Customer Reviews for

The Dark Winter (Detective Sergeant McAvoy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous Debut

David Mark's first fiction novel is full of interesting characters. Sergeant McAvoy is down right endearing, principled and smart. Though he has had to earn respect in his new position, he has done so without compromising his integrity. The novel itself is a novel, c...
David Mark's first fiction novel is full of interesting characters. Sergeant McAvoy is down right endearing, principled and smart. Though he has had to earn respect in his new position, he has done so without compromising his integrity. The novel itself is a novel, complex story with many unexpected twists and turns - right up to the end. The reader will NOT figure out the ending ahead of time. I can hardly wait for Mark's next book about this thoughtful Sergeant. (Someone, please, PLEASE tell me another book is in process!) Don't pass up this great crime novel set in England.

posted by 12161625 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I have not read it yet, but in the review section the reviews do

I have not read it yet, but in the review section the reviews do no require a complete book report.  If I had read the 4-6 paragraphs of one review I would not need to buy the book.  Keep it short

posted by 6738824 on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book opens with a prologue describing the making of a docume

    The book opens with a prologue describing the making of a documentary about a tragedy in the late ‘70’s when a ferocious storm off the coast of Norway caused the loss of a brand new super-trawler which sank, killing all crew members save one, Fred Stein, who is now re-living the incident for the benefit of the cameras. En route to the spot where the ship sank, and seventy miles off the Icelandic coast, Stein vanishes.

    In an impressive debut novel, David Mark introduces Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy, a Scotsman working out of the Humberside Police CID Serious and Organized Crime Unit in Hull, in the East Riding area of Yorkshire. A dedicated policeman in his ‘30’s, and a shy man who [surprisingly] blushes easily, McAvoy thinks of himself as one of the ones who still gives a damn about the rules. His adored wife, the one who ‘keeps his heart safe for him,’ is heavily pregnant with their second child. As he sits with their four-year-old son in a café across the square from Holy Trinity Church, the city’s biggest and most historic church, two weeks before Christmas, a horrific scene unfolds before him: a fifteen-year-old black girl is stabbed to death on the altar steps. McAvoy momentarily has the perpetrator in his clutches before he escapes. It is discovered that the girl was the lone survivor of a massacre in Sierra Leone in which her entire family was murdered, hacked to death with a machete during the genocide which prevailed at that time.

    There are other murders, with similarities which are overlooked by most the cops working the cases, but McAvoy does what he does best: follows his instincts, despite the problems that causes him with his superiors. The story swings back and forth between the various lines of investigation, and everything is tied up neatly by the end, with an unexpected and riveting denouement.

    Notwithstanding the dark nature of the story, I was completely charmed by the writing. Driving along a roadway on a rainy day, McAvoy “fancies that a rabbit is streaking across the wet gravel to his rear, a moment of fur and exclamation mark of tail, glimpsed in the foggy glass.” A woman is described as having “short bobbed hair [which] looks as though it is drawn in pencil.”

    Mr. Mark has created an intriguing protagonist, and I look forward to the sequel.

    Recommended.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    An interesting story premise, the murders of persons who have na

    An interesting story premise, the murders of persons who have narrowly escaped as sole survivors of a previous disaster in their lives. The protagonist, Sergeant McAvoy, seems a bit too deferential and unsure of himself to my taste, and a bit dense as a detective as well only being pointed in the right direction by another character and only belatedly recognizing that he himself fits the killer's victim profile. Still, a well-written tale and I'll be generous with my rating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    good characters, enough action to keep me interested, not gory,

    good characters, enough action to keep me interested, not gory, story kept moving.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Good

    I enjoyed this book, although a little less of MacAvoy's feelings would have improved it. A little insight into the protagonist's emotions enhances the development, but in places this felt too much like wallowing.

    Nonetheless, I would certainly buy another book in this series. The plot is interesting and at times exciting, and the writing is stellar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Mmm

    I do love a good British mystery/thriller.

    This is a delightful addition. Looking forward to more of Aector McAvoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good

    Good one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1