Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Craving

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gena Showalter has really toned down the language, violence, and

Gena Showalter has really toned down the language, violence, and sex that made this series so much fun. That being said the book is sill a very good read. Kane was never one of my favorite Lords, so I was not as excited as with some of the previous books, but the more I...
Gena Showalter has really toned down the language, violence, and sex that made this series so much fun. That being said the book is sill a very good read. Kane was never one of my favorite Lords, so I was not as excited as with some of the previous books, but the more I read the more interested I became. I do miss the fire and energy of the earlier books though... because of that I only give it 4 stars. This story was not as great as Strider's or Lucien's (5 stars!).

posted by HHS_Charms on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I don't even know where to begin with this book...it was so very

I don't even know where to begin with this book...it was so very painful to read, and to finish. I almost DNF'd it several times. I kept hoping it would get better. (Hint: It didn't.)
I used to really love and enjoy this series. But it's gone downhill, and fast....
I don't even know where to begin with this book...it was so very painful to read, and to finish. I almost DNF'd it several times. I kept hoping it would get better. (Hint: It didn't.)
I used to really love and enjoy this series. But it's gone downhill, and fast. 

My first hate was Kane himself. In previous books, I felt for him. Not pity, but compassion, because if I were to house any of the LOTU demons, I most certainly have Disaster in me. So I was looking forward to learning more about him. But I never liked him. I could never sympathize with Kane, and I felt...nothing for him. Which made me extremely sad.

Then Josephina. Or as Kane calls her, Tinker Bell, Tink, and oh yeah, Tinky Dink. *vomits* Oh boy. I could not stand her. Could not. She started out sooo promising. She had a sharp tongue, motivation, and questionable strength. But it was there. Then she dropped away. Tink's only value as a person is Kane. She only accomplishes things because Kane gives her permission/strength/etc. Gena TELLS us that she's a strong heroine, but no where is there proof. 

Any time Tink does anything strong or good, Kane is there. She's the strong woman who picked up a branch while her big, strong MAN is there getting rid of the rest of the heavy tree. It was disgusting. 

Tink being naive and a virgin and all that yadda yadda isn't even the problem. It's that Gena has reduced the woman - oh, wait, no female
's role to solely be pleasure for her man. She can do other things on the side, but each woman is defined by the male who owns her. While noticeable in past books, it really stood out in this one. Kane's motivations the entire time looked something like, "CAVEMAN KANE NEED HIS WOMAN. KILL, GET MY WOMAN. MINE. MINE. MINE.
" (Trust me, it's even more annoying in the book)

And the "villains"...they were about as frightening as the monster in Robot Monster. They were unbelievable, and weak. It was obvious Kane could overpower them easily, and with the addition of William and his kids, it was laughable. The stakes needed to be a hell of a lot higher. As it was, I was very :| meh about everything.

I can ramble on, but those are the bottom lines. I really wanted to love this book. I was so excited. I can even deal with lackluster sex scenes, even though they did bother me a little. The big issues were the blatant sexism and patriarchal demeaning all throughout this book, and these characters. I can't read something like that and enjoy it.

posted by BrittanyMarczak on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    This is the 10th instalment in the popular Lords of The Underwor

    This is the 10th instalment in the popular Lords of The Underworld and it was another one for the keeper shelf!

    Gena has taken a long running successful series and added more layers to it, in this instalment we gained the Fae and while I enjoyed the addition, they brought a whole other level of evil to the plate with their values, traditions and disciplinary styles.

    When Josephina helped Kane escape from hell she extracted a promise from him, a promise that he is determined not to keep. Josephina is desperate to escape her life and is actively looking for a solution, can Kane be the saviour she needs? Kane and Josephina together are desperate to escape their fated futures, can they help each other and change their destinies?

    Josephina was the highlight of this book for me, she was fun, feisty and reminded me of a slightly tamer Valkyrie. I enjoyed her 'fangirl' moments and her sense of humour. I empathised with her jealousy, I have a similar distaste for sharing. She lost a little of her sassiness as the story went on, but then I think I would have too with everything going on around her.


