BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dark Heroine: Dinner with a Vampire (Dark Heroine Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love It!

Read on wattpad. Amazing story by an amazing writer! So glad that this was published! Way better then Twilight!

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

It was alright

I was introduced to this story on Wattpad, and unless the author altered the story fully, it was nothing more than a story of some girl who thinks she's normal and then gets sucked into a world of fantasy and finds out shes supper important. The boom started out great; ...
I was introduced to this story on Wattpad, and unless the author altered the story fully, it was nothing more than a story of some girl who thinks she's normal and then gets sucked into a world of fantasy and finds out shes supper important. The boom started out great; my attention was fully there. But, as the main character became a broken down girl who cried constantly, i lost interest. Also, it seemed the orignal story line had not been what is found out later. It felt like it was an abrut change in directions of the story. The characters started to lag and become way less than what the were at the start; in all honesty, i found the hatred all the characters but Kasper had for Violet was far to extreme, especially the guy that had been obsessed with her until she pickwd Kasper. Then, he just violently hates her?

Summary: it started off good with good characters then turned into something with a poorly constructed depressed teen girl who cried about everything and thought everything was her fault and a bunch of overkh hateful other characters. The plot also tooj a violent twist that did not play well with the start in my own opinion. There is a difference in a twist and what happened in this story.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Really good but a bit torn

    As a whole, I loved this book and anticipate any that may follow, but there were some points were I was a bit uncomfortable and I don't really consider myself a prude. Some of the scenes between the main characters were very intense. I read a review on Amazon that said it normalized rape culture and while I dont necessarily agree completely with the reviewer, I understood where they were coming from. I also think this is ultimately a YA novel (main character is 17/18), I would definitely lean more towards the "adult". Also, I read that the author is 17 and I'm not sure what to make of that in terms of content as well. All that said, I really did enjoy it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Read on wattpad and loved! As soon as I saw it was published I purchased. This is is definetly a really good read. It was a tingling breath of fresh air on the vampire genre. Although I was bit lost with the king hating her, I feel like it was all of a sudden.. but other than that awesome!! So glad you got published "girly" (lol) you certainly deserve it.
    <3 ONE OF YOUR MANY WATTPAD FANS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Good writing, fast read and hooks you from the beginning. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Having seen Dinner with a Vampire on the bookshelf I was immedia

    Having seen Dinner with a Vampire on the bookshelf I was immediately drawn in by the beautiful artwork and the book was put on my &quot;to read&quot; list.  It wasn't until Autumn Rose came out that I returned to my list and rediscovered Dinner with a Vampire. I went back and read both books.  They were utterly entertaining.  I have to admit I'm partial to paranormal writing and this fit the bill.  These books have a wonderful dark edge to them, that leaves me guessing what will actually happen.  The first book was a little slow, but boy once it hit the climax I could not put it down.  Then on to Autumn Rose, which I sped through.  These books can read like a Teen title, but who cares. They are very enjoyable. I'm thoroughly looking forward to the remaining Dark Heroine Series and cannot wait to learn of the next Heroine and see how it all plays out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I really liked this book.

    I think if you like the show "The originals" then you will enjoy the book :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Very enjoyable.

    Very enjoyable. Interesting plot. Story could have been flushed out more. Still the concept of longer than usual vampire lifespan and multi-dimensions sets the stage for more stories and creating a believable universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very realistic.

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very realistic. I loved Kasper especially.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Personally I think Abigail has done well writing this book for a

    Personally I think Abigail has done well writing this book for a fifteen year old. I think you are a good writer and do not believe otherwise. Is not everyone that is able to write a book. Most people might have wanted to be writers too but due to lack of talent, they're not able to create even a single plot to write about (not that they are stupid but its not easy to create a piece). Keep it up but maybe you could broden yourelf a bit; you have talent thats all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    The writing could have used a bit of work, but it has a Great Pl

    The writing could have used a bit of work, but it has a Great Plot. I feel that the writing used in this book would be acceptable for someone in middle school (11-14), whereas the content itself should only be read by high schoolers and above.

    The writing doesn't involve an overwhelming amount of detail, which gives the reader space to use a bit of imagination in order to visualize the scene. For example, usually the books I read go to great lengths to describe a character's dress, but in the process, I get completely lost trying to understand what every detail of the dress looks like. In The Dark Heroine, simpler words are used to paint the picture of the dress, and for once, I could imagine a character's outfit perfectly.
    Also, another flaw of the writing is that even though the book's setting is in England, the speech of the characters often seemed like American English with a few British terms used here and there. In fact, when an American character was introduced, he and the British characters spoke in the same fashion.

    I feel that the main characters are well developed, but the background characters don't have near as much personality as the main ones. Also, as the story progressed Violet, one of the main characters, cried more and more, which is odd because during the beginning of the book, she bites back her tears and refuses to let any drop.

