Customer Reviews for

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(174)

2 Star

(101)

1 Star

(130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

212 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

Who Done Wrote It? I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the h

Who Done Wrote It?

I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the hype and truthfully, I found it to be enjoyable and have an enticing mystery. But
I never would have guessed Rowlings had written it because it is such a different style than her Harry Potter series. in fac...
Who Done Wrote It?

I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the hype and truthfully, I found it to be enjoyable and have an enticing mystery. But
I never would have guessed Rowlings had written it because it is such a different style than her Harry Potter series. in fact
I was under the impression for a split second she was behind the Holy Ghost Writer books, especially after reading The Boy
Who Played with Dark Matter.

Anyway, it starts off as any classic crime noir book, with a down on his luck, (who wouldn't be after losing a limb) P.I. not
getting much work and then in walks a client that wants to know the truth behind his supermodel sisters death. Funny enough I
just watched another film noir act on Warehouse 13, which was no where near this caliber, such a mediocre show.

Back on task, also along comes Robin who is an assistant that he had requested before everything went to pot. She is
everything that embody's a P.I. and really helps get Cormoran back in the game. They then delve into the world of Supermodels
and the rich and famous, digging into every nook and cranny to find out whodunnit.

You will be enthralled from the get go and enjoy the subtle humor. Also another strong point is there is no forced sexual
tension between the two, like you see in so many other books, ie. crap like fifty shades of grey. Impressive first debut was
what I thought when I was done reading. Now I think it is even more impressive, not the writing or story, but the fact that
she was able to keep it a secret for so long. Makes me continue to wonder about the Holy ghost Writer. Probably another
famous face hiding behind a mask to embarrassed over the writing to come out of hiding. Heck, could be another Rowling's pen
name, maybe this one is just the tip of the iceberg. Global warming could cool the iceberg off and show more.

Alas I am done going off track, read it, enjoy it and just forget the name. Heck, maybe we readers should make up fake names
while reading. I'll be Jack Bauer. Taken? Crap! Or is that Damn it!

posted by Mediabuff54 on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 172 people found this review helpful.

This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for c

This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for children. Too man F words on every other page . It starts out with promise then goes to Dragnet and drags on and on. By the middle I didn't care who dunnit and peeked to the end and it was not a surprise o...
This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for children. Too man F words on every other page . It starts out with promise then goes to Dragnet and drags on and on. By the middle I didn't care who dunnit and peeked to the end and it was not a surprise or very interesting. JK you can do better than this!

posted by luluTN on July 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Not worth the money.

    I was not impressed with this book. I purchased it because of the great reviews it had gotten. JK Rowling did a much better with her Harry Potter books. This is her second attempt at writing an adult book. Not impressed with either of them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Disappointed in this one

    I expected great storytelling and got boring details in this best seller. I would have stopped without finishing it, but it cost so much I was determined to read it. The second half was better than the first, but it wasn't worth the hype or the money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I am trying to get through this book, I'm about halfway through

    I am trying to get through this book, I'm about halfway through so far, but it is so incredibly boring that I have to force myself to read it (which is rare for me, usually I can't put a book down). I still can't figure out how it has received so many good reviews, the only thing I can think of is that the majority of the people who've read this book are not really readers of murder mystery/crime books but instead are readers of sci fi books who read the Harry Potter series so they decided to branch out and read this book because it was written by the same author. I never read any of the Harry Potter books because I don't like sci fi books, I always read murder mystery/crime books, I've read thousands of books from this genre by numerous different authors, and from my point of view The Cuckoo's Calling is an extemely boring murder mystery/crime book! It is so slow, it revolves mainly around one character and draws in the other characters very little. The reason I love murder mystery/crime books so much is that they draw you into the mystery and you're constantly thinking about who committed the crime, the motive and how they did it, and you can't put the book down until the mystery is solved and exposed. This book does nothing to draw you in. Fifty pages could pass by before there's even a slight bit of information revealed that makes you think about who may've killed Lula and why, or even if she was really murdered.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Descriptive Writing

    Rowling sure did write descriptive in this book. I think it could have been done in 300 pages instead of 550. It has a lot of characters, so if you don't like to keep track of persons, than you'll have a hard time reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Boring, so far . . .

    I'm only halfway through, but it's a bit slow so far. I keep reading, waiting for something to move a bit faster or become a little more interesting. The characters are boring and dull. Our daughter and grandsons enjoyed Harry Potter's books and movies, so, after reading previous reviews, I thought this might be interesting. But, unless something happens soon, I wouldn't purchase any other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    It's amazing what a difference a name makes. Same book, same sto

    It's amazing what a difference a name makes. Same book, same story, unknown author, dismal sales. Now that it's a J.K. Rowling book, suddenly people are interested. 

    1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    This is a pretty good book. Strory okay too. Felt drawn out.

    This is a pretty good book. Strory okay too. Felt drawn out. But okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Ok

    I really enjoyed the Harry Potter books but this one was not as good. There was no need for the huge amount of bad language. This book DID get better around the middle of it if you can just keep on reading! I guess that is why this author did not use her real name???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Better Fantasy writer than mystery writer. Plot plods along, but

    Better Fantasy writer than mystery writer. Plot plods along, but does pickup at end, if you can get that far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Borrowed and glad

    Very poor ploting and tries too hard to be with it and ends up with so many unpleasant people with bad language that cant think what got into her. With a touch of a squib detective who sometime seeking aid from a non muggle would have made an adult new almost a potter series but her imagination has failed and its too bad nothing too overt but very subtle could have fused two genre mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    As I was reading this novel, I couldn¿t help but think of Who Fr

    As I was reading this novel, I couldn’t help but think of Who Framed Roger Rabbit. In my mind, Cormoran Strike is Eddie Valiant (i.e. Bob Hoskins), living in his office, drinking his life away, and not doing very much of anything. But here’s the thing: I didn’t like Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and I didn’t care for The Cuckoo’s Calling much, either. For one thing, the novel is extremely long (500 pages long), and not much happened to keep my interest.

