Customer Reviews for

Cross Roads

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the e

A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the eyes of a man who has suffered a loss and blames God and the entire world around him. He builds walls around himself to shut out relationships and feelings. The book helps us to discover what is really impo...
A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the eyes of a man who has suffered a loss and blames God and the entire world around him. He builds walls around himself to shut out relationships and feelings. The book helps us to discover what is really important in life- ability to love and be loved, knowledge that we are never alone, that God is always with us, that god's help is always available only for the asking. You will want to read it again and again. Congratulations to Paul Young.

posted by InspiredJack on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Satan 666

Satan 666 demons live among us

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the e

    A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the eyes of a man who has suffered a loss and blames God and the entire world around him. He builds walls around himself to shut out relationships and feelings. The book helps us to discover what is really important in life- ability to love and be loved, knowledge that we are never alone, that God is always with us, that god's help is always available only for the asking. You will want to read it again and again. Congratulations to Paul Young.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Cross Roads, Wm. Paul Young, (Faith Words, New York, 2012). Man

    Cross Roads, Wm. Paul Young, (Faith Words, New York, 2012).

    Many of us remember The Shack, a book that took the country by storm. Cross Roads is the second book by Paul Young. If you liked The Shack, you may like Cross Roads, too.

    Cross Roads is similar to Young’s previous work in that it records a man’s encounter with the God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. And, like The Shack God reveals himself in a number of different guises—all spark the reader’s imagination. The book stresses God’s love and grace rather than judgment and retribution. Forgiveness and healing are major themes in the developing relationship of the main character with the various persons of the Trinity.

    I thought the book was also similar to Pilgrims Progress, by John Bunyan. In Bunyan’s book the main character struggles through several adventures along the road to sanctification. In Young’s book the main character’s encounter with God sets him on a journey of self-revelation and salvation. The character is a thoroughly modern individual. The reader will recognize many if not all of the personal struggles and issues that the character encounters. These encounters can be both revealing and thought provoking for the reader.

    In The Shack, Young dealt mainly with the unique revelation of God and the relationship between the persons of the Trinity. Young broke the stereotypes of God and helped people see God in a new and fresh way. God was more approachable, less judgmental, more loving and gracious, and less removed and distant. The Shack cause many people to reflect on their understanding of God, and God’s activity in their lives and the world. Cross Roads deals with who God is and how God relates to us, but it focuses more on the personhood of the main character. I sometimes thought I was being allowed to observe a therapy session by a skilled mental health care professional. While this is important terrain to survey, I do not think Young’s second book is as profound as his first book was.

    Still, I recommend this book. It is a book that challenges us to think by presenting God, humankind, and the world, from an out-of-the-box perspective. Once again, we are gently invited to ponder the Trinity, our relationship to God, and God’s activity in our lives and in the world. This is certainly more than most books ask of the reader. Such reflection might not only bring with it fresh insights, but also a new, life changing perspective.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    A MUST READ!

    I couldn't put this book down! I cried my way through it! Young's ability to draw you into his world and make you feel like you're standing next to the characters is remarkable!!!! I would definitely recommend this to everyone!!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Moving

    Wow! Couldn't put it down. Thought provoking

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    It seems that there is an element of society that hates authors

    It seems that there is an element of society that hates authors and books that religiously inspire.

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    It will make a believer out of you.

    This book is for the doubting Thomases of the world. I loved the way it was written. I read the Shack and found similar twists in Cross Roads.

    I would read another book by this author because I love the Lord and all that He represents. I love the way he weaves the story so that the reader could possibly become saved.

    I would recommend it for book club discussions, especially with a biblical scholar in attendance to give their prospective.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Profound

    William Young again uses a creative storyline to give insight into the unconditional love of God. Sometimes we make decisions which change our landscape - the good news is that they are not irreversible.
    The message is profound. The storyline is fast and entertaining.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    This is a mind bender

    Whenyou start this book you may have it figured out - but this book is well written and a joy to read i suggest you read it to lift your spirits if you liked Mr Young's book "The Shack " you will love "Crossroads".



    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    A great read, entertaining and thought provoking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I love this book. It is another look at the trinity that Paul Y

    I love this book. It is another look at the trinity that Paul Young introduced us to in The Shack.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Bravo!

    Would recommend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Wow! Great read!

