Customer Reviews for

The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Beautiful, but get the real book not the electric one

    I have always loved these authors and this book is great to read through over and over. But I would suggest you buy a real world copy instead of an electronic one. Half the fun of this book is the notes and doodles the authoresses leave throughout the margins, however due to the fact that electronic readers change fonts and sizes these had to be removed. They were put into the end of the stories. But only a scant few of all the comments, very few of the doodles, and made it much more difficult to see what they were getting at as well as getting rid of the fun of seeing the little conversations between the three in the margins as you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    A Curious Collection

    This group of short stories has forced me reconsider my view on short stories as a whole. Each one is well thought out, creative, and provokes creativity in the reader, which is a rare quality in books these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As I am not a fan of short stories, this book was an unexpected

    As I am not a fan of short stories, this book was an unexpected pleasure.  The three writers offer very short stories of which many had been published on the Merry Mates blog.  The paranormal element will appeal to many teens (and adults) and the story lines always seemed to catch me off-guard and definitely wanting more.  A superb story element was the notes in the margins by the three authors, each "written" in a different font.  As an educator, it reminded me of the notes written on student work to advise/question/comment.  What a great strategy to employ for student review of other students' work.  A teacher in my school is  almost finished reading the book and loves it!  I anticipate a long hold list for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Curiosities is like nothing I've ever read before. It's like

    The Curiosities is like nothing I've ever read before. It's like reading through author's notes. It's informative and helps the reader see how the author's mental process works, and there are a lot of fun comments and sketches in the margins from the other authors! While seeing writing in progress and reading comments from all three authors about their works, you are simultaneously being entertained by the short stories themselves. I found I just wanted to keep reading them. So while you could read slowly and do one or two stories at a time, more likely you'll breeze through this collection in no time.

    The stories were fantastic. Each one a little bit better than the next. They are all about different subject matter but they all carry the magic that each writer installs in all of their work, do fans of Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff will be pleased by this collection. But if you haven't read these fabulous authors yet, no fear. The Curiosities will serve as the perfect introduction to their work.

    The Curiosities is the perfect book for writers, but will also keep us readers fascinated an highly entertained. But best of all, I think, is that the stories and the way they are presented is very inspiring to young writers. I highly recommend it to everyone and will be purchasing a finished copy for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Short Stories with Lots of Twists

    After having reading works by each of the authors and visiting the Merry Sisters of Fate website, I was excited to see this book come out. Each short story features a little intro by the author of that story along with another one of the writers and their view on the story.

    All of the stories have handwritten notes from the authors in the margins. Often they talk about what they liked and what worked and how they got to that point in their writing process (and maybe even what one author wishes she would be able to write as well as the others). I’m not certain if the finished book will state whose comments are whose, but in the ARC it didn’t show that – so unfortunately I couldn’t tell who was saying what. It would have been nice to know if it was the author commenting on her own work or if it was one of the other two making comments.

    Mixed in between the stories are a few extra handwritten things from the authors. The usual – hand drawn diagrams of what subject matter makes up their brain, what their office space looks like, lists of what goes into their stories. I think that the handwritten bits are the best part of this book, especially for writers.

    The stories vary in length from a couple of pages to 20ish (at least via a digital book). There are a number of standouts from each other, as well as a number that just went on and on and seemed to get lost. That was expected though, as what they have done on their website is new and different, clever and quirky.

    Any fans of any of these writers will find something to delight them. If you haven’t read one, two, or any of the writers – then this is a great anthology to get to know them and find which ones writing style you like best. While they are all very different, I think most that like one author will probably be fond of each of them.

    ARC reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    :)

    :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1