Customer Reviews for

The Dash Diet for Beginners: Essentials to Get Started

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Thank you National Institutes of Health! Because of your funding

Thank you National Institutes of Health! Because of your funding this diet was made and available to me by
the author, John Chatham. I am down 3 sizes and my blood sugar has stabilized. I learned how to eat properly
with out taking everything I like and throwing it ou...
Thank you National Institutes of Health! Because of your funding this diet was made and available to me by
the author, John Chatham. I am down 3 sizes and my blood sugar has stabilized. I learned how to eat properly
with out taking everything I like and throwing it out the window. With all of the studies done, I was very
reassured that it was a healthy way to go in my venture of losing weight..... I was right!

posted by GRose on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The first thing this book stated was that this was not a diet as

The first thing this book stated was that this was not a diet as much as a lifestyle change. This change included not just healthier choices for food but moderate exercise every week. There was a lot of repeated information throughout each chapter. I think it was rep...
The first thing this book stated was that this was not a diet as much as a lifestyle change. This change included not just healthier choices for food but moderate exercise every week. There was a lot of repeated information throughout each chapter. I think it was repeated because weight loss , in general, can make a lof of different changes for your health/ This book was enjoyable and I will definitly be using the healthy recipes in the future.

posted by Lars8 on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Thank you National Institutes of Health! Because of your funding

    Thank you National Institutes of Health! Because of your funding this diet was made and available to me by
    the author, John Chatham. I am down 3 sizes and my blood sugar has stabilized. I learned how to eat properly
    with out taking everything I like and throwing it out the window. With all of the studies done, I was very
    reassured that it was a healthy way to go in my venture of losing weight..... I was right!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    The DASH Diet for Beginners by John Chatham is a great reference

    The DASH Diet for Beginners by John Chatham is a great reference for anyone looking to lower their blood pressure, lose weight, or simply make a positive lifestyle change. Chatham discusses the benefits of the diet for everyone, especially those with high blood pressure, Type 2 Diabetes, and obesity. The book describes how the DASH diet came about, all of the potential benefits, as well as several recipes (the desserts look delicious!) and an exercise plan to get you started. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to make a very positive lifestyle change that will lead to a happier, healthier self.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    The DASH Diet for Beginners was written for people looking to lo

    The DASH Diet for Beginners was written for people looking to lower their blood pressure,
    but the healthy living plan it lays out is ideal for anyone. The book emphasizes eating whole foods, low in sodium and unhealthy fats
    and high in vitamin C and other nutrients, along with moderate exercise and a ton of other great tips, like keeping a food journal and
    enlisting a friend for support. There are recipes for every meal of the day, all very easy and mouth-watering – hello, Bacon and
    Tomato Open-Faced Sandwich! I loved that this book was “just the facts” and got me on my way with the program in very little time.
    I’d recommend this to anyone interested in living healthy and well. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Energizing Diet, You Will Absolutely See Results The DASH Diet f

    Energizing Diet, You Will Absolutely See Results
    The DASH Diet for Beginners is such a great tool for losing weight and keeping it off. Cutting sugar and salt out of your diet is common sense, but it’s also easier said than done on your own. Follow the meal plans, use the recipes, and you will definitely begin to see the positive results. For me, the hardest part of a diet is starting. I always wait for the beginning of the week, or after one more meal. But for procrastinators like me, this book gives you 10 great tips that will encourage you to start immediately. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    The DASH diet is great for any lifestyle, but especially for tho

    The DASH diet is great for any lifestyle, but especially for those coming from a family with heart-health issues. John Chatham explains exactly what this diet is right from the start and the numerous health benefits it will foster. The various sections in the book are a great way to guide you through the different facets of the diet and understand how it will benefit your life. It’s easy to incorporate into daily life, and is tasty too! The various recipes at the end of the book are simple, delicious, and adaptable to virtually any lifestyle. This diet is health-conscious and taste bud-friendly! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This book takes a more scientific look at eating and reminds rea

    This book takes a more scientific look at eating and reminds readers that the primary reason for changing one’s diet is not for short term weight loss, it’s for a better life style and health. The diet was founded based on the need to reduce hypertension. Weight loss was merely a secondary benefit. This book looks at diet from the health perspective, but allows the reader to adjust the diet based on specific needs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Diets, diets, everywhere yet no food to eat. The DASH diet is di

    Diets, diets, everywhere yet no food to eat. The DASH diet is different, it doesn’t cut out eating. In fact it encourages meals and snacks to be eaten two to three times a day to maintain blood sugar levels. This with a combination of simple cardio and strength training exercises optimizes weight loss and fights against heart disease and hypertension. The DASH Diet book also includes delicious healthy recipes and food suggestions to maintain a healthy diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Need help in controlling your high blood pressure? Have you bee

    Need help in controlling your high blood pressure? Have you been warned by your doctor about hypertension? Want to ditch the medication
    and lectures? Then you need to read The DASH Diet for Beginners. DASH is an acronym for Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension. This simple approach of using food to help control hypertension was the result of a study done by the National Institutes for Health in 1992. To date, this diet has been accepted by the medical community as an alternative approach in managing high blood pressure. When I first picked up the book I thought about all the unpleasant changes I was going to have to make and by the time I finished this book I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was going to be to implement the changes that were suggested. What I am really looking forward to is hearing my doctor tell me that I no longer need to take my pills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    The DASH diet is a customizable, healthy way of living that can

    The DASH diet is a customizable, healthy way of living that can completely change your life. John Chatham breaks down this universally acclaimed method of lowering blood pressure and achieving balance in your health with perfect clarity. Those who have been let down by fad diets in the past can rest safe in the knowledge that they are doing something great for their health and their body with this system. Including an extensive list of foods that are allowed, as well as a much smaller list of those not allowed, and an inspiring recipe section, this is a book that should be read and remembered by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Not as low-carb as I feared. Good information, easy to read, rea

    Not as low-carb as I feared. Good information, easy to read, realistic plans & helpful hints to provide motivation. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Health, fitness and food go hand-in-hand and with all the differ

    Health, fitness and food go hand-in-hand and with all the different types of food around it can be hard to eat well and take care of yourself, but this book makes it easy. Many wonderful recipes and easy workouts help you lower your blood pressure, prevent or maintain diabetes and heart disease and not to mention the weight you will lose by being so healthy. Even if you don't have any health problems, with this diet you will take one more step at keeping yourself feeling good. Be sure to share delicious meals and better health with you friends and family too, they will definitely thank you for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Flavors remain intact despite reduction of sodium This book give

    Flavors remain intact despite reduction of sodium
    This book gives over 40 low-sodium, delicious recipes that will helpyou not only reduce high blood pressure, but also help you loseweight. The book contains a detailed, concise introduction about thehistory of the DASH diet as well as its benefits, i.e. –lower bloodpressure, weight loss, Type 2 diabetes prevention. Recipes range frombacon and tomato open-faced sandwiches to beef tostadas. All recipesare easy to follow and provide serving sizes, calorie as well assodium intake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Most of my family members have high blood pressure so I knew tha

    Most of my family members have high blood pressure so I knew that I needed to amend my diet fairly soon to avoid life long health issues. The problem is I just haven't found a diet that I have enjoyed enough to stick to. I tried Paleo - but it was a bit extreme for my lifestyle. Enter the "Dash Diet" and I think I've found the diet for me! I love that I can eat fats, the good ones, all day long on this diet and still help my blood pressure situation. I highly recommend this diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1