Customer Reviews for

The Crime of Julian Wells

Average Rating 3
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

A great mystery following the anguish and unanswered questions that come after losing someone to suicide...only following those unanswered questions only leads to more in this chilling thriller.

posted by 11010066 on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Punishing the author for a nasty review isn't right. I'm giving

Punishing the author for a nasty review isn't right. I'm giving 5 stars to offset the idiots who rated a review of the book rather than the book itself. It is not fair to the author of the book to do that.

posted by Headless on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    A great mystery following the anguish and unanswered questions that come after losing someone to suicide...only following those unanswered questions only leads to more in this chilling thriller.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    This is a book for people who consider themselves to be readers.

    This is a book for people who consider themselves to be readers.  It is not for people who are uncomfortable reading sentences more than 10 words long, encountering words that they may have to look up, or those who can only follow chase scenes.  It is clearly a literary mystery/thriller that is well drawn and thought-provoking.  If this describes what you are looking for when you're reading, you'll love this one.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Enjoyed thoroughly

    After reading some of the negative reviews I wasnt sure about reqading this book but am so glad that i did. It was well written and had a fantastic story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    One of the best

    So very honest . Hard to put down but at the same time hard to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    The crime of Jillian Wells

    How well do you know your best friend, you have known him all your life, so it must be pretty good, right? Ok, how far would you go for this same person? Your best friend did the most unexpected thing, he just took his own life. WHY??? Could I have stopped it?

    This book dives into these questions and you will be so surprised at the answers. The characters are so intimate with you, you will think your right there each step. This plot will pull you in so deep that you won't want to put it down. But, the book length is far too short. Take all these and wrap them together and you have an excellent read.

    Mr Cook has the ability to take those two questions and develop an excellent story with unbelievable twists and turns. I highly recommend this book for an evening of pleasurable reading. I did hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Thomas H. Cook-My Favorite!

    I love this author and will buy anything he has written. He sets a mood like no other! Love, love his writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Engaging Mystery

    The Crime of Julian Wells takes you on a journey that you will not soon forget. It is well crafted and impossible to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    High rate

    This story gripped me. The ending gave me sleepless nights. Well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Very intense reading

    This book lends itself to much discussion and analyzation of characters, goodnes and cruelty and innocence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Beyond good!

    From the moment I started reading this book, I knew I would not be able to put it down until I knew "Why?". It is extremely well-written and thought provoking. It is not for those readers who have limited vocabularies, intellectual capacities, or the attention spans of gnats. That's what Dan Brown is for. I happen to enjoy his books too, but it sure is nice to be capable of swimming in deeper waters and enjoying the exercise too. It's also refreshing to read characters written and handled in such a delicate way. It's an almost dreamlike quality which makes it easy to understand why people have such differing views on this story. I think this seeming fragility is at perfect odds with the horror at the core, and how something so simple can turn out so bad. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great book

    This is a masterfully written book, diving deeply into the human soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Compelling

    You feel the sadness and the tormented soul of Julian, hence you like Philip need to know why! And when you come to full circle of this journey you are left with a quiet peace as you realize there was nothing you could've done to change the outcome. No words spoken could change a man's soul when that person had already condemned himself and made his own choice in life. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Intelligent mystery

    The reviews for this book read alot like A Winter's Tale. The readers either loving or hating it, with the haters having the same type of complaints....boring, too slow, too wordy ,etc. The difference for me is that I knew what was going on and enjoyed following the writer all over the world to find out why his friend committed suicide. The writing is very smart and rather cerebral. I had to look up a few words. The plot is well developed and moved along nicely. So many of today's books are written on an eighth grade reading level. This one is not. It is written for someone who enjoys words and the richness of language as well as a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Stunningly good

    Deeply literary, compelling, and worthy of cinematic exposure. I would give it six stars if I could.

    The plot moves slowly,but this is necessary. The narrator must realize what is happening in real time and he brings the reader along.

    Like well-performed music, the novel both foreshadows and surprises. Phillip's realization of his friend's "crime" is made all the more tragic by the realization that things happen sometimes by misfortune and circumstance.

    Take the time and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Abby

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Great writing--borders on literature

    Great writing--borders on literature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Fact

    It is a sad fact that the majority of people in the USA cannot read beyond an 8th grade level. Since this novel is closer to a college-level work, it is easy to understand the poor reviews where they cannot understand the authors "writting (sic)". As a college graduate and lover of reading, the novelist had me when they compared life to pebbles on a forest floor in Chapter 1.

    To those of you struggling with the big words, please do not berate yourselves. After all, you can only read up to an 8th grade level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Intensely vivid

    I became completely caught up in all of the tales within the tale. I know these people and I will read their stories again. Not a typical murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Good

    Must Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great Read for Summer or All Year

    Friends and family can't understand just why Julian Wells thought he had to die. The book glides through his life and adventures by having a friend and sister trace the trips he made to write his books. The clues are well placed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3