Customer Reviews for

The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla

Average Rating 4.5
( 583 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(382)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another amzing edition to the series

I am a die hard King fan and I think this is him at the top of his game. You can tell throughout the whole series that he really is having a ton of fun writing this and really enjoys the characters he developes.

posted by 6727513 on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wolves of the Calla, the Dark Tower series, Book 5

Being a fan of the Dark Tower series, I was highly disappointed in this book. I found it to be boring and unneccessary in the telling of the journey of the wonderful characters. This is a book that can be skipped in the reading of the series. This story could and should...
Being a fan of the Dark Tower series, I was highly disappointed in this book. I found it to be boring and unneccessary in the telling of the journey of the wonderful characters. This is a book that can be skipped in the reading of the series. This story could and should have been told in less than 700 pages. However, the tales of Susannah's pregnancy and the throwing of the plates are what kept me reading until the end. I am looking forward to book VI.

posted by brjunkie on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Another amzing edition to the series

    I am a die hard King fan and I think this is him at the top of his game. You can tell throughout the whole series that he really is having a ton of fun writing this and really enjoys the characters he developes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Wolves of the Calla

    The Dark Tower's Series is about the best that Stephen King has written. For me only the Stand is in the same class. The Dark Tower series is long but when done I always look for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great moment of time in Roland's ka-tet

    The Wolves of Calla got a lot of lower star ratings than the previous books in the series and a lot of the comments stated that it just didn¿t have the action that the other books had, that it was slower. As I read, it is apparent that this book doesn¿t have that injection of action throughout the story as the previous ones in the series did. However, I really felt the build up that was created until the end was really deep and intense.

    The book explored more of the characters internally, their feelings, thoughts and growth that is occurring during this journey. Meeting the people of Calla and how some of their ties to the whens and wheres of Susannah and Eddie came into play. How the story weaves itself in and out of the previous books was just so gripping. You could feel the character¿s progression as a ka-tet and how their regard for one another had changed.

    Sure, it didn¿t have roaring action all the way through, but the action it had was fantastic. And like after reading the previous books in the series, I¿m headed to get the next one right away. I get excited to start the new ones each time but also sad to see the books end, this is truly a story I could go on reading forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    King at his best

    Books lv v and vl are great l and ll were slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Pulls you in!!

    I am enjoying this series when I didn't think I would. I read the first book when it came out in the 70's and then no others until my youngest daughter read the series and insisted I also read them. It is quite a journey entertwining many of King's other books into it along the way. I would recommend it to all Stephen King lovers. My first grandson is named Roland which at first I wasn't happy with but now believe it is a good, strong name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Better on the second read

    I had to read the series twice to fully appreciate this book. Loved it the second time; Roland's story is much more interesting when you've read it in its entirety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    If you've made it this far you might as well finish the series.

    It is a long read and considering the build up to the last few pages it is worth it. I don't think its quite a good as DT IV but still not a disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Entertaining

    It had been a while since I'd read this series but I was able to get right back into the characters and remember what had been going on previously. Once again, I think King does a good job giving the descriptions of a place and time and you really get sucked in and feel like you are there following along. This book is probably a bit longer than it needed to be. There are a few sections of the book that may not have been important and I found myself anxious for the story to move along and to reach the climactic point but I didn't feel disappointed when I got to it and the ending. The ending comes abruptly after the climactic point, but sets you right up for the next book. This is a strange series (not saying that in a bad way) and the ideas King comes up with seem very random and at times I think I could only laugh about it, but this book, or series, is definitely an entertainer. It is unique and that's why I like the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Good Book

    My husband really likes Stephan King books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Good book, good series

    Books by Lee Child

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    One of the best in the series!

    This installment is a great read. The ka-tet comes across a small town called Calla Bryn Sturgis that is raided by 'wolves' every 25 years or so. The wolves take some children and send them back 'roont' to become lumbering giants with almost no motor skills or knowledge. They ask the ka-tet for help and what we get is a great showdown between gunslingers (with some help from plate weilding women) and wolves. The distinction between the gunslingers and common farmers is great to read. How much the farmers and the ranchers fear the carriers of hard calibers, and certain relationships between the two factions of people are extremely fun to read. Another addition to the ka-tet is added. OH, and theres another door that they can go through....and another glass ball that holds extraordinary powers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Good but not the best...

    I couldn't say this was one of the best out of the series but it was good. The book starts out super slow and bores you to death. It starts getting good around page 254. I like the tell of father Callahan and the main battle at the end the best, but 'Wolves of the Calla' can't stand up to 'The Drawing of the Three', 'Wizard and Glass' and definitly not 'The Wastelands' which I think is the best. I hope 'Song of Susannah is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Fasten your coffee-shop table belt, This'll throw ye for a loop, big-big

    Having found my map for this awkward and compelling story. I could of used GPS I was so confused. Then came Pere Callahan's tale, then the locator rang. Although being blown out of the water by Wastelands and Wizard and Glass, I figured this was a suspense builder for six and seven. The 'end' was great, by means of they survived the battle, not mentioning poor Benny Slightman and Oriza Sister, Margaret Eisenheart. I did not understand the importantce of the death of Andy. Also, the scandal between Roland and sai Rosalita, please c'mon! The honoring moment when Roland hands Jake the cigarette, is really capturing. Now I pick up book 6...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    I want more!

    I was a reluctant reader of the Dark Tower series at first but now I am very devoted. This latest installment ends with a WHAT?? and leaves you hungry for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Stephen King Does it Again!

    The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because this one can't beat Dark Tower II or the Stand. But the book itself is a marvel, and it is amazing the way he ties it in with Salems' Lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Heading to to a strong finish?

    I liked this book a lot and I must say the wait was killing me, but I was a bit saddened by it. My FAVORITE part of the entire Dark Tower series has always been the back story (as a result, book 4 is obviously my favorite) and I was upset at how quickly King wrapped up Cuthbert and Alain. I also thought that the back story of Father Callahan got a bit tiresome, but there was still a good pace and I cannot wait to see what lies ahead in Thunderclap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Not the best of the series, but still pretty damn good

    I wasn't by any means disappointed with 'Wolves of the Calla'; quite the contrary, I'm chomping at the bit for 'Song of Susannah' to come out. But this chapter in the series didn't grab me like 'Wizard and Glass' and 'The Wastelands'. I love how King is intermingling his various worlds though, and bringing 'Salem's Lot back to life is simply ingenious. I hate to see the quest for the Dark Tower end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    And The Beat Goes On

    The story of Roland, his friends, and the search for the Dark Tower continue. Wolves is read by George Guidall, he does a good performance. He adds to King's story. The characters we have come to love and think we understand in the other audiobooks in this series are here. King shall take you on an interesting quest and protection or the Calla, and in his fashion you are hooked for the other books to come. This maybe long but yet you shall want much more. Alas we must wait, at least it is only months rather than years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Tower Die Hard

    The Dark Tower series has been a quest in my life as well as Rolands. Waiting years for the next book is part of the anticipation and fun. Usually when a new book in the series comes out, you can find me tucked into a corner and not emerging until it is finished. Life halts in our home until the entire book is completed, however, this new installment is much different. Unfortunately this reminds me of the first one, just a bit too wordy for my taste. Of course, I don't want to minimize the brilliance of the story, but it needed just a little more pizazz. Maybe this is the lull before the storm (next book) and the true excitement will be incredible. I decided to make the book last and only read a few pages a night. My husband bought me the artist edition as a gift and it will always be treasured, but I will definately wait until the last book to buy the Stephen King signature edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7