Customer Reviews for

The Dancing Master

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Dancing Master is a well-written period piece. There is so

The Dancing Master is a well-written period piece. There is so much of the story that you could spoil by sharing details, so I will suffice to say that the story had me laughing and crying and really feeling connected with the characters.

I found that The Dancing Mas...
The Dancing Master is a well-written period piece. There is so much of the story that you could spoil by sharing details, so I will suffice to say that the story had me laughing and crying and really feeling connected with the characters.

I found that The Dancing Master has a nice pace, has strong, well developed characters that you can't help but enjoy and really pulls you in. Early on, you start to discover that some of the characters have interesting, unexpected back stories as you begin to uncover hints about their mysterious pasts. These nuggets keep you wanting to read so that you can learn more about what their history really is and how it has impacted not only them, but those around them. As you continue to read, you find that you are able to start to piece the puzzle together, but just as you think you have figured out the picture, a small piece will lead you to discover that the picture you were envisioning was not complete. The story is filled with drama and insights of character, love, pride, relationships, forgiveness, faith and more.

This is a book that I would certainly recommend that you read, especially if you are a fan of period literature and the works of Jane Austen and her era.

The Dancing Master is a stand alone work, as are the other books by Julia Klassen. I definitely would seek out and read more of her books based on my reading experience of The Dancing Master.

posted by busymomoftwo on February 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

When I read the premise of this book, I immediately thought of ¿

When I read the premise of this book, I immediately thought of ‘Footloose.’ There are undertones in this story that remind me of the movie, however The Dancing Master is able to distinguish itself as a solid novel distinct from the movie.

The town of Devonshire is shro...
When I read the premise of this book, I immediately thought of ‘Footloose.’ There are undertones in this story that remind me of the movie, however The Dancing Master is able to distinguish itself as a solid novel distinct from the movie.

The town of Devonshire is shrouded in secrets and mystery. When Alec Valcourt arrives with his family, he is surprised to learn that dancing is not allowed. How can he support his family if his skills and profession is unnecessary in this town? And why is dancing not allowed?

But these are not all the secrets that surround the town; these secrets run deep and are hidden from scrutiny. And what about Alec? He and his family seem to have their own past that they wish to keep hidden.

With so many secrets threatening to come to the surface, will the truth ever be spoken?

All the mystery surrounding the town and people of Devonshire is intriguing. The many unknowns of this book are withheld from the reader until the very end, when things slowly begin to be revealed.

Alec’s character was hard-working, strong, and caring. He persevered and was devoted to his family. Julia’s character was reckless and flirtatious. It was difficult to feel for her for a majority of the book. However, Alec is able to see past her outward appearance. He understood that her behavior was a façade, and beneath it, Alec saw her insecurities and her vulnerable heart and cared for her.

The mystery is what brings this story to life. Julie Klassen writes a beautiful story filled with complex characters in this Regency era novel.

*I was provided a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.*

posted by booksandwindows on February 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Unfortunate circumstances prompt dancing master Alex Valcourt to

    Unfortunate circumstances prompt dancing master Alex Valcourt to move from London to Beaworthy in the fall of 1816. After moving, Alex learns there is a ban on dancing in the small village. To support his mother and sister, he reluctantly secures a position as clerk for Lady Amelia Midwinter.

    Julia Midwinter is restless. She prefers horseback riding and flirting with young men to fitting into polite society. Lady Amelia has high expectations for her, as Julia is the sole heir to the Midwinter estate.

    Alex’s and Julia’s paths intersect more than Lady Amelia would like and the two become friends. As they both wrestle with new discoveries, Alex learns his past may affect his future. Julia finds her heritage contains unexpected fragments.

    The Dancing Master is a tale of friendships and secrets that held my attention from the start. I found myself nestled within the story, enjoying the characters while trying to solve the mysteries within.

    This story is a masterful example, in my opinion, of what good historical fiction should be. From a reader’s standpoint, I enjoyed it tremendously. From a writer’s perspective, I learned from and appreciated the depth of characters and the flow and layers of the plot.

