BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cross Roads

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the e

A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the eyes of a man who has suffered a loss and blames God and the entire world around him. He builds walls around himself to shut out relationships and feelings. The book helps us to discover what is really impo...
A great book. It inspires you to look at your life through the eyes of a man who has suffered a loss and blames God and the entire world around him. He builds walls around himself to shut out relationships and feelings. The book helps us to discover what is really important in life- ability to love and be loved, knowledge that we are never alone, that God is always with us, that god's help is always available only for the asking. You will want to read it again and again. Congratulations to Paul Young.

posted by InspiredJack on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Satan 666

Satan 666 demons live among us

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Cross Roads, Wm. Paul Young, (Faith Words, New York, 2012). Man

    Cross Roads, Wm. Paul Young, (Faith Words, New York, 2012).

    Many of us remember The Shack, a book that took the country by storm. Cross Roads is the second book by Paul Young. If you liked The Shack, you may like Cross Roads, too.

    Cross Roads is similar to Young’s previous work in that it records a man’s encounter with the God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. And, like The Shack God reveals himself in a number of different guises—all spark the reader’s imagination. The book stresses God’s love and grace rather than judgment and retribution. Forgiveness and healing are major themes in the developing relationship of the main character with the various persons of the Trinity.

    I thought the book was also similar to Pilgrims Progress, by John Bunyan. In Bunyan’s book the main character struggles through several adventures along the road to sanctification. In Young’s book the main character’s encounter with God sets him on a journey of self-revelation and salvation. The character is a thoroughly modern individual. The reader will recognize many if not all of the personal struggles and issues that the character encounters. These encounters can be both revealing and thought provoking for the reader.

    In The Shack, Young dealt mainly with the unique revelation of God and the relationship between the persons of the Trinity. Young broke the stereotypes of God and helped people see God in a new and fresh way. God was more approachable, less judgmental, more loving and gracious, and less removed and distant. The Shack cause many people to reflect on their understanding of God, and God’s activity in their lives and the world. Cross Roads deals with who God is and how God relates to us, but it focuses more on the personhood of the main character. I sometimes thought I was being allowed to observe a therapy session by a skilled mental health care professional. While this is important terrain to survey, I do not think Young’s second book is as profound as his first book was.

    Still, I recommend this book. It is a book that challenges us to think by presenting God, humankind, and the world, from an out-of-the-box perspective. Once again, we are gently invited to ponder the Trinity, our relationship to God, and God’s activity in our lives and in the world. This is certainly more than most books ask of the reader. Such reflection might not only bring with it fresh insights, but also a new, life changing perspective.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    It will make a believer out of you.

    This book is for the doubting Thomases of the world. I loved the way it was written. I read the Shack and found similar twists in Cross Roads.

    I would read another book by this author because I love the Lord and all that He represents. I love the way he weaves the story so that the reader could possibly become saved.

    I would recommend it for book club discussions, especially with a biblical scholar in attendance to give their prospective.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Heart Earming

    If you haveever faced the loss of xomeone so close to you that you did not want to let go of tis book wil heal a small part of that pain. You wll see them again and they know they are loved, loned for and most important loved and remembered!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Young┬┐s book, The Shack, was a best-seller because it was we

