Customer Reviews for

The Cursed

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Cursed is the exciting first book in the new League of the B

    The Cursed is the exciting first book in the new League of the Black Swan series from Alyssa Day. 

    Rio Jones (Green, etc) is a bike messenger girl in the Bordertown (a realm between the supernatural world and Manhattan, NY). Did I mention that Rio can read people's thoughts? Now she finds herself in need of Luke Oliver's PI skills to rescue a young human girl kidnapped by something evil. Rio has had a crush on Luke Oliver but he has dismissed her advances until now...

    Luke Oliver is a PI in Bordertown, but behind the man is also a super powerful Dark Wizard. He recently received a message from the League of the Dark Swan with a picture of Rio Jones. He has kept his distance from Rio because she is the one person that could break his careful control. Now she is being threatened and the Dark Swan wants her. He will stop at nothing to protect Rio, even loose his soul.

    Explosive sexual chemistry and tender hearts are the building block of Rio and Luke’s relationship. Under the strength and power of our two main characters is deeply caring and genuinely good people. 

    Sporting a cast of enigmatic, witty and entertaining characters, The Cursed is a marvelous start to a "most follow" new series. 

    Written by: Alyssa Day
    Series: League of the Black Swan 
    Sequence in Series: Book 1
    Paperback: 304 pages
    Publisher: Berkley 
    Publication Date: May 7, 2013
    ISBN-10: 0425255778
    ISBN-13: 978-0425255773 
    Rating: 4 Stars
    Genre: Romance, Dark Fantasy, Paranormal
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Shawnie:

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Shawnie:
    *eBook gifted by LITERAL ADDICTION in exchange for an honest review
        --Actual rating 4.5 Skulls

    The Cursed is set in a backdrop of New York City, Manhattan to be precise, but nothing is as it seems. Welcome to Bordertown.

    Luke Oliver is Bordertown's resident 'dark and mysterious wizard;, and has been trying to keep a low profile. Nobody can hide forever
    though, and the past has a way of catching up you; no matter who you are. 

    After having an interesting conversation with Maestro, an active member of the Order, in which he's given an envelope that contains a
    photograph of a young woman and nothing else, Luke is shaken; he knows the woman. He's seen her around his office building when
    she stops in to deliver packages, and he wants her like nothing else. Even though he's been trying to stay away from her and keep his
    feelings under wraps - for reasons he can never explain to her - he still feels like he knows her and things just don't add up. The
    burning question of the hour... Why does the League want the woman? And why do they want Luke, of all people, involved?

    Rio Jones - just one of the many names she uses as a shield to keep people at a distance - is an enigma. She's a 24 year old Bike
    Messenger in Bordertown, and her employer is a Siren. She didn't have an easy life, and from what Alyssa allows us to read in The
    Cursed, it's still not easy (sorry, no spoilers). After growing up in an orphanage run by a convent, Rio's got more scars and unanswered
    questions than she is willing to deal with, but it all comes out in the wash — or rather when she's twenty-four hours away from turning
    25.

    The book starts out simmering, and then explodes into an all out rat race as Rio and Luke try to figure out exactly what's going on, and
    determine why everyone wants Rio. 

    Turning twenty-five is significant in the supernatural world, but Rio doesn't think there is anything supernatural about her. Yeah, she can
    read minds, but that's nothing serious. Little does she know that things are about to get REAL serious, when two different factions
    basically start a war in their attempt to get her for themselves and keep her away from the other. 

    I have to say, I was hesitant with this book, but I'm glad I got the chance to read it. I can totally see myself reading the next installments
    of the series. The love story that paralleled the main storyline was great. Luke and Rio had to come to terms with themselves and each
    other, but once they did, they were all in. 

    My only complaint was that the book took awhile to get to where it was all going. All of the running around and the secrets/hints about
    who Rio really was, etc was annoying at times, yet hilarious at others.

    I give this 4 1/2 skulls, and absolutely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Welcome to Bordertown

    *eBook gifted by LITERAL ADDICTION in exchange for an honest review

    The Cursed is set in a backdrop of New York City, Manhattan to be precise, but nothing is as it seems. Welcome to Bordertown.

    Luke Oliver is Bordertown's resident 'dark and mysterious wizard;, and has been <i>trying</i> to keep a low profile. Nobody can hide forever though, and the past has a way of catching up you; no matter who you are.