    Klassen’s flair for realistic characters, engaging storyline, and rich detail rests on every page. The Dancing Master is a dance, an exquisite, perfectly timed tale of mystery, love, redemption, and forgiveness. It is one of the few books that I’d consider reading again someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Recommend

    Enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    I don't know if I've said before, but I do not read historical f

    I don't know if I've said before, but I do not read historical fiction. I do not read Regency romance. I do not read Christian historical fiction or Regency romance. It is just not my thing. But there is just something about Julie Klassen and her books. I've read every. single. one. of her books, and I've loved all of them. The Dancing Master was no exception. 




    Julia is the daughter of the town's matriarch. She finds her mother to be strict, oppressive, and hiding way too many secrets for Julia's liking. Julia lashes out by being rebellious and reckless, and flirting with any man she can, trying to find someone who will take her away from this horrid place. Alec has moved to the tiny town of Beaworthy with his mother and sister when they were driven out of London by scandal. Except, he is a dancing master...and dancing is forbidden. Forbidden by none other than Julia Midwinter's mother, twenty years ago. 




    I will say, Julia is probably one of my least favorite main characters, out of all Klassen's novels. She was immature, reckless, spoiled, and bratty. She refused to listen to anyone, belittled her mother for petty reasons, and was all-around pretty selfish. She complains about how her life wasn't as perfect as it seemed, but it mainly seemed so because she made it that way, because she wanted people's attention. She seemed like a petulant child for most of the novel, even though she's older than most characters you might usually see in this position (19). That said, she wasn't a deal breaker for the book. I suppose all of it was necessary to show just how much she changes by the end of the book. (In my opinion, not much.)




    Because of this, I couldn't ever really figure out why Alec liked her so much. Alec himself wasn't too bad. I'll admit, he wasn't the most swoonworthy of Klassen's male lead characters, but he was noble. He was sweet and charming, although he could be a bit stuck-up, when it came to manual labor and such. (He's a gentleman after all.) 




    I did love the secondary characters a lot. Patience, James, and Walter Allen were among my favorites. (I want a book about one of them. I don't care which, just one of the Allen's. Or all of the Allen's. Write ALL the things!) I loved the friendship between them and Alec and Julia. I also loved how they were as a family, their parents included. I liked Ben and Tess Thorne and all the other townspeople. And of course, Alec's mother, and sister Aurora. Some of them weren't the most developed secondary characters I've ever read, but they were a lot of fun and kept a smile on my face.




    Lady Amelia, Julia's mother, was one of my favorites. I very much enjoyed the small scenes from her POV, as well as the flashbacks. They taught us so much more about the story. They also showed us that she isn't some overbearing, crazy strict mother as Julia would have us believe. She's been hurt by Julia nearly as much as Julia's been hurt by her. Not to mention, all the other hurt she's experienced in her life. Her and Julia may not act in the best way about their feelings, which is partially responsible for all the hurt that keeps piling up, but they eventually see the error of their ways and start fixing things between them.




    The plot itself was also very much well-written. The book is slightly long, and in places seemed to drag, but other than that, it was great. The secrets and mysteries surrounding the characters will keep you guessing. Although some of the "twists" were predictable, that didn't take away (much) when you actually found out the truth. And there are some twists that you won't see coming, that will not go as you thought it would.




    I will say, the religious aspect of this was sort of non-existent most of the way through, and then it was just...there. Slightly awkward placing, almost randomly. I feel that for it to have been more effective, it should have been immersed throughout the entire book.




    Even with its few faults, I loved this book just like all her other ones, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is loves historical or Regency romances, clean romance, or Christian romances.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    It seems to me that there are various kinds of dancing in this s

    It seems to me that there are various kinds of dancing in this story by Julie Klassen. Many of the characters in Beaworthy are “dancing around” issues that need to be revealed, but kept secret. The character displaying the dominant leader in this dance is Lady Amelia Midwinter who due to some mysterious reason has banned dancing from the village of Beaworthy. This woman is rich in money, power and property; however quite impoverished from kindness and consideration in her heart. It was no wonder that her daughter, Julie was a mini-Amelia in her own sense. The emotional historical circumstances regarding these women lend credibility to why they lack in faith, love and depth of character.

