Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla

Average Rating 4.5
( 585 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(382)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another amzing edition to the series

I am a die hard King fan and I think this is him at the top of his game. You can tell throughout the whole series that he really is having a ton of fun writing this and really enjoys the characters he developes.

posted by 6727513 on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wolves of the Calla, the Dark Tower series, Book 5

Being a fan of the Dark Tower series, I was highly disappointed in this book. I found it to be boring and unneccessary in the telling of the journey of the wonderful characters. This is a book that can be skipped in the reading of the series. This story could and should...
Being a fan of the Dark Tower series, I was highly disappointed in this book. I found it to be boring and unneccessary in the telling of the journey of the wonderful characters. This is a book that can be skipped in the reading of the series. This story could and should have been told in less than 700 pages. However, the tales of Susannah's pregnancy and the throwing of the plates are what kept me reading until the end. I am looking forward to book VI.

posted by brjunkie on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 587 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wolves of the Calla, the Dark Tower series, Book 5

    Being a fan of the Dark Tower series, I was highly disappointed in this book. I found it to be boring and unneccessary in the telling of the journey of the wonderful characters. This is a book that can be skipped in the reading of the series. This story could and should have been told in less than 700 pages. However, the tales of Susannah's pregnancy and the throwing of the plates are what kept me reading until the end. I am looking forward to book VI.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Boring!

    A real chore to get through. It made no sense in the overall plot of the series. Does not inspire me to read the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Whatever!

    I was not thrilled with book V. The dialogue was horrible and the story was slow with zero action. The whole book built up to the battle with the wolves. The battle lasted about 10 pages. Wow! King needed like 800 pages to prepare for the coming of the Wolves. I was confused why the characters suddenly started speaking in a different dialect. Also, Susannah said the same line over and over throughout the entire book. Of course I will finish the series, but I was not impressed. Only the strength of King's narrative and my love for the characters kept me going.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I love Stephen King but I did not enjoy this book. The folksy d

    I love Stephen King but I did not enjoy this book. The folksy dialogue was annoying and the story was boring. I struggled to finish it and if I read the Dark Tower series again, I will not read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Another amzing edition to the series

    I am a die hard King fan and I think this is him at the top of his game. You can tell throughout the whole series that he really is having a ton of fun writing this and really enjoys the characters he developes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Wolves of the Calla

    The Dark Tower's Series is about the best that Stephen King has written. For me only the Stand is in the same class. The Dark Tower series is long but when done I always look for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great moment of time in Roland's ka-tet

    The Wolves of Calla got a lot of lower star ratings than the previous books in the series and a lot of the comments stated that it just didn¿t have the action that the other books had, that it was slower. As I read, it is apparent that this book doesn¿t have that injection of action throughout the story as the previous ones in the series did. However, I really felt the build up that was created until the end was really deep and intense.

    The book explored more of the characters internally, their feelings, thoughts and growth that is occurring during this journey. Meeting the people of Calla and how some of their ties to the whens and wheres of Susannah and Eddie came into play. How the story weaves itself in and out of the previous books was just so gripping. You could feel the character¿s progression as a ka-tet and how their regard for one another had changed.

    Sure, it didn¿t have roaring action all the way through, but the action it had was fantastic. And like after reading the previous books in the series, I¿m headed to get the next one right away. I get excited to start the new ones each time but also sad to see the books end, this is truly a story I could go on reading forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    The decline of a series

    This book is a long slow read without any flow!! In this book, Stephen King feels the need to bring in characters from other books and retell their stories. It's like he ran out of ideas in the middle of the series!! He also inserts himself into the tale, which causes the story to lose believability. The characters jump back and forth between the 'real world' and the 'made up story Stephen King world' entirely too much. The wolves and the conflict that occurs between them and Roland's Ka-Tet is the only interesting part of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    It's Unfortunate

    It is unfortunate that Stephen King felt compelled to turn out the last three installments of _The Dark Tower_ as quickly as possible. It is even more unfortunate that I paid for an Artist Edition from Donald M. Grant. It is most unfortunate, however, that this could have been a great book. The story itself is decent. It will never be my favorite _Dark Tower_ story nor my favorite King novel, but it holds its own fairly well. It has a bit of humor, a few thrilling moments, and one or two surprises. The problem is that the story itself cannot make up for how poorly written the book is. The Argument is completely unnecessary, and apparently King thought so as well, considering that it reads as if it was typed off as an afterthought in ten minutes. The Prologue is a bit wordy, but otherwise okay. Part One needs considerable editing; there is far too many recaps spliced into the narrative, as if King wanted to be sure he remembered exactly what had happened in the previous books. That may be fine during composition, but it is simply a waste of pages in book form. Part Two is far too long; the telling of tales takes away from the urgency of the story and slows matters down to a reverse run. Part Three comes too slowly and goes too quickly; the final confrontation with the wolves lasts only a few pages. Then there are the little things: none of the main characters are enjoyable anymore, and none of the new characters are even remotely likeable. The crowning touch is that while quite a bit--or so you think--is revealed, nothing really happens. I like King's work, I truly do, but this is disgraceful. It is sub-par King, and an insult to his readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Ive read this series twice

    Love it. Sometimes it is seems slow but always kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Where are the illustrations?

    Love this book but why don't we get the illustrations that r in the hardbacks? Boo to B & N!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    This book was a joy to read. Leaving us hanging throughout the n

    This book was a joy to read. Leaving us hanging throughout the novel, we discover that children are being kidnapped and forced to go to this place far away where they are drained of all knowledge and life and returned severely deformed and with a shortened life-span expectancy. This one kept me turning the pages as the end of each chapter was a cliff hanger to open the next chapter with. I appreciate the level of detail King put into this book, as well as the art that is found throughout it's pages, to help illustrate this lustrous and beautiful world. The book is big but it reads like a movie. Keep reading on! It's worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Interesting but does not advance the story. Overall, so far this

    Interesting but does not advance the story. Overall, so far this entire series shows a lack of imagination. I think Stephen King strung this tale out to 7 books as nothing more than a payday or he was in search of an ending. We'll see how the Song of Susannah goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Amazing

    Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Really enjoyed these kick ass books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great book

    Great continuation of the Dark Tower



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Sunning rocks/end of thunder clan territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    King at his best

    Books lv v and vl are great l and ll were slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Booyow

    Yea

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Awwwww yeah

    To the person below: are you 8 years old? Nobody loves you. This series is crayz legit, brahh. (As kids say these days)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 587 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30