Customer Reviews for

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Surpasses Expectations

I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife w...
I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife with intrigue, emotion, courage, suspense, and betrayal.

Everyone should read this series.

I love that every character is three-dimensional and nuanced. I love that I can see the story happening against a beautifully described backdrop. And I really love that the character arc for Elisa is once again full of subtle shifts, flaws, and moments of brilliance. Reading this book is like revisiting an old friend and finding her full of fascinating new stories.

The plot is layered and complex enough to keep the reader completely engaged. The relationships are complicated and compelling. And the struggle between faith and discovering your own strength is portrayed with balance.

I could just rave on and on about this book. It's incredible. It deserves a spot on my favorites shelf and will be a book that I will re-read many times. If you haven't tried this series, please do. It's a gem.

posted by C_Redwine on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sader girl

She cryed with joy her saders roared and palyed with jappiness

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Surpasses Expectations

    I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife with intrigue, emotion, courage, suspense, and betrayal.

    Everyone should read this series.

    I love that every character is three-dimensional and nuanced. I love that I can see the story happening against a beautifully described backdrop. And I really love that the character arc for Elisa is once again full of subtle shifts, flaws, and moments of brilliance. Reading this book is like revisiting an old friend and finding her full of fascinating new stories.

    The plot is layered and complex enough to keep the reader completely engaged. The relationships are complicated and compelling. And the struggle between faith and discovering your own strength is portrayed with balance.

    I could just rave on and on about this book. It's incredible. It deserves a spot on my favorites shelf and will be a book that I will re-read many times. If you haven't tried this series, please do. It's a gem.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Yes I'm biased BUT THIS BOOK IS AWESOME

    Disclaimer: I’m totally biased about this book and have been ever since I read the first draft, which was before I knew that it was dedicated to me. Also, I’m biased because I loved GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS – a strong young woman, a powerful voice, unexpected surprises, great adventure: what’s not to love?! – and this book is the sequel.

    But CROWN OF EMBERS takes all those things and makes them better. I love the way Elisa goes from discovering herself and her own power to deciding how to use it to accomplish bigger goals. I love the mixture of political intrigue and religion and hard moral choices. I love the way her relationship grows and develops with [SPOILER]. I love the fact that even though Elisa’s not perfect, she acts like an adult and has real adult relationships built on communication and mutual respect. I love the gritty, vivid descriptions that make you feel like you’re right in the action. I love the ACTION. Have I used the word “love” enough times yet, so that you understand that I LOVE this book?

    This is a great fantasy novel. I cannot recommend the series enthusiastically enough.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Love, love, LOVE!

    This book has to be one of my favorites. Heck it's probably ranks first. This had me screaming "NOOOOOOO!" at the end because I didn't want it to end. Rae Carson has done an amazing job again. Fall of 2013 can't come fast enough. Highly HIGHLY recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Sader girl

    She cryed with joy her saders roared and palyed with jappiness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    Great book.Its been a long time since i gave a 5star to a book but this deserves it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Love it

    I love thus series. I had a hard time putting it down. I wish there were four books instead of three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    amazing

    amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Great sequel

    the start of the series was a little slow but in this book the author of the series and the heroine definitely come into their own thoroughly enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    PRESENTING THE CORONATION OF PRINCESA MARIA

    Maria walks down the stairs and stands in feont of the throne. The chaplain walks up to her and gives her a kiss in bith of her cheeks. "Princesa Maria de Malcedonia. Do you swear to rule Malcedonia with no selfishness?" "I swear." "Do you swear to let each citizen have a choice, no matter what their rank of poverty is?" "I swear." "Do you swear to make the decision that you feel is best for the wellbeing of your kingdom?" "I swear." "Do you swear to be loyal and have a kind and merciful heart." "I swear." "Then by the power vested in me," he takes the tiara if my head," I hereby pronounce you," he takes the golden crown with rubies and pearls imbedded into it,"Queen Maria of Malcedonia." He places the crown on he head and she sits on the royal throne. She smiles and raises a staff. "I solemny swear all those that I am sworn to do and uphold. I promise to be the rightful queen you all so deserve." She says. Her royal subjects bow and the royal band plays "My wonderful Malcedonia"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Good bridge

