Customer Reviews for

The Dare

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Exceeds expectations. My excessive use of Thor in this review w

    Exceeds expectations.

    My excessive use of Thor in this review will only be understood and revealed if you have read the book. (winks) 

    Before The Dare, honestly, The Bet series was a series I rarely remember. However, The Dare came and oh my Thor! Jace the Sena-Thor took my heart and as of writing, hasn't given it back yet. His and Beth's story is a sure swoon- worthy romance that will make every readers fall head over heels.

    Rachel Van Dyken has played Beth's character, as the damsel slash loser nerd in distress , very well. My heart never failed to clench when she wallows in self- pity. Her character is identifiable and so real. Then my heart goes "dun-dun" every time the mighty sena-Thor comes to the rescue. 

    Their love story is such a fairy tale.....

    ...with the help of the every greatest fairy grandmother! The return of Grandma Nadine! No The Bet series book is ever complete without her. Her humor, her magic and her bag of tricks just won't run out. 
    If this is the conclusion of the series, I will be very sad. I will miss the grandma that Rachel has unselfishly shared with us. But as grandma says....

    "it seems my work here isn't quite done yet."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    I really liked it.

    Rachel Van Dyken really outdid herself with Grandma Nadine in this one. I laughed so hard at points that I cried. The sugar cane excursion was by far the funniest thing I have read this year. Jace and Beth never stood a chance once Grandma Nadine got them in her sights. The lying, drugging and manipulation that goes on in this book is pretty interesting to read and a delight to see how it unfolds. The epilogue was good, but left me wanting to see more. If you liked the other books in this series, this one is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Laughed so hard!

    I love Rachel! Chapter 28 had me laughing so hard I could barely read. I love her writing I always feel like I am a partt of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    must read

    This is a must read book. I love a book that gets you to laugh out loud!!!!!! Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Love RVD books

    Love the book love the series.... Rachel is one of my favorits writers.. all of her books are amazing....


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    4 hilarious stars

    Still pouting cause I thought I had 25 more pages of my wonderful book only to realize there was extras at the end. That just tells you how great the author and story line is when you get sucked in and are upset because it ended and you want more, well could always read more.
    This one is kind of hard for me...I wanted to give it a 5 but just couldn't maybe its because I have a book boyfriend crush on Travis and Jace is no where near that prince charming of a man. So I am torn as to the rating to give because Jace and Beth were not my favorite couple but it doesn't make their story any less wonderful. Its real and imperfect, and heartbreaking and hilarious. "The Dare" has all of Rachel Van Dyken's normal chaos, which you can't help but love. I literally had to read scene after scene to my hubby because I wanted someone to laugh with me. Took my breath make you cry kind of laughing.

    There are lots of Grandma Nadine in this and I love it! She is telling the beginning of each chapter to the FBI!!

    "I don't like loud breathers. Doesn't mean I smother people with pillows when I'm irritated." she joked. "Sometimes, my dear, we need a push."
    "Is that what you are? A little push?"
    "Hell no." Grandma snorted. "The little push is your conscience. I'm a damn atom bomb."

    We struggle right along with Jace & Beth as they deal with impossible and uncomfortable situation after situation, curses and a wager. As they fight their attraction and are brutally honest to the point of pain.

    But this book will keep you guessing and coming back for more, I am so sure I would bet on it, dare you to finish and wager you to admit you didn't laugh out loud and love this series of characters. Did we mention Jace looks like Thor!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Outrageously funny!!! Laughed out loud so that my kids thought I

    Outrageously funny!!! Laughed out loud so that my kids thought I was crazy!  RVD is amazing and Grandma Nadine is my hero!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    really disappointed in this, my first read of this author. I ex

    really disappointed in this, my first read of this author. I expected so much more, it was cute but really was a challenge to believe this could happen to any intelligent person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    Jace reminded me of Jamie Jaymeson from the Seaside series, minu

    Jace reminded me of Jamie Jaymeson from the Seaside series, minus the British accent. I absolutely loved Jace in this book. The way he felt inside about things, I wish more guys were like that. I like the setup with Grandma Nadine's conversations with the FBI at the beginning of each chapter. Some of those conversations had me cracking up and glad that I was at home reading instead of at work. The author knows how to write a swoon worthy love story without the language and gratuitous sex. I could so totally relate to Beth when she was in high school and understand her insecurities that she has. I don't want this series to end just yet, because not only will Grandma Nadine be missed, but all of the characters will be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Another hit

    Really couldnt put jace and beths story down...love grandma...what a hoot. I was laughing outloud. Please rachel keep this series coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Could this book get any better...no I don't think so! I absolut

    Could this book get any better...no I don't think so! I absolutely loved the first two books in this series and was waiting for this one. It did not disappoint! I laughed so hard I was crying. Grandma Nadine was her perfectly insane self. Jace was hilarious and I loved that Beth called him Thor...the book was the perfect get away...A must read. I am sad to hear that Grandma won't be making another appearance...I loved her and will miss her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Another great read from Rachel that had me laughing all the way

