Customer Reviews for

The Dark Heroine: Dinner with a Vampire (Dark Heroine Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love It!

Read on wattpad. Amazing story by an amazing writer! So glad that this was published! Way better then Twilight!

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

It was alright

I was introduced to this story on Wattpad, and unless the author altered the story fully, it was nothing more than a story of some girl who thinks she's normal and then gets sucked into a world of fantasy and finds out shes supper important. The boom started out great; ...
I was introduced to this story on Wattpad, and unless the author altered the story fully, it was nothing more than a story of some girl who thinks she's normal and then gets sucked into a world of fantasy and finds out shes supper important. The boom started out great; my attention was fully there. But, as the main character became a broken down girl who cried constantly, i lost interest. Also, it seemed the orignal story line had not been what is found out later. It felt like it was an abrut change in directions of the story. The characters started to lag and become way less than what the were at the start; in all honesty, i found the hatred all the characters but Kasper had for Violet was far to extreme, especially the guy that had been obsessed with her until she pickwd Kasper. Then, he just violently hates her?

Summary: it started off good with good characters then turned into something with a poorly constructed depressed teen girl who cried about everything and thought everything was her fault and a bunch of overkh hateful other characters. The plot also tooj a violent twist that did not play well with the start in my own opinion. There is a difference in a twist and what happened in this story.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Violet Lee had no idea that a girls' night out would change her

    Violet Lee had no idea that a girls' night out would change her life. When she stumbles upon a mass murder perpetrated by men with inhuman strength and speed, she is captured and taken back to Varnley, the estate belonging to the vampire Varn royal family. You can well imagine that Violet is not the first such young woman to find herself the Varns' plaything. However, she just happens to be the daughter of a VIP in the British government, and her abduction might just bring an all-out war between humans and vampires, something that not everyone would like to avoid. Violet's choices are to wait it out and see if dear old Dad can muster a rescue or become a bloodsucker herself of her own free will. She would never choose that. Or would she? After a time, Violet is no longer sure what she wants, and the fact that the royal princes are pretty darn hot don't make things easier. However, it turns out that fate has even more in store for Violet Lee.

    I'm torn on this one. It held my interest most of the way through. However, I'm not sure that most of it was anything new. Teenaged vampire love--been there, done that. These are not sparkly, sweet, non-violent vampires. They revel in their predatory nature. Violet is shockingly not as shocked and repulsed as one would imagine. Then things got weird and pretty vague. There is a Prophecy about nine Dark Heroines. I'm a little unclear on exactly what they're supposed to do except turn into near-goddesses and work together to bring about peace between humans and all of the dark beings, the inhabitants of "the dimensions." (I'm not really clear on the whole "dimensions" thing, either.) The first Dark Heroine has already been found (you'll get her story in the second volume of the series) in another dimension, and now the search is one for the Dark Heroine of the dimension inhabited by the vampires. Three guesses, anyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Overall, I liked the story...

    When i found out (after reading the book) that the author is very young, the awkwardness of some of the writing made sense. Not that it was bad, just that the author needs some practice writing. I couldn't put it down so i have to say I enjoyed the book. I was waiting for a climactic ending, just to have the story end abruptly. She must be setting up for another book. However, the end was just too wide open to be satisfying. I turned several pages thinking, "That's it?!" I will be reading the next book of the series, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good but disjointed

    Overall, I enjoyed it but the main characters' actions were disjointed and the plot skipped around. Probably won't read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Going into this book I was a bit skeptical. This story has gotte

    Going into this book I was a bit skeptical. This story has gotten lots of mixed reviews. And well, I certainly felt like there is an appeal to it but other parts of the book just rubbed me the wrong way.

    Plot: I want to talk about what I did like in the story. I liked the plot. I loved the idea of dark heroines chosen for destiny that is far beyond them. The alone captured me enough to read through the story. Every chapter reveals more about the prophecy and what is to come. I’m excited to see what each heroine has to offer and they are destined to do.

    Love: Now this is the part that bugged me. I’m all for falling for bad boys but this guy was just um…out here. The girl gets kidnapped and then treated horribly. Well, she could have been treated worse , still there are certain circumstance and issue that I didn’t really like. Like the fact that Kaspar is just really mean and bitter towards Violet. They argue a lot and play cruel tricks on each other. I guess you can say that is there way of flirting. To me, it seems a little childish. Like Violet is on a school playground and Kaspar comes along and pushes her into the mud. Points and laugh. But that is his way of showing he likes her. You know what I mean? There is a lot of that going on in the story that I couldn’t really invest in this love. There are many arguments and unexpected plot turns that it felt like the loved is rush. I guess you can say there is more focus on the world around them rather the on them.

    Ending: The ending of the book wraps up the story well. I liked how well every secret of the prophecy is revealed and how everything came together. I’m interested in reading the next book cause I would like to see what the prophecy says next.

    Overall, this is an okay book. The plot definitely has a pull of a dark world with magnificent secrets hiding. With an exciting conclusion, Dinner With A Vampire is pleasing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1