Customer Reviews for

The Day the Flowers Died, a War World II Romance

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A must read

The excerpt from a review on the front cover of this novel says: "This is truly a love story". It is. It is one of the best, if not THE best love story I've ever read. The way the writer describes the couple's feelings; the way they interact; it's all so beautiful. The ...
The excerpt from a review on the front cover of this novel says: "This is truly a love story". It is. It is one of the best, if not THE best love story I've ever read. The way the writer describes the couple's feelings; the way they interact; it's all so beautiful. The writer uses colour throughout the novel to describe scenes. She describes everything from the clothes the characters are wearing to the colour of the sky, to the flowers that Rebecca (one of the two main characters) loves so much. In some books I have read, it can become tiresome when an author describes everything -- but not in this book. The writing is so expertly and seemingly effortlessly scripted so that the reader can 'see' what is being described. An amazing talent.
Yes, there are a few typos and some editorial issues, odd use of words here and there, but on the whole the prose flowed well.
I was hooked on this book which is the story of Eli, a young Jewish lawyer, who falls in love with Rebecca, a German girl, who -- trying to escape the confines of her strict upbringing -- has moved to an apartment in Munich. Eli lives upstairs from Rebecca and falls in love with her. He gradually finds the courage to talk to her. We follow the love affair from the beginning, and by the end of the book I really felt as if I knew these two people.
The book is set in Nazi Germany before the Second World War, and the author has done a good job in weaving together the history and the love story, showing how the changes in the country had a direct effect on the couple's relationship and their lives.
As Hitler's power takes hold in Germany, Eli and Rebecca have to face up to the prejudice around them and the concerns of their families about their forbidden relationship.
'The Day The Flowers Died' is so much more than just a love story. It is a tale very relevant to the world we live in today, showing the destructive effects of prejudice and hatred on innocent people.
This book made me cry at the end.
A must read, for everyone.

posted by MariaSavva_Author on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good

Good story though at times it was boring to get thru. Didnt like the ending. It just quit. It could have at least told what happened. It just left the reader to speculate.

posted by 8888649 on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    The excerpt from a review on the front cover of this novel says: "This is truly a love story". It is. It is one of the best, if not THE best love story I've ever read. The way the writer describes the couple's feelings; the way they interact; it's all so beautiful. The writer uses colour throughout the novel to describe scenes. She describes everything from the clothes the characters are wearing to the colour of the sky, to the flowers that Rebecca (one of the two main characters) loves so much. In some books I have read, it can become tiresome when an author describes everything -- but not in this book. The writing is so expertly and seemingly effortlessly scripted so that the reader can 'see' what is being described. An amazing talent.
    Yes, there are a few typos and some editorial issues, odd use of words here and there, but on the whole the prose flowed well.
    I was hooked on this book which is the story of Eli, a young Jewish lawyer, who falls in love with Rebecca, a German girl, who -- trying to escape the confines of her strict upbringing -- has moved to an apartment in Munich. Eli lives upstairs from Rebecca and falls in love with her. He gradually finds the courage to talk to her. We follow the love affair from the beginning, and by the end of the book I really felt as if I knew these two people.
    The book is set in Nazi Germany before the Second World War, and the author has done a good job in weaving together the history and the love story, showing how the changes in the country had a direct effect on the couple's relationship and their lives.
    As Hitler's power takes hold in Germany, Eli and Rebecca have to face up to the prejudice around them and the concerns of their families about their forbidden relationship.
    'The Day The Flowers Died' is so much more than just a love story. It is a tale very relevant to the world we live in today, showing the destructive effects of prejudice and hatred on innocent people.
    This book made me cry at the end.
    A must read, for everyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Worth reading

    Ms. Blackwelder has done her research. You can feel the atmosphere of the times, but she doesn't drag you down in it too much. A love story. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Awful

    I have no idea who the editors may have been that called this novel historically correct - they blatant disregard for customs and traditions in 1930's Germany are on every page. I could have disregarded had the author not bragged about the editors. Some major errors: flowers blooming in Munich in Janauary, driving from Munich to Berlin in a morning, Corn served at dinner (they did not grow anything but feeed corn), bathrooms in every apartment- they were shared and water needed to be boiled to bathe, going to University to become a nurse (nursing was and still is a practical trade to this day in Germany) - there are numerous others really I could write a novel on the errors, could have been good very cute story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    A

    This is one of the best books ive ever read! I laughed i loved i cried i highly recomend this book!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Amazing!

    A book that pulls you in deep. You end up so caught up in it that when it ends the tragic way it does your heart breaks with the character. A true love story and a most read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Great Story

    I loved this story!! Great history lesson as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    This book was amazing. Definitely sounds pretty accurate with th

    This book was amazing. Definitely sounds pretty accurate with the historical information. It was a tear jerker and my heart went out to Rebecca and Eli. I just wanted to hug them both throughout the story. I suggest this to all of my friends. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Thumbs up

    Good historical fiction about the prejudice against jews in the pre WWII time period

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    As I began reading this romance I noticed the parallel between 1931 and 2008 to 2012. It took me from past to present. It will benefit every Mother, Wife, Girlfriend and Teen to read it. Amy Blackwelder did a wonderful job in her research and matched it with a wonderful romance. Grab your coffee girls and be in the know! PUDGIE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    So beautiful

    Not many books I read have a "moving effect" on me, but this one did. True definition of love and leaves a very memorable mark with you that you could never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great reading, couldn't put it down.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story line is very much what I like. I had searched for WWII romance novels and this came up and it is not exactly set during WWII but before in Germany, it occurred just before the war. It was very interesting reading and a very compelling story. Without giving away the ending, it was very sad. Definitely recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Good but long

    Its a really good story but it drags on and on so i found myself just skimming threw this one to get the jist of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Intresting history lesson

    Good book. The ending was ok. But the history of germany was what held my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    I like books based in the World War II era. Good character development. One of the best love stories I've ever read. The ending, although sad, seemed to end out the story well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Excellent Read.

    I enjoyed this book but thought the ending was a little abrupt. Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Not for me

    I couldn't get interested, After 100 pages of the same vague story I gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2