Customer Reviews for

The Dawn of Christmas: A Romance from the Heart of Amish Country

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    The Dawn of Christmas Cindy Woodsmall Book Summary: Sadie en

    The Dawn of Christmas
    Cindy Woodsmall




    Book Summary: Sadie enjoys her freedom away from home and her mission trips to Peru, but after four years, her Old Order Amish family insists it's time to come home and settle down. Levi, a bachelor who distrusts women after a family heartbreak, also has no desire for romance. To keep their families from meddling in their lives, Sadie and Levi devise a plan-but soon discover that the walls around their hearts are breaking down. Can they let go of their prejudices, learn to trust each other, and embrace a future together?




    Review: I loved Sadie and Levi. It was great to see all the previous Christmas Novella characters back. The story line was great and fun to read with great dialog going between Sadie and Levi. Like every Cindy Woodsmall book it has some teary eyed moments that were quite worth it. I can’t wait for the next book!. I enjoyed the off beat traits that Sadie had and Levi was a great companion to her. It is a rare gem of a story and look forward to visiting them in the future. 
    I would like to thank Waterbrook Press and Blogging for Books for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Part of Apple Ridge Series

    This book is part of the Apple Ridge series...

    Sadie has been away from home on a mission trip in Peru, but her Old Order Amish family insists it's time to come home & settle down. Levi, is a bachelor who no longer trusts women after heartbreak in his life, and he has no desire for romance. Sadie and Levi devise a plan to keep their families from meddling in their lives, but will their plan backfire on themselves? Can they trust each other & maybe have a future?


    I couldn't get into this book when i started to read it. That has happened to me before. That in no way means this a bad book. I will just have to try again.


    *I received this book from Waterbrook in exchange for my review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Trust Doesn't Come Easy.... The Dawn of Christmas is relevan

    Trust Doesn't Come Easy....




    The Dawn of Christmas is relevant to much more than the holiday. Two young adults have been badly hurt, each by a member of the opposite gender, and have lost all hope for a future relationship or imminent marriage. This Amish tale is a story of learning to trust where all hope of trust has been destroyed by another. As the two discover one another a friendship of sorts begins. Upon pressure from her father, Sadie and Levi formulate a plan to "court" to satisfy the demands of Sadie's family. The friendship between them is comfortable over time until each realizes there is more to the relationship than just convenience and friendship alone. With issues from the past staring them in the face the question appears regarding where this relationship should go. Will one betray the other when the going gets rough? You'll have to pick up a copy and see for yourself.




    Cindy Woodsmall is well versed author, and writes with integrity and fluency. She knows the Amish way of life well, and weaves an excellent story of the vulnerabilities in life. I would have enjoyed this as a full-length novel rather than a novella. There is so much more to the story, and I felt some predictability due to the brevity of the book. As a whole the characters are very strong and likable, people I'd love to know, and the events throughout the story kept me wanting more. This is an excellent book to read at any time throughout the year. I'm looking forward to more from Cindy Woodsmall!




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    A very well written romance that focuses on the importance of fa

    A very well written romance that focuses on the importance of family, trust, overcoming prejudices and discerning God’s will for you. It is entertaining with fun banter between the characters. The characters are well-developed and realistic with normal flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Dawn of Christmas By: Cindy Woodsmall I loved this story by

    The Dawn of Christmas
    By: Cindy Woodsmall

    I loved this story by Cindy Woodsmall. The Dawn of Christmas is a story of two Amish people, Sadie and Levi. They’ve both been hurt by love and are determined to not get married, regardless of the expectations from others. When Levi is thrown from a horse and Sadie finds him, they spend more and more time together while pushing away their growing feelings for each other.

    Sadie has been hurt by Daniel. Right before their wedding she caught him with another woman. How can she ever trust another man again? She’d rather do mission work and not deal with it. Levi was hurt when his brother’s wife left him and his son. They now live with Levi. Levi can’t see putting his heart in the hands of someone who will just up and leave without notice.