    Strike has no money and no place to live, so he’s staying at his office. He hires a temp secretary who really likes the job and decides stays a while, even though she might not get paid much (this is a side story that, in my mind, really had nothing to do with anything). A model throws herself from her balcony, and her brother hires Strike to investigate. What ensues is an investigation that is long, long, long, without much of anything happening. Strike interviews many people—some who are suspects, and some who aren’t—but no one seems to know what really happened, and the police want to close the case. Yep. That’s about it.

    I just wasn’t interested throughout much of the novel, which is a shame because I absolutely adored the Harry Potter Series. However, this adult fiction novel just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t care about any of the characters, especially the model who died; her hang-ups and “whoa is me” attitude about being adopted actually put a very bad taste in my mouth, mainly because I’m adopted and I’m so tired of people making adoption out to be such a terrible thing. It’s not, yet books and movies continue to depict it as a crushing “event” that will ruin the child’s psyche and make him/her dysfunctional in the world, and I have to disagree. Adoption doesn’t do that. Bad parenting does, as is evidenced by her crazy adoptive parents. Where was the screening process here?

    But, I will hold my rant. All in all, this novel just wasn’t all that interesting. But neither was Who Framed Roger Rabbit… so, different strokes for different folks. I’m thinking that if you enjoyed that movie, you may like this novel; it’s just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Very long build up....the surprise not big enough

    I feel it took forever to lay the foundation of the story. Every character seemed overly and, in too much detail, presented. By the time the story got going, I was ready to be done but was already in too deep so might as well finish. When I felt it stsrted getting exciting, it was done. I wish the end had more spring to it. Instead, it just fizzled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This is my first review ever. I am an avid reader and serious my

    This is my first review ever. I am an avid reader and serious mystery buff. It was so obvious who the murderer was, but I kept telling myself - it can't be. Who would deliver clues in such a shotty manner AND who would use that character as a murderer? It felt like an amateur move for a seasoned writer. It was very difficult to keep reading - but kept anticipating this really great unexpected ending. The book is still introducing characters three quarters of the way through the book and spent way too much time providing information about many characters that was just not pertinent to the story line. This style works when you are creating a new imaginary world in a reader's mind - but not so much in modern day real life. I enjoy her sentence structures and how she puts words together - but would prefer that she reign herself in on the background information AND have a GOOD STORY before she delivers her next book. I do not recommend reading this book - the only book I've read in a long time that I can say that about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    This ain't Harry Potter. For those of you who may have such expe

    This ain't Harry Potter. For those of you who may have such expectations looming in the back of your mind, even as you recognize that J.K. Rowling wrote it under a pseudonym, and that it's a mystery, and that it involves a war veteran PI, and that there are no wizards or classrooms or dragons or Quidditch matches or He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named...yeah, you have to set those expectations aside. Otherwise, your disappointment level will spike off the charts, and you'll toss your Kindle or hardcover edition through an open window, never to be seen or heard from again.

    Robert Galbraith certainly has chops in the mystery writing universe, even if his first effort falls a bit short. The stuttering formality turned me off from the beginning, and carried through all the way to the end, even if the stick might have been removed from the buttocks for brief periods of time, the majority of which revolved around enthusiastic sidekick Robin. Formal dialogue splattered with dashes filled the pages, and an overemphasis with the ellipsis further helped separate me from the tale, and was closely followed by characters who liked to overstate and expound upon points a little too forcefully, pounding the corpse repeatedly after the last breath had already expired from the body.

    Other than Robin, formal, stilted characters seemed to plaster the pages, many of whom felt dry cleaned, instead of going through the normal rinse cycle. The plot plodded along at a slow, steady pace, and proved slow to develop despite the dashing dead body early on. The ending of THE CUCKOO'S CALLING would have been aided by the liberal use of the delete key, and like the rest of the tale, was a bit long on atmosphere and extraneous information. While the premise proved strong and inviting, the story didn't quite live up to its enticing origins.

    On a related note, it's probably good my NetGalley request wasn't approved for this novel, even though I could have blown the whistle on her pseudonym a full two months before the official slip. Mulholland Books is probably patting themselves on the back, as they dodged that bullet and my less than favorable review, even if it was only a temporary respite.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    This book was such a slow boring read due to the unnecessary det

    This book was such a slow boring read due to the unnecessary detail included on almost every page. Forced myself to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    The story moved very slowly.  I had to make myself push on.  The

    The story moved very slowly.  I had to make myself push on.  The last one third of the book was more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Boring!

    I wasn't able to finish this book unfortunately. I found it very slow and not very interesting. Sorry, this wasn't a favorite with me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    It was ok

    Barely kept my interest in the beginning and almost stopped reading the book altogether but did finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Slow & Disappointing!

    It was a very slow book, with little real action. As a fan of J.K Rowling's "Harry Potter" series, I am thoroughly disappointed, and hope she goes back to writing fantasy novels. J.K Rowling, hear me out! I am a teenager who loved your stories as a young kid, but now.... I cannot say I do. This type of genre for you is fairly difficult, as I can see. You are a wonderful author, Ms. Rowling! Please continue with children and adult's fantasy literature!<p>
    I rate this story: &star &star<p>
    Love &hearts,<p>
    XY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Boring

    Poorly developed supporting characters made me wanting more with every page. I couldnt even force myself to finish it. Dont do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6