    After having an interesting conversation with Maestro, an active member of the Order, in which he's given an envelope that contains a photograph of a young woman and nothing else, Luke is shaken; he knows the woman. He's seen her around his office building when she stops in to deliver packages, and he wants her like nothing else. Even though he's been trying to stay away from her and keep his feelings under wraps - for reasons he can never explain to her - he still feels like he knows her and things just don't add up. The burning question of the hour... Why does the League want the woman? And why do they want Luke, of all people, involved?

    Rio Jones - just one of the many names she uses as a shield to keep people at a distance - is an enigma. She's a 24 year old Bike Messenger in Bordertown, and her employer is a Siren. She didn't have an easy life, and from what Alyssa allows us to read in The Cursed, it's still not easy (sorry, no spoilers). After growing up in an orphanage run by a convent, Rio's got more scars and unanswered questions than she is willing to deal with, but it all comes out in the wash — or rather when she's twenty-four hours away from turning 25.

    The book starts out simmering, and then explodes into an all out rat race as Rio and Luke try to figure out exactly what's going on, and determine why everyone wants Rio.

    Turning twenty-five is significant in the supernatural world, but Rio doesn't think there is anything supernatural about her. Yeah, she can read minds, but that's nothing serious. Little does she know that things are about to get REAL serious, when two different factions basically start a war in their attempt to get her for themselves and keep her away from the other.

    I have to say, I was hesitant with this book, but I'm glad I got the chance to read it. I can totally see myself reading the next installments of the series. The love story that paralleled the main storyline was great. Luke and Rio had to come to terms with themselves and each other, but once they did, they were all in.

    My only complaint was that the book took awhile to get to where it was all going. All of the running around and the secrets/hints about who Rio really was, etc was annoying at times, yet hilarious at others.

    I give this 4 1/2 skulls, and absolutely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Good Story

    Different from her Poisedon series... I liked it! Look forward to her next story in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I enjoyed Rio and Luke's story but it didn't pull me in. Will r

    I enjoyed Rio and Luke's story but it didn't pull me in. Will read the next one to see how it goes. The world of Bodertown was done very well was hoping to find outwhat her powers consist now that she has them. Hope we find out in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Had a little of everything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Pre

    ~Reviewed by ANN &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Prepared to be entertained, readers! Alyssa Day has a hot one on her hands! THE CURSED is a phenomenal start to what promises to be a stellar series! ~ Under the Covers

    In a brand new series that filled to the brim with unique and larger-than-life characters, Alyssa Day takes a lighter approach in regards to the personalities of her new leads and it is sure to make readers fall instantly in love with them.

    The very first line of this book aptly sets the tone for the whole book. Allow me to share it with you:


    “Getting stabbed is hell on the dry-cleaning bill.”

    That is said by the hero, Luke Oliver aka Lucian Olivieri aka The Dark Wizard of Bordertown. Here’s what you need to know about Luke… He is Bordertown’s private investigator and he has had dealings in the past with our heroine, Rio Jones (I adore her!). However, Luke was part of the League of the Black Swan and when he receives a picture of Rio one day, he knows that trouble is coming his way.

    Rio is also an interesting character. Not one to be pushed around, it’s so entertaining to see how circumstances bring Rio and Luke together. Luke has some dominant and possessive tendencies and with Rio as a strong and independent woman, maintaining the balance will be just one of the obstacles they have to overcome together.

    When Rio witnesses a kidnapping of a young halfing girl, she asks Luke to her help. Later, the plot all comes together and you’re really able to see Day’s skill as a writer. However, I do wish there was a little more in terms of the plot since a lot of it is spent on the romance and the hilarious antics between the characters.

    That being said, I also really, really loved the sarcastic quips and the hilarious banter that this book has. So I guess in a way, that makes up for it. For the entire book, I was smiling from ear-to-ear and didn’t really want it to end. Prepared to be entertained, readers! Alyssa Day has a hot one on her hands! THE CURSED is a phenomenal start to what promises to be a stellar series!

    Another great thing about this book is all the different supernatural creatures. You have grendals, fae, a freaking wizard and other interesting things. I am also very interested in Alice. Her appearances never failed to bring more laughter into the book.

    I am so excited for this series and am looking forward to where Day will take this series. With unique characters with rapier wit, THE CURSED is sure to make readers fall in love.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1