    I was pleasantly surprised this wasn’t another story of we both don’t want to get married, let’s do it since we both know we aren’t going to fall in love, and then they do. The Dawn of Christmas is a very sweet romance between two people and Cindy Woodsmall draws you into their deepening relationship. Their distrust of each other comes to a head with words from Sadie’s ex-fiancé, Daniel. Does she care that now Levi won’t have anything to do with her? Isn’t it for the best since they were getting too close? Read this wonderful romance to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    The Dawn of Christmas by Cindy Woodsmall is a wonderful story de

    The Dawn of Christmas by Cindy Woodsmall is a wonderful story dealing with second chances and learning to trust. Sadie was engaged to Daniel and shortly before the wedding she caught him kissing her cousin but he tried to convince her that she did not see what she thought she saw. In fact, most people in the community did not believe Sadie. Her family decided that it would be best if she
    moved away and this gives her the opportunity to spend time in Peru as a missionary. After four years, Sadie is ready to go back home and her family welcomes her back. Soon after Sadie arrived back home she is out walking and finds Levi lying in the snow seriously injured after being thrown from his horse. He distrusts women after watching his brother suffer when his wife left him with a young son to rear alone. Their families and friends begin to meddle in their lives by trying to get them romantically interested in each other. To keep the peace, Sadie and Levi decide to pretend that they are courting and this leads to lots of interesting situations..

    This story was very well written and all the characters were so well developed that they came to life. Through the dialogue of the characters I could feel their pain and sorrow. All the scenes were so descriptive that I was right in the middle of the action. Both main characters had suffered from the actions of others and I really liked the way the author had them turning to God for guidance and for the ability to forgive the ones who wronged them. It was interesting to follow Sadie and Levi in their journey of learning to trust again.

    I definitely recommend this book to all readers who are lovers of Amish fiction that involves a great romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Cindy has another great hit with this Christmas book.  I thought

    Cindy has another great hit with this Christmas book.  I thought it was very interesting that Sadie traveled to Peru for a mission trip. I thought she was a very strong person. Another thing I enjoyed was reading about her and Levi and how their relationship developed throughout the book. I felt bad for Levi and Sadie and felt bad for both of them and understood why they felt the way they did. This was such a good book that you can read it in one weekend. I highly recommend this book as you will not be disappointed. Cindy has a way of writing books so you feel like you really know the characters and feel all of their emotions. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    The Dawn of Christmas by Cindy Woodsmall is a wonderful story de

    The Dawn of Christmas by Cindy Woodsmall is a wonderful story dealing with second chances and learning to trust. Sadie was engaged to Daniel and shortly before the wedding she caught him kissing her cousin but he tried to convince her that she did not see what she thought she saw. In fact, most people in the community did not believe Sadie. Her family decided that it would be best if she
    moved away and this gives her the opportunity to spend time in Peru as a missionary. After four years, Sadie is ready to go back home and her family welcomes her back. Soon after Sadie arrived back home she is out walking and finds Levi lying in the snow seriously injured after being thrown from his horse. He distrusts women after watching his brother suffer when his wife left him with a young son to rear alone. Their families and friends begin to meddle in their lives by trying to get them romantically interested in each other. To keep the peace, Sadie and Levi decide to pretend that they are courting and this leads to lots of interesting situations..




    This story was very well written and all the characters were so well developed that they came to life. Through the dialogue of the characters I could feel their pain and sorrow. All the scenes were so descriptive that I was right in the middle of the action. Both main characters had suffered from the actions of others and I really liked the way the author had them turning to God for guidance and for the ability to forgive the ones who wronged them. It was interesting to follow Sadie and Levi in their journey of learning to trust again.




    I definitely recommend this book to all readers who are lovers of Amish fiction that involves a great romance.




    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Sadie and Levi are two single Old Order Amish who are intent on

    Sadie and Levi are two single Old Order Amish who are intent on being friends only. Soured on having a romatic relationship both agree to be friends but to the community they act like they have a promising relationship in order to have their families stop their respective match making. Can this relationship grow beyond friendship? Or will they remain friends in name only? Christmas is full of surprises in Apple Ridge in Cindy Woodsmall's new book The Dawn of Christmas. An easy read to put you into the Christmas spirit of faith, family and forgiveness.
    I received this book for free to review from Blogging for Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Neon

    Your story is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    What happened to this story

    Please continue! Please!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Amber

    Make chapter six!! Peeze!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1