    This writing of Ms.Klassen did not have the usual eloquent luster normally glowing brightly in her previous novels I have read. She is a master writer of the Regency era and seemed to tire of her story in spots before she reached its final conclusion. When I saw the beautiful cover of The Dancing Master, I eagerly began this read with expectation of personally relating to dance, having been trained as a performer in this enchanting art while young – it still fascinates me. However, at my age, the interest hasn’t waned, but the attempt to dance one step is precarious!

    Handsome Alec Valcourt, was a true dance and fencing master of the third generation in his family. Family tragedy through scandalous activity caused the disappearance of his father and left the family dancing school in ruins. Alec moved his mother and sister to Beaworthy to live with his uncle and the hope of finding employment in the Devonshire area. We meet other characters in this story that provide personality and wit. The author has provided many entertaining details to keep the mystery and romance alive. However, by the conclusion of the book, I felt unsettled for the lack of completion in some areas. It was difficult to remember who some of the characters were because of long periods of not learning more about them. Of course, I might add that the weaknesses Julie Klassen wrote into her characters are realistic and very human. There are transformations in hearts, and I especially liked Julie’s subtle scenes showing God’s grace and love through salvation in Christ. Of course, some of the characters were church goers, but they didn’t behave in a Christian manner on a daily basis. I did enjoy and was amused with the animals Julie created.

    There are some redeeming qualities in Ms. Klassen’s The Dancing Master; however I enjoyed The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse and The Tutor's Daughter more. This review will not end my admiration or enthusiastic following of Julie Klassen as I will certainly be looking forward to her next novel. God is not finished with what she can create next.

    TWJ Magazine strives to guide readers to books of personal interest, with the understanding and respect that what appeals to some may not appeal to others. Therefore we attempt to keep our reviews focused on content, genre and style. The rating is necessary to make use of Goodreads, B&N, and Amazon. It reflects the reviewer’s own level of enjoyment, but the review is intended to be informative for the benefit of all readers.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of Regency fiction will enjoy this tale set in 1815 England

    Fans of Regency fiction will enjoy this tale set in 1815 England. Like wading into a river, it's a bit muddy and slow at first, but it picks up in the middle and carries you through to the end with a bit of mystery and romance swirling around. Not my favorite book by this author--takes a little more patience to get into it--worth the effort though. Recommend reading her earlier works, especially The Tutor's Daughter, to fully appreciate this wonderful author. 3.5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I enjoyed this book and loved several of the characters, but I h

    I enjoyed this book and loved several of the characters, but I had a hard time relating to the main heroine Julia. I did enjoy the love story between Alec and Julia. It was well written and I loved how she weaved the dance elements into the story line. I think my favorite character was Lady Amelia. She was full of surprises, a very complex character who should have been given her own book. I enjoyed reading this book and appreciate being given a copy from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Klassen's latest release, The Dancing Master is a novel th

    Julie Klassen's latest release, The Dancing Master is a novel that historical romance and Christian fiction enthusiasts alike will come to love. The impeccable research and a well delivered plot, of this novel will endear fans quickly to Klassen's writing style. She is able to evoke feelings of nostalgia, and makes several nods to some of the great writers like Jane Austen. The Dancing Master is a feast for the senses as Klassen's descriptions show a lot of attention to detail. A great novel, but a wonderful novelist!

    What I liked:

    Julie Klassen's novels have always been favorites of mine. Most Christian/Inspirational books come in a series or trilogy. Klassen however has always done single titles which shows a lot of confidence in her ability to bring her characters to life. She only has one shot and she certainly makes the best of it. She doesn't have to rely on perhaps doing better with the next book in the series. It's often a refreshing change in the genre.

