutiful, determined, and irresistible Johnny and his growing desires for Shannon-stubborn and motivated rodeo cowgirl-who is also Johnny’s sister’s best friend and 9 years his junior.

    Thanks to an especially hot encounter with Shannon in a shower, Johnny soon realizes she isn’t the tom-boy he had once taken care of like a little sister, but a fully grown and very alluring woman that stirs him in a way that’s not so brotherly. Meanwhile, overseeing his family’s pecan farm and being a father figure to his brothers has taken its toll, as he tries to figure out a way to save the farm.

    Shannon has big plans to win Cowgirl of The Year, but it seems the men in her life are against her high-risk-taking tendencies and her dream of winning the rodeo title. On top of wanting to succeed while the odds are stacked against her, she has to deal with one sweet and sexy cowboy who gradually reels her stubborn self in for a chance at love at the worst time possible.

    What I loved about Johnny was how he put his desire for Shannon to quit rodeo aside and instead tries to help her achieve her dreams by overcoming her worst fear. This type of unselfish compromise and encouragement is what every determined, strong-willed woman needs and appreciates from her man.

    I think many women can relate to Shannon – she is a very strong-willed woman who enjoys her independence. At the same time she struggles with knowing the people she’s closest to have the ability not only to build her up, but also tear her defenses down. Shannon’s attraction to Johnny doesn’t surprise her, but her sudden desire to please him does because she wants full control of her situation and to not be side-tracked from reaching her dreams. This makes her more guarded.

    With Shannon’s defenses up, and Johnny’s urge to protect the woman he’s reluctantly falling for, it makes for a great combination of sensual tension and desire between the two that jumps off the pages. You want them to be together. Believe me, the ending is well worth it :) This wonderfully written love story will have you rearing to go for the next book in The Cash Brothers series. I highly recommend it!

    ~Laurie Kozlowski

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5 big Super stars I recommend this book. 4.5 Star Review -

    4.5 big Super stars

    I recommend this book.

    4.5 Star Review - Cash Brothers series

    Since Johnny Cash’s grandparents have passed he has been looking after his siblings since he is the oldest and took over the father responsibilities. He believes it is his responsibility to save the ranch as he made a promise to his grandfather. He also wants to help his brothers and sister stay on the right path. His mother was always out on the fun looking for her true love always coming home pregnant. Once she had the babies she left them with the grandparents and went back in search of her true love.
    Shannon Douglas was abandoned by her mother when she was a baby. She was raised by her father and brothers. She was always a tomboy as she wanted to fit into the all-male family. Since she was younger she has tried to take after her brothers in everything they achieved she needed to also get. Now she wants the title of Cowgirl of the year by competing in the bull riding events. She thinks if she gets that title it will make up for her mother not loving her.
    Shannon has known Johnny for years as she is best friends with his sister. She has also spent a lot of time with his entire family a one time or another.
    During a rodeo she is injured and breaks a bone in her leg. Now she must work harder in order to heal and still get the title.
    Johnny is working for Shannon’s father as foreman on his ranch and after Shannon breaks down and tells him she has a fear of getting back on the bulls he agrees to help Shannon train.

    Read the book to get answers to the below:
    Will he be able to train Shannon and still get his work done at the Ranch?
    Will Shannon overcome her fear and get the title she desperately wants?


    I can't wait for the next book in the Cash Brothers series. Due out in October 2013 “Twins Under The Christmas Tree” Featuring Conway Cash.

    Some favorite parts from this book:
    “It’s time for you to pull your weight.” They walked back to the cabin.
    “You know what I think?” Conway said. “You guys ride my ass because you’re jealous of me.”
    Johnny chuckled. “Jealous?”
    “You guys wish woman fawned all over you like they do me. I can’t help it if I.mn the best-looking Cash brother.” He got behind the wheel. “Watch yourself with Rodriguez. He’s a ladies’ man. If he wants Shannon, he’ll get her.”
    Over my dead body.

    “Before we say grace, I have an announcement to make.” Dixie shared a smile with Galvin, then held up her water glass.
    “spit it out, Dix, before the food gets cold,” Porter said.
    “Gavin and I are expecting.”
    “Expecting what?” Porter asked.
    Johnny slapped the back of his brother’s head. “A baby, stupid.”
    “You’re pregnant?” Buck asked.
    Dixie leaned down and kissed Gavin then said, “We’re pregnant.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Marin Thomas, did it again, wrote another smashing cowboy book.

    Marin Thomas, did it again, wrote another smashing cowboy book. She make the characters seem so, authentic as well the scenery. I could have picture it all, like movie.




    This series start out with Johnny Cash, oldest of his brothers and sister. In which all are name after country-western singers, their mother had a thing for. She was in and out of their lives, which she left them with Grandma Ada, to raise on pecan farm.
    Johnny, work at next farm, in which his sister is friend Shannon, who is several years older.To help from losing their family farm.




    Shannon, who is a bull rider, her family disapproves of. She is competing with C.J. Rodriguez for the title of Cowboy/girl of the year.




    Dynasty Boots, is promoting Shannon & C.J., due to fact they are a couple. In which, they broke up,due to C.J. involvement with a new women at each town, the rodeo go to. They trying to keep it on the low, if Dynasty Boots find out, they will stop promoting them. In which, Shannon, can't afford.




    Johnny and Shannon, get together for one night, the next day Johnny give Shannon, the shoulder. It makes her mad.
    Then, Shannon, take a fall off a bull, she has a bad break. She is worry that if she don't finish the circuit she can lose the title. Shannon, father disapproves of her riding, want her to stop.
    Johnny, attempt to relieve Shannon fears of riding again. Help with her training. As soon, her father finds out he gives Johnny a ultimatum.




    Now, Johnny got to figure out what he want to do. If he help Shannon overcome her fears, she may win the title she hope to win. Then, in the other hand, he could lose the family farm, to the bank. He know that he need to think about what could happen to his family, if he continues to help Shannon. But, he do not want to lose the love of his life, either.




    So, what do you think Johnny, should do? To find out what happen with Johnny, Shannon and everything. Go get yourself a copy of " The Cowboy Next Door". I promise, you will not be disappointed.




    "The Cowboy Next Door", is sensational, truly enjoy reading. Marin, you outdone yourself again. I hope the next series of "The Cash Brothers" be as great as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    First in the Series of The Cash Brothers.   Meet Johnny Cash the

    First in the Series of The Cash Brothers.   Meet Johnny Cash the oldest in The Cowboy Next Door.
    After reading this can't wait to see what the other Cash Brothers have in store for us.   
    Marin has delivered another great book.  She is a great storyteller and never disappoints.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1