Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I really wanted to love this book and don't get me wrong there w

I really wanted to love this book and don't get me wrong there were a lot of parts that I liked, but (and I SOOO hate saying this because I truely love this series) it fell a little flat for me. There were some parts in the book that really dragged out and I kept think...
I really wanted to love this book and don't get me wrong there were a lot of parts that I liked, but (and I SOOO hate saying this because I truely love this series) it fell a little flat for me. There were some parts in the book that really dragged out and I kept thinking to myself will this ever end? 90% of the book was all about Paris and Sienna and I was kind of hoping for a little more of the other lords, especially the birth of Maddox and Ashlyn's twins and maybe a little more interaction between Gilly and William (who are my favorites). I did like the end and it seems that Ms. Showalter opened it up for a whole new direction which had me very interested to see what happens next. I guess maybe I had too high of expectations because there was this huge build up for Paris so I was hoping that his story would just blow me away. All in all this book is good, but not one of my favorites. If you are a fan of the series, it is an enjoyable read.

posted by 9155905 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Paris Finally Gets His

    Like pretty much everyone else, I absolutely loved the early books in this series (Lucien's is still my fave) and had been feeling kind of "eh" about the past four or five. Part of this is because I've been waiting forever for Paris and Torin's stories, and now at least Paris has been given his HEA. I was surprised by the book's length and overall was happy with how the story went, but I definitely think some things could have been cut to make the book better. The novel really drags for about 100 pages, and there's a lot of repeat information that faithful readers of this series don't need like an almost verbatim description of Paris and Sienna's first meeting. The Paris in this book is very different from the Paris we knew in the first books, and while I understand the reasons he'd change (losing Sienna, despair over his Demon, drug addiction, bottomless rage), I miss him. The early Paris was charming. Amusing. He didn't take things too seriously, and his lightness was a welcome antidote to the intensity of the other Lords. Well, in this book he's super intense. He's discovered that Sienna is being held by the Titan God Cronus and been given Aeron's old Demon Wrath. With William and the angel Zacharel, he sets off to rescue her. Sienna turns out to have a pivotal role in the war between the Lords and the Hunters, and the ending was a suprising but welcome touch. The Darkest Seduction moves the overall story arc forward in leaps and bounds. It really is the ending of a chapter in this series, and in my opinion it answers questions and wraps things up pretty nicely. I'm interested to see where the series goes from here. There's still Torin who received an incredible gift that will change his life completely, Kane who's been rescued by a mysterious woman, William and Gilly, Galen who I actually started to like in this book, the heartbreaking Legion and some new characters who pop up in this book. Some small quibbles... what's up with the Calvin Klein ad cover art? and, when did the author and everyone else start refering to Paris as "Sex?" He has the Demon of Promiscuity. That was annoying. Overall, a huge improvement over the last books and can't wait for the spin-off with Zacharel this summer.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Don't judge

    Great series and long awaited story!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Good

    I loved the strong character sienna turned out to be but the actual romance between herself and paris i felt was lacking something. While reading the other lords books i went crazy for paris info and was drooling for this addition which is good but i feel like it didnt go all the way with its potential. Still love gena n the series though xoxo kb

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    suprising!

    Ok so I saw that someone said that they don't get why anyone would write this book and they wouldn't read it. To that I say dont judge what you dont know!
    I originally thought that a book about possession would be very wierd but I am a big J.R. Ward, ALenandra Ivy and Kresley Cole fan and they gave this author good reviews so I decided to give it a shot.
    I found this books to be very good and incredibly amusing. I think they are more about they extremes in each characters nature and there ability to let love help them overcome there failings than anything else plus all the Lords are so HOT!!!
    I feel like I have been waiting for Paris's story forever I am so excited!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Cant Wait!!