    Another great read from Rachel that had me laughing all the way through. I wish I had my own Grandma Nadine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Jewel

    Looks around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    The Dare by Rachel Van Dyken is book 3 in The Bet Series. While

    The Dare by Rachel Van Dyken is book 3 in The Bet Series. While each book revolves around a separate couple and could be read as a standalone I very much recommend reading these in order. Not only are they some of the funniest books I have read but the stories do interconnect. I absolutely LOVED The Dare, this book was sweet, funny and just sexy enough. I was not surprised to find that I could not put it down because that has been the whole series for meBeth and Jace wake up after the wedding of her sister and his friend together in a hotel room and nothing but crazy Granma Nadine antics happen from there. In the middle of all the insanity that Grandma always seems to cause is a very sweet and endearing love story. Beth is a scientist and very rational she knows what she wants and what she doesn’t want. And what is it that Beth doesn’t want, a politician. Enter Jace, you guessed it, a politician! But, when Grandma is around what you want or better yet what you think you want does not matter. Things get complicated quickly with the press getting involved and sweet innocent Beth even getting called a Prostitute.
    One would think with as many crazy antics that take place in the book, donkey ride from HELL as well as contestant interruption and interference from Grandma and so much more, that this would come off as cheesy but that is where the beauty of Rachel’s writing comes in play. She has a way of making you laugh and fall in love all at the same time. One of Rachel’s skill that not many have is the ability to write a very sexy novel without a lot of actual sex or even graphic sex. Between the very clear attraction Jace and Beth have and the hilarity that Grandma brings I honesty cannot recommend this book enough. The Bet series as a whole is one I find myself reading again and again and I can’t wait for you all to discover and enjoy it!


    Now all I can hope for right now is that Rachel isn’t done and that there will indeed be more Grandma Nadine in my life!



    ~miranda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book from Rachel Van Dyken. The final book in The

    Another great book from Rachel Van Dyken. The final book in The Bet series follows Jace Brevik and Beth Lynn. They wake up together in a hotel after Travis and Kacey's wedding reception and neither one can remember a thing.

    This book actually featured more insight into Grandma Nadine with her interactions at the beginning of each chapter. She is hilarious and I have to say that those little snippets made the book that much better.

    Rachel definitely knows how to make you laugh, cry and even want to scream at the characters all at the same time. I enjoyed seeing all of the Titus family back together and the hijinks were even better this time around. I am definitely going to miss this series and all of its characters. Great job Rachel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    I am not the least surprised that this book was fantastic as all

    I am not the least surprised that this book was fantastic as all of Rachel's books are. Oh Grandma Nadine you are loved by so many. this book was LoL funny .. I even shed a few tears too. Beth and Jace's story was another great story of love laughter and yes Grandma. this is the 3rd book in the Bet series and I highly recommend all 3. kudos Rachel for what I know will hit #1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Holy Thor! Laughed so hard at the antics of Grandma. What a grea

    Holy Thor! Laughed so hard at the antics of Grandma. What a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    HOLY THOR! Rachel Van Dyken did it again! She had a bestselling

    HOLY THOR! Rachel Van Dyken did it again! She had a bestselling series with The Bet on her hands and with an expertise that only Rachel Van Dyken can manage she not only picked up where she left off she managed to captivate me all over again!

    If you haven’t had the privilege of being introduced to this series, you are seriously missing out! You get to know and adore the one of a kind Grandma Nadine - the hilarious, super smart, slightly manipulative, always up to something matriarch of the Titus family. Her grandsons' Travis and Jake play prominent roles in the first two books in this wonderful series. But The Wager features the absolutely entertaining characters, Jace and Beth.

    OH MY THOR! Beth and Jace! What can I say about them! What happens when you take boring Beth Lynn and sexy as sin state senator Jace and toss them into a bed after a night neither of them can remember? Well, of course you add Grandma Nadine to the mix! As she whisks them off to Hawaii they embark on what can only be called the adventure of their lives!

    GOOD THOR! Jace and Beth are compelling characters and their interactions and dialogue will have you laughing out loud. Their relationship is fun to witness as they get to know each other. And there are just NO WORDS for Grandma Nadine! You will need to experience HER for yourself!

    The Dare is the perfect summer read! An absolute gem of a book to take with you to the beach or sit outside and lounge at the pool with! I absolutely LOVED it!!! 

    The Dare is the third book in Rachel Van Dyken's The Bet Series, however it is a standalone and you do not have to read the first two to enjoy this one! (But The Bet and The Wager rocked and you get more Grandma Nadine, so I do highly recommend it!) Go and grab this book NOW! You won’t regret it ;)

    I received a Complimentary Copy of The Dare from the author in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2