Customer Reviews for

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(554)

4 Star

(277)

3 Star

(199)

2 Star

(110)

1 Star

(146)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

219 out of 252 people found this review helpful.

Who Done Wrote It? I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the h

Who Done Wrote It?

I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the hype and truthfully, I found it to be enjoyable and have an enticing mystery. But
I never would have guessed Rowlings had written it because it is such a different style than her Harry Potter series. in fac...
Who Done Wrote It?

I read The Cuckoo's Calling before all the hype and truthfully, I found it to be enjoyable and have an enticing mystery. But
I never would have guessed Rowlings had written it because it is such a different style than her Harry Potter series. in fact
I was under the impression for a split second she was behind the Holy Ghost Writer books, especially after reading The Boy
Who Played with Dark Matter.

Anyway, it starts off as any classic crime noir book, with a down on his luck, (who wouldn't be after losing a limb) P.I. not
getting much work and then in walks a client that wants to know the truth behind his supermodel sisters death. Funny enough I
just watched another film noir act on Warehouse 13, which was no where near this caliber, such a mediocre show.

Back on task, also along comes Robin who is an assistant that he had requested before everything went to pot. She is
everything that embody's a P.I. and really helps get Cormoran back in the game. They then delve into the world of Supermodels
and the rich and famous, digging into every nook and cranny to find out whodunnit.

You will be enthralled from the get go and enjoy the subtle humor. Also another strong point is there is no forced sexual
tension between the two, like you see in so many other books, ie. crap like fifty shades of grey. Impressive first debut was
what I thought when I was done reading. Now I think it is even more impressive, not the writing or story, but the fact that
she was able to keep it a secret for so long. Makes me continue to wonder about the Holy ghost Writer. Probably another
famous face hiding behind a mask to embarrassed over the writing to come out of hiding. Heck, could be another Rowling's pen
name, maybe this one is just the tip of the iceberg. Global warming could cool the iceberg off and show more.

Alas I am done going off track, read it, enjoy it and just forget the name. Heck, maybe we readers should make up fake names
while reading. I'll be Jack Bauer. Taken? Crap! Or is that Damn it!

posted by Mediabuff54 on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for c

This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for children. Too man F words on every other page . It starts out with promise then goes to Dragnet and drags on and on. By the middle I didn't care who dunnit and peeked to the end and it was not a surprise o...
This was very disappointing and definitely not recommended for children. Too man F words on every other page . It starts out with promise then goes to Dragnet and drags on and on. By the middle I didn't care who dunnit and peeked to the end and it was not a surprise or very interesting. JK you can do better than this!

posted by luluTN on July 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    JK Rowling is the real author

    She revealed she wrote it recently .

    5 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    The author is really JK Rowling.

    The author is really JK Rowling.

    5 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    It's a page turner!

    Ms. Rowling,

    Please make The Cuckoo's Calling the first in a series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read The Cuckoo's Calling. It was a page turner. It kept you g

    I read The Cuckoo's Calling. It was a page turner. It kept you glued to the pages. The characters seemed 
    to come alive. I hope Jk Rowling continues to write more mysteries in the near future. My only issue was
    the use of the f word throughout the book. I am quite sure their must have been a reason for that. It didn't 
    take anything away from the story. I hope other readers will enjoy the book as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Writing Is Rowling┬┐s Calling

    First, I read that J. K. Rowling was angry that Robert Galbraith was revealed to be her. I couldn’t be happier about the revelation! Mystery is a genre that I don’t normally read, and if I hadn’t known Rowling was the author of this book, then I wouldn’t have even considered reading it.

    Second, like The Casual Vacancy (which I did not read myself, but am going by reader reviews), this is most definitely an adult book with some adult situations, and liberal foul language. This is NOT for younger Harry Potter fans thinking they’d find something similar, and parents of such Potter fans need to be warned to use discretion about what their kids read. But if you’re an adult, and you aren’t a fan of Harry Potter, plus you don’t find foul language offensive, I recommend you give this book a try!

