Customer Reviews for

The Cracker Queen: A Memoir of a Jagged, Joyful Life

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    A real Warner Robins Trip

    Enjoyable reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Loved it

    Emotional from cover to cover, from tears to laughing fits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Raw and Real

    A bookmark never touched the pages of my copy of The Cracker Queen. Hooked from the moment I picked it up, Lauretta Hannon, enthralls and mesmerizes with her great sense of humor and carefully crafted words. She answers the question of, "What will I do with my pain?" and inspires us to follow her on a journey of rising above the damage and hurt life inevitably brings. She proves that living life out loud with lots of laughter can carry you through just about anything. Like the author wrote, "You, however, do not have to be toothless to enjoy this book. Just Human." Cracker Queen or not, The Regal Essentials the author shares throughout her touching book of love, forgiveness, gratitude, and purpose will benefit all of us in surprising ways, if we let them. Long live the Queen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    whip-smart with tremendous heart

    I literally held my breath during some scenes in this memoir involving guns, knives, and mean back streets. But I also laughed out loud at the skate-a-thon, overeager grilling, and hostage guitar. The vivid moments of Lauretta Hannon's hardscrabble childhood and activist young adulthood make for spellbinding reading, and I devoured the book as fast as I could.

    Lauretta Hannon comes to the rescue, repeatedly. She prevents stabbings, assists prisoners, finds homes for the mentally ill, and confronts pit-bull breeders bent on dog fighting. The Cracker Queen is really a mantra about living life to the fullest with courage, joy, and great compassion. Call me a convert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    MUST READ THIS WITTY, WISE MEMOIR!!

    In Lauretta Hannon's exceptionally well-written memoir, she shares her bittersweet story of growing up destitute amid familial chaos in backcountry Georgia. Despite parental drunken fights, her mother's mental collapse, and a life of hardship, Ms. Hannon perseveres and innately realizes that how she lives her life is a choice. As her eccentric life unfolds, she chooses to respond to life's challenges and obstacles with love, gratitude and a big dose of humor. In the course of time. she forms and elaborates upon her list of 'core values'. Ms. Hannon brilliantly tells her story in a delightfully folksy style that thoroughly captivated me from page 1. I really, truly loved this wonderfully engaging book for the homespun humor and uplifting wisdom it expresses and therefore, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Inspirational and bend over funny

    Just finished this book.
    A touching story peppered with laughs. I cried,laughed and cheered. Sometime all at once.
    I was familiar with Ms. Hannon's tales on National Public Radio but never suspected the story behind them.
    Shows us that women are Amazing creatures, strong and tough.
    We can overcome most anything and The Cracker Queen does.

    Love it, give us more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1