    Mr. Young’s book, The Shack, was a best-seller because it was well written, spoke to a specific audience and explored the theological idea that God, through Christ, continues to be connected to humanity.  His second book is just as well written, speaks to the same target audience but addresses the theological idea that, also through the work of Christ, God made community possible by the reconciliation of human beings to each other.  
    Anthony Spenser has it all – money, power, influence – and those things have brought him isolation, loneliness and paranoia.  When he has a stroke leading to the discovery of a brain tumor that lands him in the Neuro-ICU of Oregon Science & Health University, all he has ever counted as dependable, true and reliable is challenged.  When Tony “wakes up” after passing out due to the stroke, he finds himself in a land that was once beautiful but has fallen into disrepair.  He begins to walk, taking different paths by random choice, until he finds a walled area.  Although the enclosure is large, it has the feel of being uninhabited.  He is greeted by various welcoming individuals who seem to know a lot about him and his life.  These individuals reveal themselves to be: Jesus, a Lakota woman (who is the Holy Spirit) and “Jack.”  He soon learns that the walled enclosure is actually his soul and the isolation and “shabbiness” it shows is reflective of how he lived a life once so promising.  Because he is “in the between time” (he is in a coma, not dead but not living) he has the opportunity to “slide” into the minds of others.  Jesus promises him that he (Jesus) will heal one person he (Tony) prays for to be healed.  On this quest, he meets Cabby, a 16 y/o young man with Down’s Syndrome; Molly, Cabby’s mother; Lindsey, Cabby’s 14 y/o sister who is battling Leukemia and Maggie, housemate of these three.  The interactions with these folk are memorable, and his “introduction” to Maggie is one of the most hilarious moments I have read in a while.  Of course, through what he experiences, Tony’s world is changed and the resolution is satisfying while unconventional.
    There is no violence, sex or “adult” language in the book although the description of Tony’s injuries is graphic.  The book is filled with moments that will be points of contention among various Christian traditions and world views. To name but a few of these possible issues: Tony has not “accepted” Jesus before Jesus meets him and is already considered to be “family.”  The place of women in the Church is shown to be a political construct not a theological issue.  Humans are instruments of God for things of which they are unaware and accomplish things that will remain unknown until eternity is revealed.  God can do what God wants without permission or human understanding. God uses EVERYTHING that happens, even the “bad” stuff.  The questions raised by many of the situations in this novel would cause a reading group to become a hot bed of dynamic discussion.
    It is nice to read a good book dealing with a distinctly faithful world view.  I did not feel the book was preachy, nor was it heavy handed (even if I was in tears at the end of it).   The book was written from a Christian world-view but I felt it was more inclusive than I have come to expect from much of that genre.  
    I hope Mr. Young continues to write stories that cause his readers to consider where they stand.  It makes for an engaged read and keeps the readers attentive.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    This was a good read. I feel like I set my expectations really h

    This was a good read. I feel like I set my expectations really high because of how much I enjoyed The Shack. It is a pretty different storyline. It is still a good, thought-provoking, faith-based book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I haven't quite finished the book Cross Roads yet but I am more

    I haven't quite finished the book Cross Roads yet but I am more then halfway through the book. I really am enjoying the book! Once again (as in the first book the author wrote- The Shack) we find a man named Tony dealing with his anger with God. Tony has a medical crisis, is in a coma and meets God, Jesus and The Holy Spirit. Yes, this happens with a to the main character in the Author's first novel as well! However, Cross Roads has humor in it that, if you are like me and able to "see things very visually" in your mind you too will probably experience laugh out loud moments! Especially, as another poster pointed out, during a church scene! I highly recommend this book because even though it I has a God theme to it, it is about so much more and is never too preachy! I hope others will give this book a chance because I promise you, you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Overcoming

    I think this one is better that "The Shack" or I was prepared for the characters better. Can't say I ever thought of the Holy Spirit as an Indian Woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    A terrific follow-up to The Shack.

    William Paul Young is a gifted story teller who uses his ability to share the love and relationship of God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. This story is one that many may relate with and makes the journey interesting and worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    recommend it

    Very different. Mr. Young has a vivid imagination. A lt of twists and turns.

    Like "The Shack" some people will either love it of hate it. It requires the reader to think outside the box. We all have these rooms we don't want to expose to ourselves or acknowledge our real selves. Mr. Young reminds us of that in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I think the Shack was better but this is a decent book. It's a m

    I think the Shack was better but this is a decent book. It's a modern Christmas Carol theme with God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit instead of the ghost of Christmas past present and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    He's done it again!

    Fabulous book. Read it because you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book about God's love and how our protective walls can bec

    Great book about God's love and how our protective walls can become prisons without it. Paul Young has a compelling writing voice. Sun-dy I will I get to meet Jack in the  life-after. that will be a treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Excellent!

    This is another "think outside the box" book - as was The Shack. The story line is totally different, but from first page to last it was a good read! I recommend it highly to anyone that likes to "think outside the box" and who may want more from faith than just "religion". This book would make an excellent book club read with follow-up discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended

    This is not, "The Shack" but it does provide an inspirational lift with an interesting story as a background. I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2