    I cant wait for thi book to come out. I loved the other books in the series. : )

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Sigh

    Waited for this book and now im skipping pages. Interactions between Sienna ad Paris are so bleh. High expectations for the next one. I love Gena but im giving 4 stars to this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    most seductive book in this hot series

    I've been waiting for a new Lords of the Underworld book for what seems like forever, and boy was the wait worth it. Not only is the cover the hottest one yet and that's saying something since all the books have great cover art. This book answers questions that we've had since this series started, it wraps up story lines and creates a few new ones. I seriously hope she's not done with this series yet her writing is so beautifully put together it breathes across the pages of her books and sweeps you into a totally different world where gods are at war and angels and demons are real. I love this series because its about so many things, but I am partial to the love stories and redemption the Lords get. Not only does this book have tons of action but the hot and steamy romance that's going on sets the pages on fire. This book is Paris's story and boy is he due a happily ever after ending he's put so many other people before his own wants and needs which is funny considering the demon he has housed in his body. None of Gena's books are just about one of the lords we get to see in every book what's happening with the lords and other much loved characters that surround them. There is so much going on in this book I feel like more happens that in any of the other books in this series. The plot is great and twist so unexpectedly I almost fell over with some of the plot twists that happen in this book. For avid readers of this series you will love this book and cry out for more as soon as it's done. For readers looking for a new series you really need to check this out it's one of the best paranormal romance series I've come across, Gena Showalter really knows how to set a story and leave you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    More sexy AWESOMENESS and TONS of action!!

    I LOVE The Lords of The Underworld series. Gena Showalter is amazing. I highly recommend this book and the series as awhole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Great addition to the series! Immortal warrior Paris is the kee

    Great addition to the series!

    Immortal warrior Paris is the keeper of the demon Promiscuity. Paris must have sex daily or he weakens. Not only sex daily, but never with the same person twice. A weak warrior is no good in the fight against evil and Paris has never had a problem staying strong. Until the day he met Sienna Blackstone.

    Sienna Blackstone was a Hunter, seeking out the Lords of the Underworld in a quest to kill them and trap the demons they carried in attempt to cleanse the world of evil. Sienna was Bait, meant to lure Paris into a trap and it worked. However, while captive Paris discovered he could have sex with Sienna more than once. What did this mean? Before he could pursue this interesting development, Sienna was shot and killed by her own Hunter brethren in the crossfire that followed Paris’s escape.

    After her death Sienna’s ghost was claimed by Chronos and when Aeron lost his demon Wrath upon his death, Chronos forced Sienna to be Wrath’s keeper. While this was happening Paris became an ambrosia addict in an attempt to forget Sienna’s death. When Paris discovers that Sienna, while not alive and not dead, is a pawn of Chronos he decides nothing will stop him from reaching her. So begins The Darkest Seduction.

    I worried that Paris’s story would be hard to get into, but I shouldn’t worried at all. Another excellent Lord of the Underworlds book! Multiple storylines have been slowly coming together in each book over the course of the series and this book is no exception. There is a lot going on in this book and I love multiple POVs! Well-written, excellent characters, steamy sex, humor, scheming, plotting, kicking ass and a tortured hero who is channeling the Dark Side. *satisfied sigh*

    I can’t wait for Kane’s story as well as William’s and Cameo’s. Poor Cameo, keeper of Misery. Her mate should be interesting and special. Though I really think she needs a deaf person who can’t hear her misery-laden voice. *shudder*

    I will be so sad when this series is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Like it!!!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Demon of Promiscuity, Paris, must bed a different woman every da

    Demon of Promiscuity, Paris, must bed a different woman every day, or
    suffer and die. The woman he craves above all, and the only woman he
    seems to be able to bed successfully more than once, is also one of his
    enemies and now dead. On a mission to find her in Heaven, he goes
    through hell and back to find and save Sienna, only to discover she's
    paired with the demon of Wrath. As all Lords fans, Paris' story was the
    "it" book. Will he finally find Sienna? Will he get to keep
    her? Though this was my least favorite in the series for some reason, it
    was still a satisfying page turner. We also got a preview of Kane's
    upcoming book next year in the story. I like that we learn Cronus'
    motive finally, and we now have insight to the Angel series and their
    motives for Sienna too. The book didn't lack conflict, but it did feel
    like it resolved too quickly. Still... a hot read. Only three Lords
    left. Kane, Camryn, and Torin. Also, according to Showalter's site, she
    is doing a William book also, so we can see if Gilly gets her man, and
    if the prophesy holds true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    WELL WORTH THE WAIT From the beginning to the end this book was

