Customer Reviews for

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Surpasses Expectations

I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife w...
I devoured this book in a single day because I couldn't make myself slow down. I had high hopes going into it because I really loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I'm happy to say that Crown of Embers surpassed my expectations. This is a fully realized fantasy rife with intrigue, emotion, courage, suspense, and betrayal.

Everyone should read this series.

I love that every character is three-dimensional and nuanced. I love that I can see the story happening against a beautifully described backdrop. And I really love that the character arc for Elisa is once again full of subtle shifts, flaws, and moments of brilliance. Reading this book is like revisiting an old friend and finding her full of fascinating new stories.

The plot is layered and complex enough to keep the reader completely engaged. The relationships are complicated and compelling. And the struggle between faith and discovering your own strength is portrayed with balance.

I could just rave on and on about this book. It's incredible. It deserves a spot on my favorites shelf and will be a book that I will re-read many times. If you haven't tried this series, please do. It's a gem.

posted by C_Redwine on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sader girl

She cryed with joy her saders roared and palyed with jappiness

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Love this book

    This book was amazing. I read it in one day, and couldn't put it down. To anyone who hasn't read this book, I pity you.
    Even if you don't love high fantasy, you should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Great sequel

    the start of the series was a little slow but in this book the author of the series and the heroine definitely come into their own thoroughly enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Lo

    Wonderful series. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Crown of Em

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson
    Book Two of the Fire and Thorns series
    Publisher: Greenwillow Books
    Publication Date: September 18, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: ARC sent by the publisher

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    In the sequel to the acclaimed The Girl of Fire and Thorns, a seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

    Elisa is the hero of her country. She led her people to victory against a terrifying enemy, and now she is their queen. But she is only seventeen years old. Her rivals may have simply retreated, choosing stealth over battle. And no one within her court trusts her-except Hector, the commander of the royal guard, and her companions. As the country begins to crumble beneath her and her enemies emerge from the shadows, Elisa will take another journey. With a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa crosses the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. That is not all she finds. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume in the Fire and Thorns trilogy.


    What I Liked:

    I am ACTUALLY kicking myself for not reading it sooner. I got an ARC last summer, thanks to Epic Reads, and I never took the opportunity to read this one. To be honest, I am definitely scared of sequels - more scared of sequels than I am scared of conclusion books. And the other deterrent? I read The Girl of Fire and Thorns years ago. I literally remember NOTHING from book one, except the deaths of Humberto and Elisa's husband. When I cracked book two, a few things started to come back... but I especially didn't remember Hector being so, um, prominent in book one.

    Anyway. I really liked this book! I believe that when I read book one, I liked it, but I couldn't really see how the series would work out, and how the romance would work out. But this book is an EXCELLENT sequel, and in my opinion, takes the series in a much different path than I expected. In a good way!

    To sum it all up in a really concise way, Elisa needs to find the all-encompassing source of power that will fuel her Godstone, making her and the Godstone crazy awesome and possibly invincible (or something). She and her suitor Tristan, and her not-so-much-appreciated "friend" Belen, and Hector, and other friends of Elisa help her travel to find this mythical source of power. But I'm getting ahead of myself. That's the second half of the book.

    The first half of the book deals with Elisa and her new role as queen. Her husband is dead, and she is left with a riotous kingdom, a little crown prince, and a mess, really just one big mess. There is an assassination attempt on her life, which slows her, and there are times when she needs to show her power and stand as queen. Those scenes are heartbreaking - especially the poison/kitchen scene.

    I think that Carson does a great job of showing growth in Elisa. I remember what Elisa was like in book one (and I didn't really like her, which is one of the reasons why I didn't care to remember the book), but I think from book one to book two, Elisa has developed substantially. I love the new Elisa - she is decisive even when she is unsure, she is willing and determined even when she has opposition. 

    The plot of this book is, as I said before, divided into two sections: the kingdom, and the journey to the zafira (the source of power). There are new characters in this book - plenty - such as Mara (I don't remember her being in book one. She wasn't - right? I know she has her own novella), Storm (loveeee him), and Tristan (he's cool). And the Quorum members. I don't like the Quorum. But neither does Elisa.