    It is obvious that Klassen does a lot of research for her books. She has the time period and the customs down to a science. There was not one slip in character or in the dialogue from how characters who actually lived in the time would act or what they would say. Klassen does a remarkable job of transporting the reader back in time and does not break from that time long past until the book finishes. A great fete for any author.

    I loved Alec Valcourt as the hero in this book. I know that many of the leading families during this time period made sure that their children were taught all of the necessary graces of which dancing and music were one. I liked that Alec had an unusual profession and a heart of gold. He is trying to establish himself in a new place because of the ruin of his father, but he also still trying to live his dreams as well. I thought he was insightful and brave to take the stands that he did against the leading family of Beaworthy who did not allow dancing. Such a great character.

    I also very much enjoyed the mystery behind why dancing was not allowed and how that played into the story. It gave it a unique and original feel that is sometimes lacking in historical romance. The themes can get a bit predictable, and I thought The Dancing Master stood out as different and fresh.

    What I didn't like:

    Unfortunately, there were a few things I didn't like about this one. And one of them happened to be the heroine. Julia Midwinter, just did not sit well with me. She was somewhat unlikable. Though she did improve under the watchful eye of Alec, she was still a bit simpering. I just did not connect with her at all. That's a rare thing for me.

    The Christian/Inspirational message that is usually the underlying theme of books of this kind was all but missing in this one. What few references there were to it seemed a bit contrived and not essential to the story line. That's something I have never seen in a Julie Klassen novel before, so that was a bit surprising.

    Bottom Line:

    I was a little disappointed with some aspects of the book and delighted with others. I wanted more of a faith message and I did not like the heroine, but the research in this novel was unparalleled and Klassen has such a way with description. Don't take my word for it... read it and see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    When I delved into this book, I couldn't help but think of the m

    When I delved into this book, I couldn't help but think of the modern story "Footloose." This is almost a historical Christian version of that story (side note--I never did see that movie--I just could not get into it.) And I will say that this alone made the book intriguing and entertaining. Added to this was some well-written mystery that was not resolved until almost the last page. For the most part, this follows the typical historical romance formula, but it has enough uniqueness that I think it will capture the interest of readers.

    While there are these definite positives, I do have a couple of issues with the book. This is one book I wish would have ended differently. I sometimes grow weary of the "happily ever after" philosophy. I didn't care that much for Julia, and I did not find the transformation of her family all that believable. I think Patience would have been a better protagonist, but maybe I identified with her personality more than I did Julia's.

    My biggest complaint is the Christian message. From the outset, the gospel message was practically nonexistent. While the story is clean, the gospel message was awkwardly inserted about two-thirds of the way into the book. I prefer this message to be woven into the framework of the story rather that sticking out like a sore thumb. Furthermore, the Christian message was very watered down and quite confusing. If the reader was not already saved or familiar with the gospel, I don't think this would speak to him/her.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Julie Klassen has been one of my favorite authors ever since I r

    Julie Klassen has been one of my favorite authors ever since I read The Girl in the Gatehouse when it was her latest novel. I’ve gone on to read all of her other books as they’ve released, and I’ve enjoyed each of them. While The Dancing Master isn’t my favorite (I think that would have to be The Tutor’s Daughter), I was drawn into the mysteries in the various plot lines, and I was taken by surprise more than once! Prior to reading this novel, I thought little of how young people learned dancing, so I found it quite interesting to read about a dancing master!

    Julia was a multi-faceted character, and I liked seeing her change and grow. I think Alec was a great match for her, and his character was intriguing. Lady Amelia surprisingly ended up being a favorite, as did Desmond (no surprise there). The other characters were memorable, and I didn’t feel that the story would have been what it was without each one. Even Alec’s horse had a purpose in the story. The places in the novel felt real, and I would love to have visited Buckleigh Manor and Medlands. The old church building too.

    I don’t recall anything that popped out at me as far as pet words or problems with the writing, but then, I couldn’t put the book down and therefore read it in a single day. So I may have missed something. But that’s okay because the story kept my attention very well. It was a wonderful Sunday read, and I look forward to Julie’s next novel.

