Customer Reviews for

The Day the Crayons Quit

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

VERY engaging book!

Beautifully done book with a story everyone can relate to! Makes a perfect gift and why not include a brand new box of 48 crayons too!

posted by 232379 on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not so sure ...

I know this book is receiving high reviews & is on several "best" lists. As a former children's librarian, I'm not sold. It's a great idea -- the reason I bought the book. However, the stories of some colors are a bit dull, one major color was missing from the book &...
I know this book is receiving high reviews & is on several "best" lists. As a former children's librarian, I'm not sold. It's a great idea -- the reason I bought the book. However, the stories of some colors are a bit dull, one major color was missing from the book & the ending seemed just tacked on rather than being a completion of the story. I haven't read it to kids yet and am anxious to see how they like it.

posted by 18324273 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    VERY engaging book!

    Beautifully done book with a story everyone can relate to! Makes a perfect gift and why not include a brand new box of 48 crayons too!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this children's story and will use this story as a entering

    Love this children's story and will use this story as a entering text for writing personification narratives from the crayon's pov.  Good story for teaching mood words as well.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    My children and I just love this book. The concept of crayons qu

    My children and I just love this book. The concept of crayons quitting their day jobs is imaginative and a great way of storytelling to young and old. My daughters are 6 and almost 3, and they LOVE this book. I love to read it, using a different voice for each crayon. Check it out when you have a chance!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great read !!

    I have read this book to children in the age groups from 2 through 10. They have all truly enjoyed the book and expressed avid interest through simple giggles and laughter as well as general feedback and interaction with the older children. Highly recommended.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Cleverly written -- fun for kids & adults

    We purchased this book for our five-year old son's birthday and he LOVES this book. The conversational tone is laugh-out-loud funny for both parents and children. Lots of fun!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    love the story and the illustrations. Our family loves coloring

    love the story and the illustrations. Our family loves coloring so this was right on target for format...and to talk about feelings/stereotyping is a subtle way to get that message across to readers.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Wonderful book! I bought this to read to my 7 year old grandson

    Wonderful book! I bought this to read to my 7 year old grandsons. They ask for it over and over again. The drawings are just fabulous and inspire them. They especially love the blue crayon, then wait anxiously to get to the last crayon - Peach crayon, whose story makes them giggle nervously. Highly recommended

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Wonderful story-a must have for your collection!

    My seven year old and three year old love this book. The illustrations are great and colorful, and having a story from the crayons' perspective is fun for the kids. It makes me want to toss all the coloring books and just give the kids blank paper for their imaginations to run wild. This is definitely a keeper!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    A new FAVORITE children's book! So CUTE! So AMAZING! So WONDERFU

    A new FAVORITE children's book!
    So CUTE!
    So AMAZING!
    So WONDERFUL!
    So NEED TO READ!

    Duncan just wants to color...
    But when he opens the crayon box they have some news for him!

    CUTE CUTE ending as Duncan finds a way to handle 'the day the crayons quit.'

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This book is LAUGH OUT LOUD funny! Duncan's crayons have complai

    This book is LAUGH OUT LOUD funny! Duncan's crayons have complaints which they convey in a series of letters. What makes it so funny is that it's so true. I can imagine each color crayon really having these complaints. Red and blue ARE overworked, pink probably IS ignored by a boy, and beige is right - "when was the last time you saw a kid excited about coloring wheat?" Debut Author Drew Daywalt hits this one WAY out of the park with some of the most clever, touching and hilarious text I've ever seen in a children's book. Jeffers delivers again with his sophisticated, yet minimalist art. Awesome book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    A great new twist to how we think the color of things should be!

    So the sun must always be yellow, or is it orange? And the sky blue? This story will allow the coloring rules to change, presenting a whole new view of the world. And who's to say that it can't be so?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Best book in years!!!!

    Every page of this book brought laughter to all of us - Grandma, mom and dad and the kids! It's a book that you just want to read over and over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    So cute and creative! I am using this book to in my elementary e

    So cute and creative! I am using this book to in my elementary education class, great introduction to friendly letters!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Superbly funny and creative

    An excellent book for children 5-8.
    The illustrations and text are really great.
    The humour is perfect.
    I've already given this as a gift to 3 children, all of whom love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    My six year old grandson loved this book and it quickly became a

    My six year old grandson loved this book and it quickly became a favorite.  While I agree that adults might find it more humorous than children do,  I have to claim it as exceptional for its clever message that, while coloring inside the lines is a good practice, it is thinking outside the box that is the goal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I love this book!  It is so cute.  My son was belly laughing.  H

    I love this book!  It is so cute.  My son was belly laughing.  He insisted on taking it to school the next day to share with his class!  Try different voices for different crayons!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Super---a must read

    It's so great to have something fresh and new....we love this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Kids love this book!!

    I picked this book to read to a pre-K class. I involved the class by passing out crayons that matched those in the book. Each child held up their crayon as that crayon's letter was read. The class loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    My 3 year old daughter and 4 year old nephew thought this book w

    My 3 year old daughter and 4 year old nephew thought this book was hilarious! They absolutely loved it!!! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3