    Now onto a little description of the story!
    Violet is just your average 17 year old. She attends parties, argues with her inter voice, and cares deeply for her family. Her little sister has cancer and is bed-bound, her older brother has died, and her father is one of the most powerful men in England's government.
    When Violet stays out a little too late waiting for her friend in Trafalgar Square, she becomes the only witness to a mass murder of 30 men. Who could have possibly committed this heinous crime you ask? 6 boys, all of whom are unarmed and appear to be under 20.
    Violet is unable to escape the scene undetected and is taken as a hostage by the boys, but her father isn't going to give up his daughter so easily.

    I'd really rather not say anymore for fear of spoiling the book. Even though many of the early scenes could have been written in more detail, I find The Dark Heroine: Dinner with a Vampire to be a great book. But be warned, there are a few scenes that might make both male and female readers blush.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First off I want to thank Librarything give-away program for cho

    First off I want to thank Librarything give-away program for choosing me as a winner of this book in return for  a review. I really enjoyed it. It's a gothic, dark, and sexy romance. Im surprised to read some saying it is like Twilight because it was nothing like it! It was much more grown up feeling to me with an edgier darkness to it. I really enjoyed bad boy Kaspar not being this perfect vampire boyfriend. He is obviously roughly flawed but does still have that heart of goal underneath it all. The ending leaves it hanging just  a little to let you know that there is more coming in this story and I am definitely interested in reading on what more is in store for Violet and Kaspar! I will be buying the second one for sure! Thanks again for giving me a free book. Free books are always nice but it's really great when it's a book you really enjoy and plan to keep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Dinner With a Vampire' is a sexy, fun novel that fol

    4.5 Stars

    'Dinner With a Vampire' is a sexy, fun novel that follows Violet Lee as she is ripped out of her normal life in London and is abducted by a band of vampires after witnessing them murder a group of men. They hold her captive in their mansion and eventually Violet learns more about them. The Varn family, including the strikingly handsome yet rude Kaspar Varn, is vampire royalty. Kaspar is arrogant and also heir to the Varn throne - he also has secrets that hold the power to bring the kingdom down around them. Violet learns that she may be the key behind an ancient Prophecy that will end violence between humans and vampires forever. Her growing attraction to Kaspar isn't helping her survival and soon she must face the ultimate choice - her humanity or her growing pull to the vampires.

    This was an enchanting and thrilling novel that definitely holds the reader in its grasp until the final page. The setting was really perfect for the plot - a Gothic mansion deep in the forests of London - it made the book feel all the creepier and realistic. The characters were interesting, if a bit cliched at times. Violet was a great heroine. She's strong and brave, yet vulnerable and flawed at the same time. I was able to ignore the stereotypical parts of her character and ended up really liking her and I was definitely rooting for her throughout the book. Kaspar is your typical bad boy leading guy. He's gorgeous and arrogant; cocky but has a good heart buried underneath it all. Despite being a bit cliche at the beginning, I was intrigued by his underlying character. The rest of the characters were all unique and had their own personalities and habits, which I thought made them all feel believable and realistic as well. The plot wasn't anything that the genre hasn't seen before - vampires and humans falling in love, danger, an ancient Propehecy, etc. I did like the history of the vampire royalty and the general vampire/human history that was revealed in the book. I felt it gave the novel a layer of depth that sets it apart from others like it. Overall, this is a fantastic first book in an enthralling and captivating new series, and I will definitely be waiting for the next installment. Highly recommended for fans of YA vampire fiction and paranormal romance.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Violet is in the wrong place at the wrong time when she ends up

    Violet is in the wrong place at the wrong time when she ends up in Trafalgar Square in the wee hours of the morning. There she witnesses a mass murder and is swept away by the murderers. This plunges her into a world that she knows nothing about but finds out her father is very well aware of. Kasper, the prince and heir to his father’s throne and the bad boy, doesn’t know why he whisks Violet away but now he must live with the decision because if they kill her there will be a war between the humans and vampires. Violet’s father is none other than the Secretary of State of Defense and is looking for any chance to wage war against Kasper’s kind.

    Violet’s character is feisty but yet vulnerable. Her inner dialogue was interesting and a bit confusing at first but there is a reason for it (I won’t give away why). The vampires in Gibb’s story are really dark and at times a bit disturbed. In the beginning Violet connects with a vampire named Fabian who comes off as caring and understanding to Violet’s plight. What may you ask is her plight? Well, Violet must decide to either become a vampire or die. She can’t be allowed back into the world with what she knows about them now (think the reverse of Twilight). In a twist it is discovered that Violet is actually something more and that her and Kasper’s future are really not so different.

    I was not disappointed in Dinner with a Vampire and I will read the next installment. This story doesn’t contain any sparkly vampires. Be prepared to enter a very dark and troubled world.

    (Book was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Surprisingly Good

    I have read many books about vampires, werewolves, and other creatures and it's starting to get a little boring reading new books.
    This book did not follow the regular heroine and hero in vampire stories. You think you knew that the good guy in the story but half way through the bad guy becomes the hero. This book was refeshing and an easy read. I'm really curious to see what the second book will be like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2