    ———
    +My copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It is very rare to read a book of this type from the man's point

    It is very rare to read a book of this type from the man's point of view. Most of The Dancing Master is written from Alec's point of view, and I like it that way. Alec Valcourt is trying to all he can to provide for his family. Upon arriving in Beaworthy, he discovers his dreams for starting over as a dancing master in a new town are not going to be easily fulfilled Throughout the story, we witness his struggle to feel worthy and accept the help of the One who created him. Julia Midwinter is the beautiful daughter of Lady Amelia Midwinter. She is reckless flirtatious, and vulnerable. At the beginning of the story, I didn't like her. As I dove into the book, however, I began to understand her actions (though I didn't agree with them) and could relate to her feelings.

    The plot wasn't exciting or adventurous but it was interesting all the same. The mystery surrounding Lady Amelia and Julia's past was very well written. I didn't have any clue what the outcome would be until later in the book. The romance between Julia and Alec was also very well written. I didn't feel like it was rushed, as the book's plot takes place over several months, so I felt proper time was given for the romance to develop.

    The message of the story was clear, and aimed at Julia. All of us are searching for something to fill the void in our lives left by whatever tragic (or not tragic) circumstances we find ourselves in. The only one who can fill that void is the Heavenly Father who vows to love you and never leave your side. It was so neat to read Julia's progression from disbelief to final acceptance.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this story. It was exactly the type of story I've come to expect from Ms. Klassen.

    **I received this book for free as part of Bethany House Publisher's blogger program in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    SO - YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE? It seems to me that there are var

    SO - YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE?

    It seems to me that there are various kinds of dancing in this story by Julie Klassen.  Many of the characters in Beaworthy are “dancing around” issues that need to be revealed, but kept secret.  The character displaying the dominant leader in this dance is Lady Amelia Midwinter who due to some mysterious reason has banned dancing from the village of Beaworthy.  This woman is rich in money, power and property; however quite impoverished from kindness and consideration in her heart. It was no wonder that her daughter, Julie was a mini-Amelia in her own sense.  The emotional historical circumstances regarding these women lend credibility to why they lack in faith, love and depth of character.




    This writing of Ms.Klassen did not have the usual eloquent luster normally glowing brightly in her previous novels I have read.  She is a master writer of the Regency era and seemed to tire of her story in spots before she reached its final conclusion.  When I saw the beautiful cover of The Dancing Master, I eagerly began this read with expectation of personally relating to dance, having been trained as a performer in this enchanting art while young – it still fascinates me.  However, at my age, the interest hasn’t waned, but the attempt to dance one step is precarious!




    Handsome Alec Valcourt, was a true dance and fencing master of the third generation in his family.  Family tragedy through scandalous activity caused the disappearance of his father and left the family dancing school in ruins.  Alec moved his mother and sister to Beaworthy to live with his uncle and the hope of finding employment in the Devonshire area.  We meet other characters in this story that provide personality and wit.  The author has provided many entertaining details to keep the mystery and romance alive.  However, by the conclusion of the book, I felt unsettled for the lack of completion in some areas.  It was difficult to remember who some of the characters were because of long periods of not learning more about them.  Of course, I might add that the weaknesses Julie Klassen wrote into her characters are realistic and very human.  There are transformations in hearts, and I especially liked Julie’s subtle scenes showing God’s grace and love through salvation in Christ.  Of course, some of the characters were church goers, but they didn’t behave in a Christian manner on a daily basis.  I did enjoy and was amused with the animals Julie created.  




