Customer Reviews for

The Dark Side: The Inside Story of How the War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Every American Must Read This Book!

Written by ace New Yorker writer Jane Mayer, this book is a page-turning thriller detailing how the Bush Administration reacted to the attacks of 9/11. If you care about our constitution, the rule of law, due process and your own civil liberties, you must read this b...
Written by ace New Yorker writer Jane Mayer, this book is a page-turning thriller detailing how the Bush Administration reacted to the attacks of 9/11. If you care about our constitution, the rule of law, due process and your own civil liberties, you must read this book. Consider it a legal brief on the crimes of the Bush Administration. All the more devastating because it true.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not so fast!

Time will tell the legacy of this administration. Many mistakes have been made.But,much to the disappointment of many liberals, the war in Iraq has turned around and the outcome may prove to be the fatal blow to Al-Quada.God bless our troops. God bless America!

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    Every American Must Read This Book!

    Written by ace New Yorker writer Jane Mayer, this book is a page-turning thriller detailing how the Bush Administration reacted to the attacks of 9/11. If you care about our constitution, the rule of law, due process and your own civil liberties, you must read this book. Consider it a legal brief on the crimes of the Bush Administration. All the more devastating because it true.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Very shocking

    The door to the misdeeds of the Bush Administration is opened a bit more in this shocking book.The torture discribed on its pages and the total disregard for American values exibited by those in power is nothing less than war crimes.Abu Ghraib is only one example of the depths of depravity exhibited and condoned by those in power in the US Government.As is pointed out in this book, the US historically has taken the 'high road' on prisoner treatment.For whatever reason, the Executive Branch has thrown those values out the window in their zeal to make us safer. As the author points out, their misdeeds have not only made the US more contemptible to many people in the world, we have also become more vulnerable.The saddest part of this book's message is in pointing out how far those in power in the US have carried us into an abyss. And I dare say that there will be more books to come out as time passes on how bad the past eight years have been for our country.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    For those too busy to cruise the web

    If you're a regular reader of some of the better websites exposing graft, corruption, malfeasance and gutting of the constitution. Sites like Harpers No Comment Blog by Columbia University's award winning lawyer, Scott Harper or Talking Points Memo's Muckraker site, then most of this will not be new to you. But if all the news you get is the mainstream media reports from ABC, CBS, NBC, or worst of all, Fox News then you're going to be shocked at some of the revelations in this book. But make no mistake, everything outlined here is absolutely and unequivocally true. If most of America doesn't soon wake up to what has happened, we will become a fascist state in short order. The book outlines the fact that we're well on our way and we have many 'good Germans' who are allowing it to happen.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Not so fast!

    Time will tell the legacy of this administration. Many mistakes have been made.But,much to the disappointment of many liberals, the war in Iraq has turned around and the outcome may prove to be the fatal blow to Al-Quada.God bless our troops. God bless America!

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended to understand the what has been done to fight terrorism

    Agree or not with the actions taken, this book provides a wide range of torture examples sanctioned and authorized by U.S. officials along with the outcome of the information gathered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Did we give away our allies, laws, and moral high ground?

    Mayer tells her story slowly, deliberately, carefully placing interview upon interview until we are faced with a pile of facts so distastful that it is difficult to imagine we turned faces away for so long. It is true we "didn't know," but the secrecy surrounding the internal operations of the White House is no excuse for allowing what we all may have suspected--that we were losing our moral high ground in the war against terror by stooping so low as to disregard our own, and international laws, in order to fight a virally-organized group of people that hated us for our excesses--the very excesses we were proving to be unequivocably true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    fascinating

    the dark side is a tremendously important book----reveals all the secrets and lies of the bush regime. sorts out a murky and hard to understand trail of events that led to america's use of torture.----once i started, i couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    Response to Reviewers

    Many reviewers have written that Mayer is too biased in her writing. She is being biased, but that is the point of her persuasive literary work. True, if this were a journalistic piece in a newspaper or magazine, it would be inappropriately pointed, but she has written a book whose aim is to persuade its readers into her viewpoint. Obviously she will use facts which support her case while ommitting most facts that hinder her case. She has every right to produce and persuade readers - it speaks of her inspiring confidence and conviction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Read, But...

    The Dark Side is a compelling and well written study on the excess of power. It drove home to me the need for rules and checks. Dick Cheney, George Bush, David Addington and the other leaders of the Bush Administration appear to have lost sight that the rule of law is not just for the easy times, but is especially necessary in times of national stress.

    While Ms. Mayer does an excellent job stating her case, I found her voice a bit too biased. I am a little bothered by her over use of unnamed sources. While it may be difficult to give true credence to the arguments in favor of extreme executive power and the abuse of human rights, I would have found the book a bit more credible if Ms. Mayer hadn't given those views more than just lip service mentioning.

    Overall, I think this book should be mandatory reading for any American regardless of their political leanings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    the Liberal mind-set

    Every liberal wants to bash the Bush administration for the problems in Iraq. They seem to forget that the democrats had their hands in it too before GW Bush came into play. Yes, he and his advisor made mistakes, but he is not alone in that. Ms. Mayer comes from the mindset of so many young women today who profess certain ideals but adhere to none. They see only what they want to see. As far as a "war on american ideals"- it is the far-left liberals who are destroying this country.Destroying traditions and black-listing anyone who does not have the same ideology as they. These same liberals pay attention to the Hollywood loons who mouth off about the politics used in Iraq. I still see the Barbara Streisannds and the Alec Baldwins and the Susan Sarandons still staying here. Why?. If our policies are so corrupt, then why do they stay? The answer is because they realize that there is no other place they can go and be able to speak their mind without getting themselves "blacklisted" or worse yet- killed. I came from such a country where freedom of speech was not permitted.<BR/>Ms. Mayer may be informed and educated but she should write about facts and not what she feels. We don't need authors such as she.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Another

    Another smear piece meant to profit from current public sentiment. Don't bother.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    More of the same from a partisan hack...

    Jane Mayer has such a long history of partisan hacking it¿s hard to take anything she¿s writes seriously¿that said there is little corroborative substance to her claims, and whether or not one believes the numerous congressional investigations one has to wonder how it is that Ms. Mayer would have access to instances of torture not available to congress.<BR/><BR/>If you like cheap shot partisans attacks¿.you¿ll love this book.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2