Customer Reviews for

The Dance of the Dissident Daughter: A Woman's Journey from Christian Tradition to the Sacred Feminine

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Has Its Place

    This book is one that I return to often. It is, however, a hard pill for those who come across it who are not ready or willing to hear about a person's experience with searching for a Heavenly Mother. Many feel she puts down men, but I see no such thing, in fact the opposite; she points out that Patriarchy is as hurtful to men as it is to women. She also acknowledges that Matriarchy isn't the right way either. If you chose to read the book please keep an open mind and read the whole thing. It's a journey with stages that take years.

    I found this book with it's spiritual feminism to be a breath of fresh air from text that speak only about feminism in regards to the "horrid past" and only dealing with sex or filled with anger without catharsis.

    This is a wonderful book for women who come from orthodox religious backgrounds (Catholic, LDS/mormon, Judaism, S. Baptist) You are not alone in your quest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Thank you for your wonderful book, I understand and have experiencced and still experiencing the author's fear, solitude and upheaval of casting aside all preconceived notions of our patriarcal society. It has been about 12 years that I have been waking up, I have felt that I was alone in my beliefs and the guilt of unlearning all that was taught to me by the Christian faith. I listen now to what is inside of me, to follow my instincts and to accept that it is right for me. It is a comfort to realize that you are not alone in your beliefs.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    One of the richest books I've ever read.

    I was not even aware how diminished I and all women are in our current society and especially in our churches and temples until this book deeply pierced through the conditioning and numbness that had settled over my truth as a Divine Feminine Being.I felt as if all I was meant to be has been released to expand,grow,nurture,teach and recieive. I want women everywhere to read this book and have their own personal experience of the majesty of Goddess/God within them. The world needs Feminine Spirituality more than ever before. There is a universal hunger for the values,traits,qualities and characteristics that women possess.
    I am so grateful to Sue Monk Kidd for having the courage to share her thoughts and experiences in a way that encourages women to reach for their own path and to know that the world will be a better place because of her courage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    A Provocative Revolutionary Book

    This brilliant, provocative book is revolutionary. In sharing her firestorm about feminine spirituality Sue Monk Kidd gently guides us through our own awakening. The Dance of the Dissident Daughter not only reveals the sacred feminine in the Christian tradition but shows how patriarchal spirituality is ultimately a flight from the earth. Sue Monk Kidd¿s awakening to the knowledge that we are connected with everything lead her to a dawning awareness that the earth is alive and divine. Her question: ¿How big is your `we¿?¿ challenges us to move from the little ¿we¿ of humankind to the larger ¿we¿ of all creation. She rightly points out the future of the planet depends on how we answer that question.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    The Dance of the Dissident Daughter by Sue Monk Kidd

    Sue Monk Kidd had a dilemma at one point in her life when she felt that there was a Patriarcal image in religious life. Women were not leaders in most churches and the word "He" was used most frequently in the Bible. It was at this time that she felt women were hidden behind a curtain as was the Wizard in OZ. She questioned and found that there were many references to men as leaders in churches while women were in the background. I had to continue reading because I felt that way myself in many instances. Sue Monk Kidd began to deal with her feelings of Patriarchy by attending retreats and being a part of nature to understand her feelings and come alive again. As a spiritual writer, Kidd, often spoke to groups with varies reactions by her audiences regarding her position on the topic of Patriarchy. It was interesting how Sue Monk Kidd became empowered thru this journey in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, but better for beginners

    I found Dance of the Dissident Daughter to be interesting, but better for women and men who have only just begun to consider their spirituality and the place of the Feminine within that spirituality. Kidd has clearly done a lot of research, and has opened herself up to readers in a very personal way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Inspirational Reading

    My sister and I love Sue Monk Kidd. I read this book and gave it to my sister as a birthday gift. We both love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Enlightening

    I was looking for something that would help me understand more about the Goddess after years of serving only God in my religion. This book took me through her journey as she did the same thing. I was able to see myself in certain parts of her journey, and know what I had to look forward to still. I'm grateful for the book, I was concerned it would be about how the view of the Goddess interferes with the view of one true God and how the Goddess isn't something to be believed or followed, but I was pleasantly surprised.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Fantastic!

    I liked this non-fiction memoior even more than her best-selling fictional novel, The Secret Lives of Bees. The author's spiritual journey provided wonderful insight into my own. I appreciate her honesty, thoughtfulness, and courage! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2