Customer Reviews for

The Dash Diet Weight Loss Solution: 2 Weeks to Drop Pounds, Boost Metabolism, and Get Healthy

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

It works!

In 3 months, I have lost 23 pounds, gone down 5 points in my body fat percentage, and lost 4.5 inches from my waist...after struggling with my weight for decades. (I received a copy of the of the plan guidelines and sample menus in September through the author's Faceboo...
In 3 months, I have lost 23 pounds, gone down 5 points in my body fat percentage, and lost 4.5 inches from my waist...after struggling with my weight for decades. (I received a copy of the of the plan guidelines and sample menus in September through the author's Facebook group.) In addition to the outer changes, my cholesterol level dropped to 121, with a commensurate reduction in triglycerides and LDLs.

I do know a little bit about nutrition (what heavy person doesn't?). I wanted a plan that followed sound nutritional guidelines and had some research to back it up. This one does. Marla does a great job of explaining why the things I learned about nutrition in my 20s aren't working for me in my 40s, and then lays out, clearly, concisely, and with menus and recipes, what *will* work...and it did. I was nervous about cutting down on grains--I attempted the Atkins plan a few times and it just made me sick--but I felt fine. The menu plans are satisfying and tasty, and Marla has really helped me to re-frame the way I think about food.

The 2-week turbocharge is a great way to kick off the plan: all the claims about resetting your body's expectations proved true for me. In the 3 months I've been on this plan I started a new job; celebrated my anniversary, Halloween, my birthday, & Thanksgiving, and now find myself surrounded by all the Christmas treats...and still find it easier than it's ever been to make conscious choices about what I eat.

I hope you find this helpful...if you've been fighting this battle for decades and have begun to think nothing was ever going to work, give this an honest shot. It may change your life. My weigh-in this morning was the lowest it's been in ten years.

Time to walk the dog~

posted by Aunt_Sam on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

R

m c p a w e s o m e 1 0 @ v e r i z o n . n e t :)

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    It works!

    In 3 months, I have lost 23 pounds, gone down 5 points in my body fat percentage, and lost 4.5 inches from my waist...after struggling with my weight for decades. (I received a copy of the of the plan guidelines and sample menus in September through the author's Facebook group.) In addition to the outer changes, my cholesterol level dropped to 121, with a commensurate reduction in triglycerides and LDLs.

    I do know a little bit about nutrition (what heavy person doesn't?). I wanted a plan that followed sound nutritional guidelines and had some research to back it up. This one does. Marla does a great job of explaining why the things I learned about nutrition in my 20s aren't working for me in my 40s, and then lays out, clearly, concisely, and with menus and recipes, what *will* work...and it did. I was nervous about cutting down on grains--I attempted the Atkins plan a few times and it just made me sick--but I felt fine. The menu plans are satisfying and tasty, and Marla has really helped me to re-frame the way I think about food.

    The 2-week turbocharge is a great way to kick off the plan: all the claims about resetting your body's expectations proved true for me. In the 3 months I've been on this plan I started a new job; celebrated my anniversary, Halloween, my birthday, & Thanksgiving, and now find myself surrounded by all the Christmas treats...and still find it easier than it's ever been to make conscious choices about what I eat.

    I hope you find this helpful...if you've been fighting this battle for decades and have begun to think nothing was ever going to work, give this an honest shot. It may change your life. My weigh-in this morning was the lowest it's been in ten years.

    Time to walk the dog~

    51 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great overall plan

    I received an advance copy in September 2012. I've never really dieted and over the years became overweight. My husband and I decided to give this a try. While it was challenging at first, we've totally changed our eating habits and follow this plan about 95% of the time. He's lost 15lbs and I've lost over 30! We feel great and can't say enough positive things about this book.

    27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Two phases to the book. Phase 1 is the quick loss part and I lost 14 lbs painlessly in 3 weeks. Phase II is the maintenance part that has accompanying recipes that seem like they will be tasty..
    I have scheduled labs at the 10 week mark to see effects on LDL and HDL, as well as triglycerides.
    I works for early significant weight loss.
    Bottom line, you must be able to give up carbohydrates and increase your intake of veggies.
    Effects on my cardiovascular baseline remain to be determined.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great Results!!

    Absolutely great book. I got amazing results without starving myself. Very easy to follow. If you make a mistake for Lunch then start back eating right for dinner- no guilt!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    this book works

    this has worked for me. I am on the second half of it. lost some weight, but more than that it has lowered my blood pressure. very happy so far. Feeling great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Easy

    My BP is down, weight in decreasing, I have lots of energy and very few cravings. The first 2 weeks were a little difficult, but after 2 months its worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Easy to read and follow.
    The diet actually works!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Broken Hearts bio

    Type: alicorn. Mane/tail: red Fluttershy style. Eyes: red Rarity style. Skin: inky black. Pers: meet her. CM: A broken heart with a quill stabbed through it. Talent: writing stories about heartbreak. Likes: Sparity, writing, reading, Macinshy, Soarindash, love stories, MLP, action adventure, fantasy, comics, ect. Dislikes: Fancy Pants+Rarity:(, bullys, braggers, ect. History: none of your beeswax! Parents: ? Siblings: ? Anything else just ask!

    1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Fluttersy and Hope

    Fluttershy<br>
    Physical Description: Fluttershy is a light yellow pegasus mare with a long pink mane and tail and shy teal eyes. Her cutie mark is three pink butterflies. <br>
    Personality Description: Shy, but willing to help her friends, kind, caring. <br>
    Birthday: (Horoscope: Most likely Pisces) <br>
    <p>
    Hope<br>
    Physical Description: Hope is a powder pink pegasus mare with a curly baby blue mane and tail and determined violet eyes. Her cutie mark is a red baby bottle. <br>
    Personality Description: Caring, loyal, ready to help her friends, stubborn. <br>
    Birthday: May 12 (Horoscope: Taurus)

    0 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    BIOS

    Storm Break is a dark grey pegasus with a yellow and electric blue Electric Sky mane. Her Cutie Mark is a ball of lightning. Her eyes are one turquoise and one spring green. History, was, well, she used to be a unicorn, but she realized she would have more fun if she had wings. So she traded Trixie her horn for wings. Yes, Trixie was a pegasus. Talented in magic but very talented in flying.

    0 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1