Customer Reviews for

The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great

This is a very well finished book. The series was amazing and im glad it ended the way it did. If you have been following this series from the beginning and are one of those people who can read a book without blazing action on every page. You actually appreciate the sub...
This is a very well finished book. The series was amazing and im glad it ended the way it did. If you have been following this series from the beginning and are one of those people who can read a book without blazing action on every page. You actually appreciate the substance of the book. Then you will absolutely love this book. I read it within the first 24 hours i got it i couldnt put it down.

posted by 6416178 on October 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion. As a c

An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion.

As a completely honest review, I'll try to keep my enjoyment of the series as a whole from clouding my view of this particular book. I've read the entire series over to refresh myself when this was released. It...
An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion.

As a completely honest review, I'll try to keep my enjoyment of the series as a whole from clouding my view of this particular book. I've read the entire series over to refresh myself when this was released. It was a pleasant read, though at times a tad bit heavy on irrelevant staging. I found myself skimming past five paragraphs before there were two sentences of dialogue. There is fluffed content that I feel should have been cut out in editing for the sake of brevity and repetition. The book does a good job of seamlessly referring back to the previous books to instate a sort of "aha!" moment when new things are discovered. I was sorry to see that this book fell a bit short by being overly predictable, though. The parts that I felt were surprising seemed to me like cop-outs. Those sort of perfectly coincidental plot events that incite a sort of "that explains everything" mindset. I would have almost preferred if the author had left some questions to be pondered by the individual reader.

The ending came off as flat in my mind. It was so hyped up and then it just ended in a matter of four pages. I was highly disappointed in the abruptness of it and it concerned me that all of the great character development was kind of ignored. There were a lot of names that disappear for quite a while then come back in the end, but only in a passive mentioning. It was like all of the inevitable conflict and strife would just be thrown to the side for the sake of an ending. This book could have had a third of it cut out and another book written to polish off those blunt edges. The author clearly demonstrates her adept ability to write a soft romance novel, but I feel may need more practice in inciting that truly gritty, on-the-edge-of-your-seat feeling that open battle and conflict can incite in a reader. I often times felt too much like an observer rather than being immersed into her world. This is a genuinely good novel if you can overlook a few key things. As an ending to a series, it does a good job in doing just that. Ending it.

posted by Arctic_Kiwi on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great

    This is a very well finished book. The series was amazing and im glad it ended the way it did. If you have been following this series from the beginning and are one of those people who can read a book without blazing action on every page. You actually appreciate the substance of the book. Then you will absolutely love this book. I read it within the first 24 hours i got it i couldnt put it down.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion. As a c

    An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion.

    As a completely honest review, I'll try to keep my enjoyment of the series as a whole from clouding my view of this particular book. I've read the entire series over to refresh myself when this was released. It was a pleasant read, though at times a tad bit heavy on irrelevant staging. I found myself skimming past five paragraphs before there were two sentences of dialogue. There is fluffed content that I feel should have been cut out in editing for the sake of brevity and repetition. The book does a good job of seamlessly referring back to the previous books to instate a sort of "aha!" moment when new things are discovered. I was sorry to see that this book fell a bit short by being overly predictable, though. The parts that I felt were surprising seemed to me like cop-outs. Those sort of perfectly coincidental plot events that incite a sort of "that explains everything" mindset. I would have almost preferred if the author had left some questions to be pondered by the individual reader.

    The ending came off as flat in my mind. It was so hyped up and then it just ended in a matter of four pages. I was highly disappointed in the abruptness of it and it concerned me that all of the great character development was kind of ignored. There were a lot of names that disappear for quite a while then come back in the end, but only in a passive mentioning. It was like all of the inevitable conflict and strife would just be thrown to the side for the sake of an ending. This book could have had a third of it cut out and another book written to polish off those blunt edges. The author clearly demonstrates her adept ability to write a soft romance novel, but I feel may need more practice in inciting that truly gritty, on-the-edge-of-your-seat feeling that open battle and conflict can incite in a reader. I often times felt too much like an observer rather than being immersed into her world. This is a genuinely good novel if you can overlook a few key things. As an ending to a series, it does a good job in doing just that. Ending it.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Exceptional