    The romance. Okay, to be completely honest, I found the "romance" in book one, with Alejandro, and Humberto, really, really unsatisfying and unbelievable and trivial. I expected better of Elisa, and of Carson, and that was one of the reasons why I was disappointed and nonchalant about book one - because the romance was blah. And both of those men die at the end of book one. 

    So, the romance in this book? I didn't see it coming. If I hadn't read the end of this book (oops...) before reading the whole book, I would have been completely thrown. Heck, I WAS completely thrown, when I peeked at the ending! But I loved the romance! Hector is... dreamy. And seriously the BEST male protagonist and love interest that I have encountered in a really long time. He is seriously a good guy. Like, a good guy, with very little issues and crappy pasts and problems and everything. He's honorable and selfless and he genuinely cares about Elisa. And she cares about him!

    The ending: I WILL NOT SPOIL IT, but, WHY DO AUTHORS ALWAYS DO THIS IN THE SEQUEL!? In trilogies, I've noticed that authors will have a great first book, and then a crazy, series-changing sequel with an insane, heartbreaking ending, and then a crazy conclusion that is full of bloodshed or the equivalent of a ton of wars and violence overcome.

    WELL. I'm so glad that I didn't have to wait to read The Bitter Kingdom. I've had that one since early winter 2013 - I just needed to read this one to read book three. And I already have (tomorrow's review), so be ready for that!


    What I Did Not Like:

    There isn't much that I didn't like about this book. I wanted a tad bit more from the romance, but what Elisa decides in the end (the very end) is good enough for me. AND, I already read book three, so I can't complain. UGH, focusing on book two here. It's hard because I read this book a few weeks ago, and I'm typing my review way after reading the book.

    Anyway. The ending is also extremely heartbreaking and unexpected and it totally crept up on me! Remember how I said I peeked at the end? Well, after reading the ENTIRE ending, I was like, what?! Stupid Ximena. I never really liked her. But she's a good person. Sort of.

    I just did LOVE this book, like I LOVED book three. Funny, because they both got the same rating though.


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! This book does not fall victim to the sequel slump or sophomore slump or whatever it's called. I had no reason to be afraid of reading this sequel. *kicks self*


    Rating:

    4 stars. If you haven't started this series, you should! And if you're like me, and couldn't remember book one, don't worry! You'll be fine! And if you didn't like book one... keep reading. I promise it gets better. And BETTER ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Nova

    She hissed and twisted away. ((Gtg))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    To Shatteredkit -&- Spottedcloud

    T.T Why chu leave Sunclan-Mosscliff)) Her fur glinted, her sunset orange gaze glittered softly. "May i join?" Cloudscar and Sharpsoul sighed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved the second half of The Girl of Fire and Thorns. T

    I really loved the second half of The Girl of Fire and Thorns. The problem was getting to that second half.

    See, a lot of Elisa's character development has to do with how she views herself and her own weight. In the beginning of the book, she views herself as a useless lump of lard. Literally. In the first eleven chapters, she out-rightly refers to her weight - "I'm a sausage, I'm fat" - 18 times. This isn't including the numerous mentions of eating, of other character's thinness, and of other characters calling her out on her weight. Carson hit us over the head repeatedly with it, and I wish she had lessened that blow a little, because the second half would have been as good without it. Between that and a Godstone located where you would normally find belly button lint, I had a hard time getting through to the second half of the book.

    But the second half was great. Fantastic. Took Elisa's weaknesses and made them strengths; let her develop and learn and become strong in her own right, and I loved that. There were scenes where I basically fist-pumped the air because of how pleased I was by her development.

    But the problem was still getting there.

    If you're willing to wade through the thick and heavy-hitting first third of the book, I highly recommend A Girl of Fire and Thorns - but if you have little patience, it's not the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Snowhawk

    I am locked out of te main camp and who is dep i agree with wolfpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    Hooked on another series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great , book. You need to read book one first in order to know the characters.

    I am really enjoying this book. It has a touch of romance and the characters are strong .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great, but didn't feel like a whole book

    This is a perfect continuation of Elisa's story and has all of the same great elements of romance and danger that made the first book so readable. The heroine is a new type of character for the fantasy genre, a nice change of pace from the norm. Unfortunately, the ending is so abrupt, even though a whole tale is told, it feels unfinished. I know cliffhangers sell more sequels, but I still hate them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great books

    I really liked these books actually and i find myself dying to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great sequal

    Can't wait for the adventure and story to continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2