Customer Reviews for

The Crime of Julian Wells

Average Rating 3
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

A great mystery following the anguish and unanswered questions that come after losing someone to suicide...only following those unanswered questions only leads to more in this chilling thriller.

posted by 11010066 on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Punishing the author for a nasty review isn't right. I'm giving

Punishing the author for a nasty review isn't right. I'm giving 5 stars to offset the idiots who rated a review of the book rather than the book itself. It is not fair to the author of the book to do that.

posted by Headless on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Slow

    Very dull, plodding and boring. I kept thinking that it would eventually pick up but it never did.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Boring, overpriced and underwhelming

    The author is very talented in his selection of vocabulary and his phrasing but it wasn't enough to keep the book interesting or make you want to continue reading. The story plodded along slowly and was very clunky. I'm so happy this was a Free Friday book; it would have been a total waste of $12.96 otherwise.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    cant get into this

    Wasnt able to read beyond the first few chapters

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    I found this story to be boring and hard to read. Could not even

    I found this story to be boring and hard to read. Could not even finish it. Maybe I will go back later when I have nothing better and try again. Until then, not interested.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Just drags on...

    Normally I will push through a slow book hoping to find some redeaming chapter, but not this one. It just drags on and on and on (you get the drift), and just did not interest me. It will remain unfinished in order to protect my sanity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Don't Bother

    Dullest most boring book I have ever read. I got this as a 'free' Nook book. They should have paid me to take it. There is a cauctionary moral in there, but it is buried under tons of redumdant muck.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    I found this book to be extremely boring i could not read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Boring!! The author shows off his skills for using big words and

    Boring!! The author shows off his skills for using big words and phases, but is unable to create a plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No plot

    No character development except by literary reference....no story line or action except mental. The author name drops a lot of titles but neglects to tie anything together. First book i gave up on in years

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Poorly written

    Could not get past first 50 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Not my kind of book!

    Morbid from the start

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Very bad

    Bad and boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Boring

    This was a boring book! I read the first few chapters and started skipping through rhe book hoping that it would get better. Only the ending made any sense,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Ho hum. Very vey slow.  No thriller at all. Never got started.  

    Ho hum. Very vey slow.  No thriller at all. Never got started.  Just could not finish it. Felt like I was taking a college literary class. Moving on to something more exciting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Boring

    Found myself day-dreaming while reading words that made no connection. Felt like I needed to review my English Lit class. Glad this was free. Couldn't read beyond chapter 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Well written, but dark

    Well written with an ending that is unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Horrible

    Not even worth reading! No wonder it was free. Save your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Downer Extraordinaire

    To be fair, I didn't finish this book--because I just couldn't. It was so oppressively depressing that I had to quit. Starting with a suicide, it seemed to get progressively more dark with each passing chapter. I'm no Pollyanna, but the negativity and hopelessness were too sustained for me to stick with it. Perhaps those who read it to the end will find otherwise, though. Good luck. You'll need it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Not for me..

    Wasn't my kind of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Couldn't get into it

    I just couldn't get into the story. Maybe if I had read a little further, but it just didn't pull me in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3