Customer Reviews for

The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great

This is a very well finished book. The series was amazing and im glad it ended the way it did. If you have been following this series from the beginning and are one of those people who can read a book without blazing action on every page. You actually appreciate the sub...
This is a very well finished book. The series was amazing and im glad it ended the way it did. If you have been following this series from the beginning and are one of those people who can read a book without blazing action on every page. You actually appreciate the substance of the book. Then you will absolutely love this book. I read it within the first 24 hours i got it i couldnt put it down.

posted by 6416178 on October 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion. As a c

An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion.

As a completely honest review, I'll try to keep my enjoyment of the series as a whole from clouding my view of this particular book. I've read the entire series over to refresh myself when this was released. It...
An accelerated race to a stunningly deflated conclusion.

As a completely honest review, I'll try to keep my enjoyment of the series as a whole from clouding my view of this particular book. I've read the entire series over to refresh myself when this was released. It was a pleasant read, though at times a tad bit heavy on irrelevant staging. I found myself skimming past five paragraphs before there were two sentences of dialogue. There is fluffed content that I feel should have been cut out in editing for the sake of brevity and repetition. The book does a good job of seamlessly referring back to the previous books to instate a sort of "aha!" moment when new things are discovered. I was sorry to see that this book fell a bit short by being overly predictable, though. The parts that I felt were surprising seemed to me like cop-outs. Those sort of perfectly coincidental plot events that incite a sort of "that explains everything" mindset. I would have almost preferred if the author had left some questions to be pondered by the individual reader.

The ending came off as flat in my mind. It was so hyped up and then it just ended in a matter of four pages. I was highly disappointed in the abruptness of it and it concerned me that all of the great character development was kind of ignored. There were a lot of names that disappear for quite a while then come back in the end, but only in a passive mentioning. It was like all of the inevitable conflict and strife would just be thrown to the side for the sake of an ending. This book could have had a third of it cut out and another book written to polish off those blunt edges. The author clearly demonstrates her adept ability to write a soft romance novel, but I feel may need more practice in inciting that truly gritty, on-the-edge-of-your-seat feeling that open battle and conflict can incite in a reader. I often times felt too much like an observer rather than being immersed into her world. This is a genuinely good novel if you can overlook a few key things. As an ending to a series, it does a good job in doing just that. Ending it.

posted by Arctic_Kiwi on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    -_- Stupid budget

    Loved the series from the beginning. I only got to get the sample because ive got a tight budget and im torn between books. If you love fantasy then you will love this book.sadly there are no elves involved but i still love the books and the author is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Loved it!

    An exciting end to the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Great finish to an interesting series

    Great fantasy read about wizards, queens, kingdoms. Interesting plot and love triangle that follows the buildup from the preceding books. Writing is a little complex due to old English style/word choices, but not enough to deter. I did find myself using looking words up frequently on my iPad while reading...and I am an educated adult! I was sad when the series ended. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Amazing

    Cant wait for the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Just what I expected!

    Another amazing addition to a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this series by Chima - it was the 1st one of he

    I really enjoyed this series by Chima - it was the 1st one of hers I rad. She did a beautiful job with blending the different types of communities in the 7 Realms. I was a little disappointed in Raisa's part of the story, but loved how she held true to Hans, how she kept faith and belief in him. When she had doubts her insides screamed the truth. Hans never catches a break but the guy is like steel, his resiliance is staggering. Without giving away any of the last book, know that if you start this series there are lots of twists and turns. Good does prevail and the bad guys get what they deserve in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Chima's plot complexity continues to set the standard with each


    Chima's plot complexity continues to set the standard with each new installment. The greatest joy in reading this book is seeing how an author can input so much information without losing the overall story or leaving everyone confused. Her natural writing skill has only been honed by her now impressive amount of experience. Instead of spoon feeding the lines of thought from each character to the reader, Chima gives only enough hints to drive you to the next page. Unpredictability is also something that you get less of the more you read so having a book that constantly keeps you on your toes is a special treat. There is also something special inside the pages of this book that has been missing from fantasy for a long time...humor. It's not quite the Princess Bride but this love story will have you grinning anyway...read full review at theofficebooks.blogspot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Amazing series!!!!!

    I've been with this series since they first started and I've been in love with it ever since. The characters are beautifully developed and you can't help but feel their love and pain. The begining wasn't the best in book four, but it wasn't long before it absorbs into the suspense. Chima keeps you reading until the very last page.
    It's heart breaking the journy finally ended, but it's worth reading again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    What an true swashbuckling adventure-A must read!!!

    I could not put it down. It had it all, exciting battles, a great love story, intrigues and suspense. A true adventure. I love the whole story line. I would highly recommend the entire series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Amazing book!

    It was the best one in the series and I HATE how this is the last one. I was hoping that she would have made more. This book was amazing and I'm glad that I started the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    A really exciting book

    Could not put it down, have everyone of her books, to bad this is the last book in this series, really lloking forward to see what she does next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I wish she would.............

    I wish she would write another book and if your reading this cinda chima pppppppplllllllllleeeeeeeeaaaaaaassssseeeeeee write more books i literally love these books and there are two few in the world good ones i mean please don't finish with four your fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great series

    I liked the contrast between the characters and how they swiftly acted when somthing was wrong

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Meh

    Meh

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Good

    Very good ending I hope to see more like these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Series ending

    WHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYY im really annoyed at how when there is only one book left in a series its annoying ya know? But it's life and it does suck how life operates gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome series!

    It's still my favorite series. I loved the way this ended. It tied up so much of what was going on. We find out more about Alger and Hanalea and what really happened. People came together to help the Queendom that otherwise would not have. The betrayal from someone unexpected. Han and Raisa finally get what they always wanted. I just loved everything about this book/series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Riveting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2015

    Amazing

    This spectacular tale of romance and betrayal will make you rather addicted to the story and yearning for more, and is just as great as the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    It's awesome. One of my select favorites

    It's awesome. One of my select favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9