    Kane, I kind of expected to be a little more messed up, especially after his experiences in hell. Although not graphically explained, Gena alludes to what actually happened to him and since I don't see any man being able to comfortably discuss that, his lack of explanation fit well.

    The heat level wasn't as high as previous books which was a perfect fit for the characters, given the experiences that brought them together.

    William, as always was a bright spot in the book. I did get a little confused at times though as there was a point where it was alluded to that someone knew something & then it was retracted. It didn't take away my enjoyment from the book though. I can't wait to get to William's book and dive into his secrets. The next book should be a good one though!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    I was on pins and needles reading this book I absolutely loved i

    I was on pins and needles reading this book I absolutely loved it, yes the sex scenes were died down a bit but hey, you have a guy who was raped repeatedly by minions i wouldn't be too eager or happy to hop in bed with anyone let alone the person i really want all in all a really good read if you kept up with the series then you can understand and feel where she is coming from in this story i can't wait to find out what happens to Cameo and Torin sure to be a good read for those who said this story didn't do it for them i advise you to take your time and reread the story i do it all the time and i end up getting a better understanding to whats going on. I loved it and can't wait for the next installment in the series keep it up Gena love your books!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I feel like I have been waiting a lifetime for the next LOTU boo

    I feel like I have been waiting a lifetime for the next LOTU book.  If there is one thing I adore about Gena though it is, how she is continuously pushing out other books to keep me entertained until I get my Lord fix.  Now I tried to savor and slowly read The Darkest Craving when I received in the mail, but it was definitely hard.  I have been waiting patiently for Kane's book because he never really played a major role in the other books until the last one because the other Lords did not want him (or actually his demon) causing a disaster.  Poor Kane, wherever he went, he managed to have the roof collapse on him, things come straight toward him, or of course have other people get caught in the crossfire as well.

    I always assumed Kane would never get a break.  He had to have one of the worst demons in him.  He was even afraid to really love someone due to his Demon wanting to hurt them.  The demon never wanted Kane happy.

    Gena though did a bang up job on getting the perfect heroine for Kane.  She definitely put Kane through so many obstacles in The Darkest Craving.  I truly think Josephina has come in second place to my fave heroines in the Lords series now.  Anya is still number one in my eyes....but Josephina definitely did something that proved she deserved to be second favorite.  I literally bow to her for her courage in this book...but in Kane's eyes, she was being completely insane about it.  I have to go with my girl Josephina though...she had her reasons on what she did and I supported her.  Love will make you do some crazy things and Josephina definitely proved how much she loved Kane in the end.

    I learned a lot about Kane in this book and how he has a nice side, but he shows it in a different way.  He has his possessive and mean side though, which would drive any woman crazy, but Josephina knew how to deal with it.  Josephina was a very stubborn, but strong female character.  What she had to deal with in this book, I applaud her.  She definitely proved herself and everyone around her, she is stronger than she thinks and everything else thinks.

    I am not going to describe what happened in the book in detail.  I will tell you in just a few sentences what you are going to read without giving anything away.  Kane is one sexy disturbed character, who is put through the ringer due to trying to prevent an apocalypse from happening, while dealing with a very controlling demon inside him. ( I literally cried for him every time his demon acted up ) You will find out that Josephina is hated by her family and they will do anything to humiliate her, which will make you want to go through the book and strangle them (at least that is what I wanted to do...especially when it came to the King and her sister).  
    And...last but not least...you will get a sneak peek into Torin and Cameo's heads, which will make you want to know, who they will end up with.  

    There are so much more going on in the book, but I do not want to give away any spoilers.  I just want to say this...I NEED to know who WILLIAM will end up with. He seriously still has some secrets that need to come out already.  I adored him more after this book even, though he could be a pain at times to Kane.  I still loved him.

    You will even get a little bit about the Sent Ones in this book and how they played a part in this book with the Lords.  =)  I just love Gena's spin-off series to the Lords because I am a big fan of the Angels.

    *Two of my favorite scenes in this book were the bathroom scene with Kane undressing in front of Josephina (her reaction was by far the best part) and when Josephina meets all the Lords in person.  She's definitely a BIG fan of them.  =)  *

    I give this book 5 full moons and highly recommend it to paranormal romance readers out there.  You must read the other books in the story first though.  You do not want to skip around with these books.