    The first book of this series focused on Elisa kind of finding her place in the world and developing some confidence in herself....and second book expounded even more on this journey. Elisa is now on her own in a new country and in a position of power and she has to put to test her new found confidence in herself. The entire book is about her coming into her own and realizing that she is enough. That she did not have to cling to anyone or rely on anyone to be great and could be great on her own. Yes, she can have magic and power beyond anyone else ...but it is nothing if she doubts herself and is weak in spirit. Yes, someone can love her for who she is and good and bad....but it is not the be all and end all. And it does not have to determine her worth. Elisa removed all the things that were keeping here chained to that girl from the first book that had no self esteem and did as she was told or what was wanted of her without questions. She is starting to recognize the people in her life, that are toxic. That say they do things because they care about you....but these things always end up hurting you and only serving them. Ximena...though she thinks she is the heroine in this tale...represents all that Elisa is trying to leave behind...and I was happy to see her put her foot down there. Xemina was on my last nerve. And in the end how she just sold out Hector like that for her own selfish gain....? To keep her influence? She was too much


    I like the themes of this series. That in the end, it is not about who you have and what you have...but who you are and what you choose to do that makes you successful.

    And of course...I love the romance. :). Hector is lovely, and if I were in Elisa's show..I would not have wasted that much time getting on that. Seriously. I like that the romance was a slow build. That we see the characters slowly begin to become aware of each other and fall into each other. I don't like these love at first sight deep loves, where the tow meet and 2 second later they are declaring undying love and calling each other soul mates...because they are not realistic. I like to see it and believe it. This romance is realistic because we see it start and grow along with Elisa. But of course it being great means I have to suffer through the angst that is to come. really? The ending was too much. But at least in the end, we will get to see the heroine running to the rescue of here man. It's a nice twist. Hector as the damsel in distress is very amusing.

    I looked forward to the next book. I have heard good things only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    To E.P

    Hi!-FR19

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Warriors fans!!!!! Pls read!!

    Seriously? Rp on ur nook? Do u have any friends?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Another great book

    Very good sequel to Girl of fire & thorns. Good book for all ages, couldn't put down the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Lo

    Wonderful series. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To all clans-

    You cat/clan people- GO SOMEWHERE ELSE TO CHAT!!!! SOME OF US ACTUALLY WANT TO READ REVIEWS ABOUT THE BOOK!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    very exciting!

    Carries the story on with suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Crown of Em

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson
    Book Two of the Fire and Thorns series
    Publisher: Greenwillow Books
    Publication Date: September 18, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: ARC sent by the publisher

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    In the sequel to the acclaimed The Girl of Fire and Thorns, a seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

    Elisa is the hero of her country. She led her people to victory against a terrifying enemy, and now she is their queen. But she is only seventeen years old. Her rivals may have simply retreated, choosing stealth over battle. And no one within her court trusts her-except Hector, the commander of the royal guard, and her companions. As the country begins to crumble beneath her and her enemies emerge from the shadows, Elisa will take another journey. With a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa crosses the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. That is not all she finds. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume in the Fire and Thorns trilogy.


    What I Liked:

    I am ACTUALLY kicking myself for not reading it sooner. I got an ARC last summer, thanks to Epic Reads, and I never took the opportunity to read this one. To be honest, I am definitely scared of sequels - more scared of sequels than I am scared of conclusion books. And the other deterrent? I read The Girl of Fire and Thorns years ago. I literally remember NOTHING from book one, except the deaths of Humberto and Elisa's husband. When I cracked book two, a few things started to come back... but I especially didn't remember Hector being so, um, prominent in book one.

    Anyway. I really liked this book! I believe that when I read book one, I liked it, but I couldn't really see how the series would work out, and how the romance would work out. But this book is an EXCELLENT sequel, and in my opinion, takes the series in a much different path than I expected. In a good way!