    Loved the shack- this one is tremendous as well
    I expected insights, etc; what i didn't expect was so much humor! Don't want to add spoiler so let me just say i laughed until i cried at a certain episode in a church - just too funny! And i loved jack being in this book; that great and wise man should be in more books, heaven knows he wrote and inspired enough of them
    Thank you paul young, for this!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Very Moving

    Took a while to get to the good part but this was a very moving story and most people could probably see themselves as the main character. Interesting portrayals of the Trinity.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    AWSOME BOOK !!!!

    A book for everyone !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    Excellent book. It kept me so interested, I hated to put it down. I am not very good at reading at long periods of time, but I hated to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    When I read the Shack, I didn't think Mr Young could write anoth

    When I read the Shack, I didn't think Mr Young could write another book with so much insite. As with The Shack, Mr Young has again written a winner. He examines the soul and almost insists that the reader take inventory of their life. I had a hard time putting the book down, and yet I thought it would end the way it did. We all build walls in our life; it's what we do about them that matters. Mr Yound, thank you for giving us your insite into the life after and how God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are always there with us. I do know what is important in life; it's relationships and more relationships, and that is what living means. Thank you again, and I hope to see you again at the Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows in September.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Heart Earming

    If you haveever faced the loss of xomeone so close to you that you did not want to let go of tis book wil heal a small part of that pain. You wll see them again and they know they are loved, loned for and most important loved and remembered!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Having read "The Shack" I really looked forward to reading "Cross Roads". I was not disappointed. What a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I will read anything that William Young writes after reading The

    I will read anything that William Young writes after reading The Shack. I love to read up-lifting, eye-opening, feel good about life and life-changing books. Another winner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Young┬┐s book, The Shack, was a best-seller because it was we

    Mr. Young’s book, The Shack, was a best-seller because it was well written, spoke to a specific audience and explored the theological idea that God, through Christ, continues to be connected to humanity.  His second book is just as well written, speaks to the same target audience but addresses the theological idea that, also through the work of Christ, God made community possible by the reconciliation of human beings to each other.  
    Anthony Spenser has it all – money, power, influence – and those things have brought him isolation, loneliness and paranoia.  When he has a stroke leading to the discovery of a brain tumor that lands him in the Neuro-ICU of Oregon Science & Health University, all he has ever counted as dependable, true and reliable is challenged.  When Tony “wakes up” after passing out due to the stroke, he finds himself in a land that was once beautiful but has fallen into disrepair.  He begins to walk, taking different paths by random choice, until he finds a walled area.  Although the enclosure is large, it has the feel of being uninhabited.  He is greeted by various welcoming individuals who seem to know a lot about him and his life.  These individuals reveal themselves to be: Jesus, a Lakota woman (who is the Holy Spirit) and “Jack.”  He soon learns that the walled enclosure is actually his soul and the isolation and “shabbiness” it shows is reflective of how he lived a life once so promising.  Because he is “in the between time” (he is in a coma, not dead but not living) he has the opportunity to “slide” into the minds of others.  Jesus promises him that he (Jesus) will heal one person he (Tony) prays for to be healed.  On this quest, he meets Cabby, a 16 y/o young man with Down’s Syndrome; Molly, Cabby’s mother; Lindsey, Cabby’s 14 y/o sister who is battling Leukemia and Maggie, housemate of these three.  The interactions with these folk are memorable, and his “introduction” to Maggie is one of the most hilarious moments I have read in a while.  Of course, through what he experiences, Tony’s world is changed and the resolution is satisfying while unconventional.
    There is no violence, sex or “adult” language in the book although the description of Tony’s injuries is graphic.  The book is filled with moments that will be points of contention among various Christian traditions and world views. To name but a few of these possible issues: Tony has not “accepted” Jesus before Jesus meets him and is already considered to be “family.”  The place of women in the Church is shown to be a political construct not a theological issue.  Humans are instruments of God for things of which they are unaware and accomplish things that will remain unknown until eternity is revealed.  God can do what God wants without permission or human understanding. God uses EVERYTHING that happens, even the “bad” stuff.  The questions raised by many of the situations in this novel would cause a reading group to become a hot bed of dynamic discussion.
    It is nice to read a good book dealing with a distinctly faithful world view.  I did not feel the book was preachy, nor was it heavy handed (even if I was in tears at the end of it).   The book was written from a Christian world-view but I felt it was more inclusive than I have come to expect from much of that genre.  
    I hope Mr. Young continues to write stories that cause his readers to consider where they stand.  It makes for an engaged read and keeps the readers attentive.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7