Customer Reviews for

The Dare

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Exceeds expectations. My excessive use of Thor in this review w

Exceeds expectations.

My excessive use of Thor in this review will only be understood and revealed if you have read the book. (winks) 

Before The Dare, honestly, The Bet series was a series I rarely remember. However, The Dare came and oh my Thor! Jace the Sena-Thor t...
Exceeds expectations.

My excessive use of Thor in this review will only be understood and revealed if you have read the book. (winks) 

Before The Dare, honestly, The Bet series was a series I rarely remember. However, The Dare came and oh my Thor! Jace the Sena-Thor took my heart and as of writing, hasn't given it back yet. His and Beth's story is a sure swoon- worthy romance that will make every readers fall head over heels.

Rachel Van Dyken has played Beth's character, as the damsel slash loser nerd in distress , very well. My heart never failed to clench when she wallows in self- pity. Her character is identifiable and so real. Then my heart goes "dun-dun" every time the mighty sena-Thor comes to the rescue. 

Their love story is such a fairy tale.....

...with the help of the every greatest fairy grandmother! The return of Grandma Nadine! No The Bet series book is ever complete without her. Her humor, her magic and her bag of tricks just won't run out. 
If this is the conclusion of the series, I will be very sad. I will miss the grandma that Rachel has unselfishly shared with us. But as grandma says....

"it seems my work here isn't quite done yet."

posted by Liza_Dequilla on July 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The entire book just felt really cheesy. Beth was a very boring

The entire book just felt really cheesy. Beth was a very boring heroine and I had a hard time reading the chapters that were from her point of view. Jace was ok, but Grandma was the star of this book. 

On another note, a couple of things that bugged me but didn't affec...
The entire book just felt really cheesy. Beth was a very boring heroine and I had a hard time reading the chapters that were from her point of view. Jace was ok, but Grandma was the star of this book. 

On another note, a couple of things that bugged me but didn't affect the story, the editor really didn't do his/her job. The same person's name was spelt two different ways and I noticed that it switched from first to third person and back again a few times. Also, Jace is a US senator at 28 while the minimum age to be a senator is 30... fail...

posted by 3707395 on August 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Exceeds expectations. My excessive use of Thor in this review w

    Exceeds expectations.

    My excessive use of Thor in this review will only be understood and revealed if you have read the book. (winks) 

    Before The Dare, honestly, The Bet series was a series I rarely remember. However, The Dare came and oh my Thor! Jace the Sena-Thor took my heart and as of writing, hasn't given it back yet. His and Beth's story is a sure swoon- worthy romance that will make every readers fall head over heels.

    Rachel Van Dyken has played Beth's character, as the damsel slash loser nerd in distress , very well. My heart never failed to clench when she wallows in self- pity. Her character is identifiable and so real. Then my heart goes "dun-dun" every time the mighty sena-Thor comes to the rescue. 

    Their love story is such a fairy tale.....

    ...with the help of the every greatest fairy grandmother! The return of Grandma Nadine! No The Bet series book is ever complete without her. Her humor, her magic and her bag of tricks just won't run out. 
    If this is the conclusion of the series, I will be very sad. I will miss the grandma that Rachel has unselfishly shared with us. But as grandma says....

    "it seems my work here isn't quite done yet."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    HOLY THOR! Rachel Van Dyken did it again! She had a bestselling

    HOLY THOR! Rachel Van Dyken did it again! She had a bestselling series with The Bet on her hands and with an expertise that only Rachel Van Dyken can manage she not only picked up where she left off she managed to captivate me all over again!

    If you haven’t had the privilege of being introduced to this series, you are seriously missing out! You get to know and adore the one of a kind Grandma Nadine - the hilarious, super smart, slightly manipulative, always up to something matriarch of the Titus family. Her grandsons' Travis and Jake play prominent roles in the first two books in this wonderful series. But The Wager features the absolutely entertaining characters, Jace and Beth.

    OH MY THOR! Beth and Jace! What can I say about them! What happens when you take boring Beth Lynn and sexy as sin state senator Jace and toss them into a bed after a night neither of them can remember? Well, of course you add Grandma Nadine to the mix! As she whisks them off to Hawaii they embark on what can only be called the adventure of their lives!

    GOOD THOR! Jace and Beth are compelling characters and their interactions and dialogue will have you laughing out loud. Their relationship is fun to witness as they get to know each other. And there are just NO WORDS for Grandma Nadine! You will need to experience HER for yourself!

    The Dare is the perfect summer read! An absolute gem of a book to take with you to the beach or sit outside and lounge at the pool with! I absolutely LOVED it!!! 

    The Dare is the third book in Rachel Van Dyken's The Bet Series, however it is a standalone and you do not have to read the first two to enjoy this one! (But The Bet and The Wager rocked and you get more Grandma Nadine, so I do highly recommend it!) Go and grab this book NOW! You won’t regret it ;)

    I received a Complimentary Copy of The Dare from the author in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    humor meets sexy in this fun read! Love RVD!

    humor meets sexy in this fun read! Love RVD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    I like it, it had me laughing through it more than any book in a

    I like it, it had me laughing through it more than any book in a long time i just wish it had a bit more suspense and drama in emotional between the couple instead of between the grandma and the two main characters all in all i will be looking at her other books. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    Great quick read.