    To sum it all up in a really concise way, Elisa needs to find the all-encompassing source of power that will fuel her Godstone, making her and the Godstone crazy awesome and possibly invincible (or something). She and her suitor Tristan, and her not-so-much-appreciated "friend" Belen, and Hector, and other friends of Elisa help her travel to find this mythical source of power. But I'm getting ahead of myself. That's the second half of the book.

    The first half of the book deals with Elisa and her new role as queen. Her husband is dead, and she is left with a riotous kingdom, a little crown prince, and a mess, really just one big mess. There is an assassination attempt on her life, which slows her, and there are times when she needs to show her power and stand as queen. Those scenes are heartbreaking - especially the poison/kitchen scene.

    I think that Carson does a great job of showing growth in Elisa. I remember what Elisa was like in book one (and I didn't really like her, which is one of the reasons why I didn't care to remember the book), but I think from book one to book two, Elisa has developed substantially. I love the new Elisa - she is decisive even when she is unsure, she is willing and determined even when she has opposition. 

    The plot of this book is, as I said before, divided into two sections: the kingdom, and the journey to the zafira (the source of power). There are new characters in this book - plenty - such as Mara (I don't remember her being in book one. She wasn't - right? I know she has her own novella), Storm (loveeee him), and Tristan (he's cool). And the Quorum members. I don't like the Quorum. But neither does Elisa.

    The romance. Okay, to be completely honest, I found the "romance" in book one, with Alejandro, and Humberto, really, really unsatisfying and unbelievable and trivial. I expected better of Elisa, and of Carson, and that was one of the reasons why I was disappointed and nonchalant about book one - because the romance was blah. And both of those men die at the end of book one. 

    So, the romance in this book? I didn't see it coming. If I hadn't read the end of this book (oops...) before reading the whole book, I would have been completely thrown. Heck, I WAS completely thrown, when I peeked at the ending! But I loved the romance! Hector is... dreamy. And seriously the BEST male protagonist and love interest that I have encountered in a really long time. He is seriously a good guy. Like, a good guy, with very little issues and crappy pasts and problems and everything. He's honorable and selfless and he genuinely cares about Elisa. And she cares about him!

    The ending: I WILL NOT SPOIL IT, but, WHY DO AUTHORS ALWAYS DO THIS IN THE SEQUEL!? In trilogies, I've noticed that authors will have a great first book, and then a crazy, series-changing sequel with an insane, heartbreaking ending, and then a crazy conclusion that is full of bloodshed or the equivalent of a ton of wars and violence overcome.

    WELL. I'm so glad that I didn't have to wait to read The Bitter Kingdom. I've had that one since early winter 2013 - I just needed to read this one to read book three. And I already have (tomorrow's review), so be ready for that!


    What I Did Not Like:

    There isn't much that I didn't like about this book. I wanted a tad bit more from the romance, but what Elisa decides in the end (the very end) is good enough for me. AND, I already read book three, so I can't complain. UGH, focusing on book two here. It's hard because I read this book a few weeks ago, and I'm typing my review way after reading the book.

    Anyway. The ending is also extremely heartbreaking and unexpected and it totally crept up on me! Remember how I said I peeked at the end? Well, after reading the ENTIRE ending, I was like, what?! Stupid Ximena. I never really liked her. But she's a good person. Sort of.

    I just did LOVE this book, like I LOVED book three. Funny, because they both got the same rating though.


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! This book does not fall victim to the sequel slump or sophomore slump or whatever it's called. I had no reason to be afraid of reading this sequel. *kicks self*


    Rating:

    4 stars. If you haven't started this series, you should! And if you're like me, and couldn't remember book one, don't worry! You'll be fine! And if you didn't like book one... keep reading. I promise it gets better. And BETTER ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Jordan to Bramblekit

    *Punt kicks you into a tree.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    HELP

    I am my name is Silverfur

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    ????

    The black she-cat looked surprised, then scrambled to her feet, bolting out of the camp. The young white she-cat padded over to her rescuer ((sorry can't read headlines!)). "Thank you very much. I owe this Clan my life." She dipped her head.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8