    I do want to warn about the ending...if you are like me and love the Lords as much as I do...you will probably need tissues at the ending.  I was bawling at the end.  

    I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I can't wait to read this book! I love the series! And I hope Ka

    I can't wait to read this book! I love the series! And I hope Kane's book lives up to the rest of them! 

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Love Kane

    We havent really known much about kane in the series so i was looking forward to this book. I really like Kane and i like the twists in this book, my only complaint would be the damsel in distress. I am not liking how in the last couple books the women fall for the lords so fast no matter how bad they treat them. A little eye for an eye in that regard would be nice. I mean I love the lords but they need an ego check every now and then. Lol! Cant wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Lotu

    I loved this book just as much as I have loved all of the LOTU books. There is something about a tormented man who believes that he can't be loved or doesn't deserve to be loved abd then gets saved by the undying love of a strong woman that just melts my heart!!! I am sooo looking forward to Torin's story. I can not wait to feel the emotional upheaval he will experience when he can touch someone, without killing them, skin to skin for the first time!!! I am sure that I will cry!!! Struggle on Torin your turn is coming....soon I hope!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Awesome

    Great book. I looooved d couple, the way they interacted was great. Wish it would keep going. Can't wait for d next one :( don't take soooooooo long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    So worth it!

    Every time a new book comes out I'm thrilled. I wasn't disapointed a adventure of love romance and loyalty. I felt every moment of the journey. Thank you for another amazing tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Amazing

    Loved it! About time he found his happiness.
    Can't wait for Torin's book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Another one that you can not put down until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    I love it just like I love all of the other Lords books.  I can'

    I love it just like I love all of the other Lords books.  I can't wait for more.  I'm glad that I started reading this series on a whim.  I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just love this series. I can't wait to hear Torin's and Cameo

    I just love this series. I can't wait to hear Torin's and Cameo's stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Cried at the end...again

    I've stayed up nights on end, reading this series. I've not been able to put any of these books down. And, for someone that saw Titanic 9 times in the theater and didn't cry once, was balling at the end of most if these books, this one included. Gena has a gift for expressing and describing pure emotion, even if its tore out of you. I highly recommend these books and any of Gena's other series, worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    A great read!

    I love the Lords of the Underworld series and the sister series Angels of the Dark. I am so happy that Kane got his girl that he wanted! I just want Torin to find one now!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Gena never disappoints with any of the Lord's ! 

    Gena never disappoints with any of the Lord's ! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Go Lords of the Underworld!

    Kane finally finds a women that's not afraid of disaster and want ever leave him behind. Great addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great book, love, love, love William!

    Despite some of the reviews out there, I thought this was a great book. I liked both the main characters and the banter between them. As always, William was a shining star and I was happy he had a significant presence here. The sex scenes were somewhat tame compared to other books in the series, and hot sex is a requirement of mine, but even with less detail, Gena managed to pull them off without losing too much steam. Although not quite as good as Lucien's or Strider's stories it was still up to the quality I expect of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    U Really Wanna Read.....

    Gena Showalter NEVER disapoints! Great addition to the Lords of the Underworld Series. Recommending that you read the series, in order, for the biggest bang. But....each book is a great stand-alone story simply because Gena Showalter knows how to keep you obsessively engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Here's to the LOU!

    Yes! Another LOU (Lords of the Underworld) success! Gena Showalter is AMAZING with her writing and imagination. Multiple characters new and old, strong and vulnerable, lovable and despisable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Gena Showalter can write a great book! She has this way with her

    Gena Showalter can write a great book! She has this way with her words that captivates me and makes me want to read on and on.

    This book was a surprise to me, I wasn't a big Kane fan I have to admit but after reading about him and his heroine Gena has changed my mind. The strength he has not only physically but mentally is something in itself.

    This book followed the storyline and things are getting even better with the overall story. I look forward to the next book , for me it's always to long to wait.

    The romance was just enough not over the top and the exciting news at the end( no spoilers) was a twist for me.

    Thank you Gena for yet another great book! ROCK ON !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4