    Fun, flirty read. I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    Loved

    So many LOL's with Grandma Nadine...loved her interaction with the FBI agent. Loved Beth and Jace too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Loved It

    This book was great. It was funny. And I want to meet Grandma Nadine


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Dean

    Age:20. gender: male. appearance(human):short, dark, spiked up hair, tan skin, golden colored eyes. appearance(werewolf): gold fur with blue glowing eyes. family: dead or unknown. personality:protective, funny, kind. Clothes: blue jean, grey t-shirt, a black leather jacket. fears: spiders. mate/crush: alex! other info: i have asthma. important info stand a few feet away from me when you wake me up. Other: just ask.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Starmoons bio

    Namr: look up.

    Age: 18

    Looks: (wolf): pure white fur, hazel eyes; (human): hazel eyes, red hair, slightly tan, has muscles but is very beautiful.

    Family: one brother; parents died.

    Personality: kind, loving stubrn protective loyal.

    Mate/crush/kits: none of the above.

    Other: ask her.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Jacob

    Name: look up age: not sayin' history: long and boring wolf form: black wolf with emerald green eyes other: werewolf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Hazels bio

    Name hazel
    <p>
    Age sixteen
    <p>
    Gender female
    <p>
    Mate none
    <p>
    Status single
    <p>
    Description uhh..... wolf, black and grey. Human.....thin and pretty

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Shadow bio

    Name: Shadow Overgreen <p> Age: 17 years old. <p> Gender: Male. <p> Hair: black hair. <p> Eyes: brown eyes. <p> Crush/mate/pups: no, no, no. <p> Personality: smart, fast, nice, and loyal. <p> History: dont ask. <p> Other: just ask!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Nemisis Bio (updated)

    Name: read the title
    Gender: girl
    Age: go die in a hole
    Likes: Doctor Who, cheese and dragons
    Dislikes: d Doctor Who spoofs, arrogance
    Fav Dance: Th drunken giraffee (i nearly died laughing!)
    Human form: pale skinned tall black and dark amber eyes
    Wolf form: silver wity black ear tips and tail tip
    Personality: fiercly loyal and very dangerous more of a kill now ask questions layer
    Fighting style: plays dirty going for the eyes and nose, before gutting you or tearing your throat out.
    Rank: Captain
    Fav motto: Exterminate!
    Other info: I give yoo all this and ypu want more? *tearsvthroat out*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Midnight's bio (updated)

    Name-You have eyes right? Rank-Alpha. Age-16. Gender-Female. Crush/Mate/Pups-Angus=),Angus=],none=.[. Human look-5ft6. Light blonde hair((Tied in a bun))+ocean blue eyes. Tan skin. Human cloths-Camo tank-top,leggings and uggs. Wolf look-Blue fur with blonde eyes.Personallity-Kind,crazy,wierdo,a good friend,crazed idiot. Other-Ask...im an open book......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Alex & Angus & Samantha bios (updated)

    Name:Alexandria Dare.<p>Age:18.<p>Gender:............<p>Mate/Crush:Dean.<3<p>Looks(human):a girl with pale skin,long dark hair,and deep green eyes that flash red if she gets mad.<p>Looks(wolf):a sleek black wolf with green eyes speckled with gold,and is taller than your average werewolf.<p>Looks(demon):a bloody gigantic demon with black eyes,a tail,talons,and way more than your average nightmare.waaaaay more.<p>Personality:sarcastic,se.xy,bada$$,enigma....she could give you an alphabetical list,but that would take too long.<p>Friends:Angus,Samantha,Nemesis,Midnight,Dean,Sam,Sierra....ummm....thats the entire pack.<p>Likes:everything supernatural.especially zombies.<p>Hates:snotty angels,math,mornings,spiders,hospitals,and snarky demon king dads.<p>Other:ask.she usually wont bite.<p><p>Name:THE KING OF IMPENDING DOOM..nah..thats a joke.his name is Angus Wolfstone.<p>Age:19<p>Gender:boy.<p>Mate/Crush:Alpha Awesome..her name is Midnight.<p>Looks(human):tall boy with olive toned skin,ash colored hair,green eyes,and a lopsided grin.<p>Personality:Sweet,smart,aaand *wiggles eyebrows* schmexy.<p>Friends:all.<p>Likes:Star Wars,and being a dorkus.^_^<p>Hates:evil things....NOOOO BAD EVIL KITTEN! BAD BOY! XD<p>Other:Ask the guy...um...over there..<p>Samantha erm...decided not to participate...*heard from hallway* NO,YOU MOTHERF***ERS! WHAT THE F*** IS WRONG WITH YOU?! IM GONNA BEAT YOUR SORRY A**!! Ummm....dont mind her...*hurridly slams door shut,cutting off Samantha's tirade*bye......XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Paytons bio

    Name:Payton Titan Reed Gender:Male Age:17 years old Apperence:Black hair that falls into his starteling green eyed.He is clean shaced and is thin Peranality:quiet soft spoken. Other;just ask....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Laughed so hard!

    I love Rachel! Chapter 28 had me laughing so hard I could barely read. I love her writing I always feel like I am a partt of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    must read

    This is a must read book. I love a book that gets you to laugh out loud!!!!!! Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Love RVD books

    Love the book love the series.... Rachel is one of my favorits writers.. all of her books are amazing....


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Outrageously funny!!! Laughed out loud so that my kids thought I

    Outrageously funny!!! Laughed out loud so that my kids thought I was crazy!  RVD is amazing and Grandma Nadine is my hero!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2