    The ending was perfect. I loved how all the side characters had clear personalities and were consistently driven by motives that made sense. This character development made the political situation fascinating. This series was exceptional. I would recomend to anyone. Yes I also read it in a day... could not put it down.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    The only problem I had with the book was that it didn't fully re

    The only problem I had with the book was that it didn't fully resolve the Clan - Wizard conflict. The events leading up to the end showed some hope for the two factions (not too much quarreling), but the author didn't really give a definitive answer.
    I REEEEEEAAAAALY HOPE SHE'LL WRITE ANOTHER SERIES FOR THIS! PLEEEEEEAAAAAAASE, Ms. Chima. PLEEEEEEAAAAAAASE!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Perfect

    I enjoyed this book! It could straight to the action and there were no long boring section that don't move the story along. All major questions are answered and it has a really good ending. I really hope there is a 5th book! The story is not over for Raisa or Hans!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Best Series!!!

    I finnished this book the day after I got it. It was amazing!!! I can't WAIT for the next book! (Which I'm sure will be written, becuse it can't possibly end like that.) I thought that this series has only gotten better with each new book, and I can't wait to see where the series will go from here!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Best book ever!

    Cinda williams chima is a genious. The whole story is amazing and it is so easy to relate to the characters! I highly reccomend this book and if you do enjoy it i also reccomend the heir series there unbelievable!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Okay...

    Loved the series but the ending didnt seem quite satisfying enough. Epic end I expected didnt really come. High anticiation and bit of a let down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!

    It's always sad when endings come. With this ending it still left me with unanswered questions. Don't get me wrong this was an awesome book, just wish it wasn't the end. Has the happily ever after ending, or does it?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great book. Bad ending

    Ive read all of Chima's books and they are all great. Personally I preferred the Heir series over this one but I still loved these books...up until this one. The book was great, but then it just ended. The character development was amazing and had so much potential, but it was all ignored. When I finished the book I was sure if it was the final installment or not. Most of the major conflicts are still unresolved. I think there could easly be another be another book to finish of the series. In conclusion, I would say read the series, just don't expect anything great out of the ending

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Why does it have to end!!!!!!??????? I wished there was another book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    The story was wrapped up perfectly. I'm going to miss these cha

    The story was wrapped up perfectly. I'm going to miss these characters.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Just wow

    This a-hole! Han is one of the collest charicters EVER! To end it on Algers conversation is TTIURTUROUS WORTHY OF GOAL! (Forgive my spelling)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Best series

    I loved this series. Never a dull momemt. The way it is written just brings it to life. Loved the characters. I am not one to write a long review so dont take that as negative this book series is a hundred awesoms plus

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great

    This whole series is highly entertaining and very entrancing. I have to say it is definitly worth reading. Raisa and Han are both compelling characters, they both hold true to themselves. This is a great story of love and triumph, I couldnt stop reading once i started, i just had to know what was going to happen next.
    This whole series is well worth the money. I'm happy that I gave it chance. Five stars. Go Alister! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    WOOT WOOT!

    Amazing writing, beautiful story that kept me at the edge of my seat the entire book. I was terribly depressed when I realized it was over. One of the best series I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A good ending to an enjoyable series

    This is the last book in a series - I had to get it to find out what happens! It did not disappoint.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Awesome.

    An amazing series. I love that so many of the characters have a decent story and background, and that the politics of the seven realms are so thought out. And it mixes action, romance, and politics well. Han and Raisa have an interesting relationship that changes realistically, and I appreciated that neither of them completely rely on the other. Han is smart and can handle himself, and Raisa is a strong-willed, smart person on her own. Some people are complaining of the anticlamactic ending, but I found it realistic and preferable to a rushing, get it over with kind of ending. The different conflicts were solved at different points. Definitely read this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Hi

    This book is AWESOME! The crimson crown is tied with catching firefor my favorite book of all time! GO HAN ALISTER YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!! YOU TO RAISA KEEP UP THE GIRL POWER!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    just finished this book. have been an avid fan since the demon k

    just finished this book. have been an avid fan since the demon king. i loved it a lot. it was invigorating

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9