Customer Reviews for

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Surpasses Expectations

I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife w...
I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife with intrigue, emotion, courage, suspense, and betrayal.

Everyone should read this series.

I love that every character is three-dimensional and nuanced. I love that I can see the story happening against a beautifully described backdrop. And I really love that the character arc for Elisa is once again full of subtle shifts, flaws, and moments of brilliance. Reading this book is like revisiting an old friend and finding her full of fascinating new stories.

The plot is layered and complex enough to keep the reader completely engaged. The relationships are complicated and compelling. And the struggle between faith and discovering your own strength is portrayed with balance.

I could just rave on and on about this book. It's incredible. It deserves a spot on my favorites shelf and will be a book that I will re-read many times. If you haven't tried this series, please do. It's a gem.

posted by C_Redwine on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sader girl

She cryed with joy her saders roared and palyed with jappiness

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Sader girl

    She cryed with joy her saders roared and palyed with jappiness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Good bridge

    The first book of this series focused on Elisa kind of finding her place in the world and developing some confidence in herself....and second book expounded even more on this journey. Elisa is now on her own in a new country and in a position of power and she has to put to test her new found confidence in herself. The entire book is about her coming into her own and realizing that she is enough. That she did not have to cling to anyone or rely on anyone to be great and could be great on her own. Yes, she can have magic and power beyond anyone else ...but it is nothing if she doubts herself and is weak in spirit. Yes, someone can love her for who she is and good and bad....but it is not the be all and end all. And it does not have to determine her worth. Elisa removed all the things that were keeping here chained to that girl from the first book that had no self esteem and did as she was told or what was wanted of her without questions. She is starting to recognize the people in her life, that are toxic. That say they do things because they care about you....but these things always end up hurting you and only serving them. Ximena...though she thinks she is the heroine in this tale...represents all that Elisa is trying to leave behind...and I was happy to see her put her foot down there. Xemina was on my last nerve. And in the end how she just sold out Hector like that for her own selfish gain....? To keep her influence? She was too much


    I like the themes of this series. That in the end, it is not about who you have and what you have...but who you are and what you choose to do that makes you successful.

    And of course...I love the romance. :). Hector is lovely, and if I were in Elisa's show..I would not have wasted that much time getting on that. Seriously. I like that the romance was a slow build. That we see the characters slowly begin to become aware of each other and fall into each other. I don't like these love at first sight deep loves, where the tow meet and 2 second later they are declaring undying love and calling each other soul mates...because they are not realistic. I like to see it and believe it. This romance is realistic because we see it start and grow along with Elisa. But of course it being great means I have to suffer through the angst that is to come. really? The ending was too much. But at least in the end, we will get to see the heroine running to the rescue of here man. It's a nice twist. Hector as the damsel in distress is very amusing.

    I looked forward to the next book. I have heard good things only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    HELP

    I am my name is Silverfur

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Bramblekit

    He laid down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Lionfire to Swiftleg

    Only the nursery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Tigerkit

    Burrgleam? Are you crimsonfeet? Or pantherfoot. I cant remember.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Tanglepaw

    She shrugged and padded there, her fish tail swaying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Timewink and Brakenlight to all

    (( Goodbye everyone. I am so so sorry this is happening so fast, but I have decided to quit Nook roleplay. Kestrelmoon, I want you to know Timewink has liked you ever scince he met you. I will miss you all, especially Soaringpaw, Creamwillow, Dawnwillow, Kestrelmoon, MysticSun, Ashstar, Longpaw, and Spiritpaw. Mabybe someday I will return and rp again here, but for now, may Starclan light this clan's path. )) &#9827~T!me&omega!n&kappa~&#9827 and ~Dawnlight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Rae Carson delivers in a great follow up to The Girl of Fire and

    Rae Carson delivers in a great follow up to The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I can't wait for the conclusion in book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1