    There are some redeeming qualities in Ms. Klassen’s The Dancing Master; however I enjoyed The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse and The Tutor's Daughter more.  This review will not end my admiration or enthusiastic following of Julie Klassen as I will certainly be looking forward to her next novel.  God is not finished with what she can create next.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    ¿The Dancing Master¿ by Julie Klassen is another masterfully wri

    “The Dancing Master” by Julie Klassen is another masterfully written novel, but I would not have expected anything less from Ms. Klassen. She consistently writes great fiction and does not disappoint with her Jane Austen style of story telling.
    The story revolves around Mr. Alec Valcourt, a dancing master, as the title indicates, and Ms. Julia Midwinter, the daughter of the wealthiest family in Beaworthy. Escaping London and the gossip there for quiet village of Beaworthy, poor Mr. Valcourt, soon learns dancing is prohibited, making for quite the dilemma of trying to find work to provide for his family. 
    Although the story is not fast-paced or action-packed, I was still drawn in by the excellent character development and the mystery of the Midwinters family history, and the parentage of Julia. The ending was not as I had expected, which I was pleasantly surprised by. My only criticism would be that I was not overly fond of the heroine, being that she reckless, selfish, and prideful a good majority of the book. My thought was that Mr. Valcourt deserved someone a little more like Julia’s best friend. In any case, I would still highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to escape to the English countryside for a few hours!
    This book was provided to me for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are completely my own. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    This is a charming, easy to read story that starts out simple an

    This is a charming, easy to read story that starts out simple and builds to a complex story.

    Alec Valcourt is a displaced Dance master. He lives with his uncle in the village of Beaworthy, Devonshire. Alec needs to provide for his mother and sister. His profession is frowned up-on in this village. Julia Desmond is a girl desperate to get away her overbearing mother and boring village. Will the Dancing Master tame Julia's flirtatious heart or will he have to leave town under a cloud of suspicion once again?

    The Dancing Master piqued my interest because of the Victorian England setting. This era always seems so romantic. The story starts out as a sweet, easy to read story. About two thirds of the way into the story, the reader learns of an intriguing twist in Julia's life. Klassen does a masterful job of foreshadowing. The reader starts to question and think which character could be involved in this new twist. Alec also has a surprising twist in his life as well. Both story-lines compliment one another as if they are following the stpes of a country dance.

    I appreciated how Klassen dealt with the issue of adopting. Being adopted myself, the sense of abandonment is something adoptees have to deal with at some point in their life. The reassurances of love from the other characters is also an important part of life. Klassen got this story-line correct.

    This is a great story for people who love Victorian England. Be forewarned you get more than a sweet story, you learn about the intricacies of families and a happy ending. My thanks to Bethany House Publishers for providing the free e-copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    This was a very beautiful story of healing, forgiveness, and gra

    This was a very beautiful story of healing, forgiveness, and grace!

    It was very different then what I originally expected because I didn't realize that a fairly good amount of the book is from Alec's point of view! I would say their was probably an equal amount of Alec and Julia's story combined, which surprised me initially! I don't mean to say this in a bad way because in the end I was very grateful that Mrs. Klassen included his story with such depth!

    Alec's life as a trying dancing master was interesting to say the least as well as the very angry and hurt Miss Midwinter. They both had such similar pain, but yet two completely different backgrounds! However I could easily relate to both of them in many ways, especially Julia which very much surprised me considering her life story is very different then mine!

    Since reading a few of Julie Klassen's books I have marked her as an author who weaves suspense into her stories as well as a touch of romance.In "The Dancing Master" she did no less then that! It was a rather sad and painful suspense concerning all the heartache and old wounds that arise, but there was such grace shown that I thanked God He would bestow such a gift on man! Plus the true identity that comes from Christ and the real love He gives us compared to any earthly parent was an amazing part of the story as well!

    Julie writes a tale that definitely tugged my heart strings, but also left me rejoicing in the freedom Christ brings us when we accept Him as our Savior! I give this novel a 4 out of 5 stars since there were just a few places that I lost interest!

    *Thank you Litfuse and Bethany House for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review! I thoroughly enjoyed it and all thoughts expressed are my own!"

    "But I don't think any parent can expect to escape this life without disappointing his child at some point. And the same could be said the other way around. We all of us fall short now and again, and disappoint someone dear to us, or ourselves. Thankfully, my parents have always been the forgiving sort."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1