    A supermodel apparently commits suicide, but her stepbrother, who believes his stepsister was murdered, hires private detective Strike to hunt for an alleged killer. Strike gets lucky with temporary assistant Robin, as he relies on her efficiency & ingenuity plus his own impressive intelligence to try to piece together a complicated puzzle. Can you fit the pieces together? Rowling spins a tale that is very riveting & brilliant! Although I was lost with some of the British slang, the characterizations were outstanding. I’m already looking forward to the next mystery by Rowling (aka Galbraith).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoy a good mystery, especially in the mystery-noir tr

    I really enjoy a good mystery, especially in the mystery-noir tradition of Dashiell Hammett or Raymond Chandler; the classic hardboiled detective and his erudite, trusty secretary. This approaches the style, but with a little fluffy attempt at levity. I'm not surprised that Rowling was "outed" as the author in order to lead the more timid readers to this book. I would have given it a 5 star effort for character development if J. K. had pulled up her big girl panties and owned up to it originally. It was not a stay up all night to finish kind of mystery, but it has potential to lead into a sequel. Its good, but not brilliant and a seasoned mystery reader will probably be way ahead of the ending. I didn't find the adult language obtrusive, but its not for the under 12 reader of the HP series. Yes, I'm old and have had to adjust to the rough language, but that's modern life and kids probably hear more of it than we want to know, including in the YA genre, which this book is not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Hagrid Goes Detective.

    Hagrid Goes Detective. While this novel does have its issues, I am awfully glad Rowling seems to have found some footing as an 'adult' author. 'Harry Potter' is probably my favorite series of all time, and some of my favorite books, period. I have read them all endlessly and will continue to do so. I was under no illusions about 'Casual Vacancy' and was excited she was writing for adults--but I truly loathed the novel. Ugh. So I jumped in here with great trepidation: if you are like me, then I can say this--read this book. A hard-boiled detective thriller with some humor, a truly unique main character in Strike, a charming sidekick in his 'Girl Friday,' Robin, a twisty mystery centered in the world of social media and celebrity--this tale skims along in an engrossing way Rowling fans will appreciate--and which 'Casual Vacancy' absolutely did not. There are even some subtle nods to our boy Harry in here: namely Strike's large, lumbering and very hairy person who sounds an awful lot like our beloved gamekeeper. Rowling's signature play on names pops up ('Lula Landry' sounds like the name of a Hogwarts student), and for those of you who remember the despicable Professor Umbridge's tacky kitten obsession: pay attention to Strike's mail. All that being said, however, anyone who thinks Rowling is still writing for a YA audience MUST get over it. This is very adult just as 'Casual Vacancy' was--but not quite to the same extreme. There are LOTS of four letter words; characters make prolific use of the 'f-word' and while I have no problem with language and realize she was trying to establish character, I still think the excessive use of the word is over the top here. I also wish Rowling's continual attention to grossness in her adult books would stop: details of bodily functions and gross lack of personal hygiene just aren't that necessary and there is plenty of that here. As for story, a great deal of the novel is overly 'talky' and not action; tons of pages are just Strike interviewing witnesses and details of the case. Some definite editing would have helped some places that tend to drag. The resolution has flashes of brilliance but IS convoluted: a reread of the last few chapters or some skimming will be necessary for many. But, overall? A terrific read that , much to my surprise, kept me up to the wee hours until I forced myself to stop--ah, the memories of crashing into my Potter books. This novel will not be for everyone, and it is still rather jarring to put Rowling into the context of such adult work--but THIS one is worth it. This has all the earmarks of a possible series--count me on board.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    An excellent detective story.

    The best "Perry Mason" story I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    I loved it...........

    wasn't sure what to expect from JK Rowling, but would like to read more from Strike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good read. I like that Rowling is exploring different genres.

    Good read. I like that Rowling is exploring different genres.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good, but not great

    I liked this book a lot, but it doesn't come close to the excellence and intrigue of Steig Larssen's books. I would still recommend The Cuckoo's Calling for a spellbinding book that is easy to read and quite entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Good beach book.

    This is a good read for passing time. The characters are fairly well developed and it is clear it has been written with an eye to sequels. the plot line does have some unexpected twists and turns that keep you reading til you finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Keeps you guessing!