    WELL WORTH THE WAIT

    From the beginning to the end this book was fast pace....each chapter had you wanting to keep going just to see what would happen next...glad certain characters got what they deserved...looking forward to reading Zac's story and see the woman who captures his heart can't wait until June 26 when it comes out...I know the new series will be just as good as this one has been....If you have not read the whole Lord series please do you will not be disappointed....Gena does not disappoint her readers...check out her website

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Finally - Paris

    I thought we would never get the Paris story. I loved the pace at the first of the book and wish the end of the book hadn't happened so quickly. It was over to soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Love the Lords of the Underworld

    Poor Kane! Can't wait for his book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    just finished paris story and was happy he finally got a mate o

    just finished paris story and was happy he finally got a mate or should i say the mate he had longed for. my only question is will the story now shift in another direction. love the lords and can't wait to see if kane is next and when will big willy and his conditioner gat their story, always love his humor. great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Scardycat

    Awrsome book! I loved it, another one of gena showalters best, a longer book to 405 pages. Cant wait for her next series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Good read

    God book! Good read! Im hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Paris carries the demon of Promiscuity in him. This is the punis

    Paris carries the demon of Promiscuity in him. This is the punishment for his part in opening up the box guarded by Pandora. Zeus punished his warriors, the Lords he had built to guard him and the other Gods and Goddesses for this by putting an escaped demon in each warrior.

    In Book 2 of the series, The Darkest Kiss, Gena tells the story of how Sienna, a Hunter who seduces and then drugs Paris into oblivion, making him a captive of the Hunters. They want to experiment on him and then kill him to take the demon. Paris is not able to have sex for several days and weakens to the point he is dying. The hunters finally send Sienna in to try to save his life so that he can be examined further. She brings him back to full strength and he breaks away, taking her with him. As they get free of the compound where he is being kept, the Hunters shoot, hitting her three times, killing her.

    That is the background of the story told in the Darkest Seduction. Paris has hunted for her for seven books and he finally finds her. She has been given the demon of Wrath, taken from Aeron when he died. She is being held by Cronus as a pawn in the war and Paris is wanting to take her back.

    This book has a lot of twists and turns. There is not as much of the group stories with all the Lords as in other books but we do get a few tie-in's to what is going on.

    One side storyline is Kane's, the carrier of the demon of disaster. William is with Paris for a lot of the book and the banter between the men is pure fun.

    Sienna and Paris keep trying to get together but circumstances keep them apart and this drags the story out somewhat and becomes tedious. There were times when I was wishing we could get rid of the back and forth, "I will sacrifice for you" stuff and let the couple find each other. One thing that I really found long and slow was the almost word-for-word recounting of Paris' first meeting with Sienna. Yes, I know Gena put it in there so that someone picking this up as a first book would know what was going on but it really detracted from the pace of the story for those of us who have been reading the series all along.

    Viola. The keeper of the Demon of Narcissism. This character is a real strange, funny, and somewhat grating character. I wasn't sure any character could top the Harpies or Anya in the previous books but Viola tops them all. I do wonder who she is going to end up with and how that happily ever after is going to happen.

    The book has a very interesting twist at the end, one I did not see coming. It is not often that a writer can make me put a book down, sit and reflect on what I just read and then just say "oh wow." but Gena managed to do that with Darkest Seduction. This twist made the entire book fantastic and left me wanting to read the next one soon.

    Overall, this is a good book. I would love to give it a "great" rating but for the dragging first part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Hmmm....

    I don't really know how to rate this. Enjoyed some aspects. Did not love it all like I have with previous books in this series. Happy for Paris and Sienna. 3.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5