    Great read, realistic dialogue that fits the characters - kept me guessing until the end! Some parts dragged on a bit, which is why 4 stars instead of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Good book

    This is better that her first adult book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it! This book kept me guessing. At times I had to fight myself from peeking at the ending! The vivid description of each character really brought them to life and kept me hooked. I'm seriously hoping that she turns Cormoran Strike's mysteries into a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Highly recommend reading this book.

    Author keeps you guessing till the end. Definitely worth reading. Cormoran Strike, the main character, comes to terms with his own situation in life aided by Robin, his assistant. Look forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The author, known for the Harry Potter series and writing this


    The author, known for the Harry Potter series and writing this under a pseudonym, creates an interesting protagonist, Cormoran Strike, a down-at-the heels PI trying to stay alive. He is the illegitimate son of a rock star brought up by an unusual mother, who found a home in the British army until he lost a leg in Afghanistan. It yet remains to be seen whether he can (or will) be more fully developed as a character in the future, since he really is two-dimensional in this novel.

    The plot revolves around the death of a supermodel who fell from the balcony of her luxurious penthouse. Her adoptive brother insists that she would not have jumped, and retains Strike to investigate. The police look into the case in detail and rule it conclusively a suicide. Strike interviews various persons, looks at the police file and comes to a different conclusion.

    The real mystery about this book is whether or not it was ever proofread. Or, in the alternative, if it was, did the proofreader wear his or her glasses. The novel is rife with errors. The story itself is a straightforward tale, carefully constructed and well-written, although somewhat formulaic. Now that the cat is out of the bag, will Rowling write another in this genre? And will it be a step forward in the development of an interesting protagonist? We shall see. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    RG/JKR whatever, a good mystery

    JKRowling proves herself to be capable of writing in multiple genres, always fleshing out her characters and making them seem real. I can see this developing into a series. I think it likely that kids of future generations will be reading the Potter books, not sure their parents will be reading Cuckoo, but that's okay. A good story, well worth reading today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh I have such a strange relationship with this book. Overall, I

    Oh I have such a strange relationship with this book. Overall, I really enjoyed it and was utterly enthralled by the plot and characters. However, I also fought tooth and nail to get through it, spending an entire week reading it-something that very rarely happens to me.

    The writing  is intricate, with a well-paced plot and wonderfully developed characters. I really enjoyed the fact that we actually see the investigation progress, step-by-step, having the clues laid out in front of us as Cormoran pieces it all together. We get every bit of information that he does, which kept my opinion of the murderer constantly shifting. I really thought I had it figured out about half-way through, but I changed my mind again about six more times and still got it wrong. The surprise at the end was the most wonderful and utterly brilliant twist, I could never have saw it coming. Given that the reader does get all the same information as Cormoran, I like to believe that if I focused on the clues and taken notes I might have figured it out too.

    Creating realistic, fully fleshed out characters is a special talent of Rowling’s, and this novel does not disappoint in that regard. Cormoran himself is a new favorite of mine. A little bit mysterious, a whole lot of funny, and unconventional, I was rooting for him from our first introduction. He’s also got a brilliant mind, a knack for noticing the little details and comes across as just a genuinely good person, which was refreshing. I particularly enjoyed his interactions with his half-sister and Robin. The other characters, from his temp-secretary Robin, who is smart, tactful and surprisingly funny, to the victim, Lula, are all just as well-developed. Although dead, Lula came to life again across the pages, as Cormoran pieced together the details of her life and death. Each character added something new and interesting to the story, keeping it from becoming tedious and repetitive.

    If you couldn’t already tell, the plot and characters are what made me fall in love with this book and kept me reading. What didn’t work for me was how overly verbose the prose could be. As I told a friend on Twitter, I felt that at least 1/4-1/3 of this book could have been cut without damaging the plot or characterization at all. For example, I really did not need to read an entire paragraph describing a staircase. It just isn’t necessary. I also was not a fan of the scenes where Cormoran would be interviewing someone, and then suddenly start making random internal observations about the environment in which the interview is taking place. These details added nothing to the story, and were unnecessarily distracting. This made it difficult for me

    For the most part though, I thought this was a wonderful, interesting story and I really do hope there is another Cormoran Strike book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Fun read

    Enjoyable detective novel that does a fine job calling back to its influences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14