Customer Reviews for

Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    A wonderful feel good book

    Absolutely one of the best books I've ever read, I wish there was a sequel with more stories. I recommended that friends give this as a Christmas present. Makes me want to live in Gander.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    The Reason the 9/11 Hijackers failed

    The Day the World Came to Town chronicles the events in Gander, Newfoundland, when President Bush closed American airspace on 9/11/2001. The people of Gander, population about 10,000, had 28 planes diverted to Gander. On 30 minutes notice, they housed, fed and clothed (the passengers were not allowed their luggage) almost 8,000 people. Ganderites and passengers came together and proved that the hatred shown by the hijackers was the anamoly; real love and consideration are Western traits that no one can obliterate. This is the only happy book to come out of that terrible day, and it's one of the happiest I've ever read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Book club surprise

    Wasn't initially thrilled that our club was reading a book about 9/11. Expected a depressing story. But this book delighted me with its positive message about the potential for basic human kindness, creative thinking, and the ways in which people deal with one another in the midst of crisis. I would recommend this book to book clubs, but also to those who have read too many stories about the tragedies associated with 9/11. This book serves as a reminder that even these horrible events can have positive side-effects. It was a joy to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    FABULOUS!

    How often did we think of the people and animals stranded in the air during the 9/11 attacks? When did the media report on their lives? This is an inspirational story, one that needs to be told over and over again. It is easily written and, therefore, it is easily read. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in the lives of people affected by today's politics and terrorism.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Amazing and heartwarming, a must read!

    What an amazing book and an amazing town. I feel honored to actually have read this book and understand what so many passengers went through and experienced during their stranded days. What an amazing town, to come together like I've never heard of before. I can only hope that this book will open the eyes of all those who read it, and open their hearts as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful book!!

    I've read this 3 times, and will read it again. Gave a copy to my brother, who is not a reader, and he also loved it. He's passed it along to half the state of Rhode Island - where he lives. It would be nice, as someone said, if a sequel was written - catch us up on all the people involved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Fantastic Read!!

    My daughter's high school made this a mandatory summer read for all students. I read it first and loved it. Extremely well written and moves quickly. I live only 45 minutes from where the towers were and this is a perspective that I know I never thought about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Awesome!

    Another side of the day that changed the world. This book reminded me how important it is to believe in the basic good in people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Such an interesting story & piece of history I would have never known. A beautiful occurrence that came out of a horrible day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    5 stars for sure!

    a wonderful story about the big hearts of strangers.
    too bad it had to come at such a great cost.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A timely read!

    My book club read this and met to discuss it on September 12. This is a great story that had I not heard about. Its amazing what this town did for the people that were unable to complete their trip on that terrible day. Makes me eant to travel to Newfoundland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Wonderful people of Newfoundland

    We enjoyed this book tremendously. Although the world will never forget 9/11, this book reminded me that there are kind and generous people out there. Author Jim DeFede wrote an excellent account of what it meant to those passengers whose planes were diverted and thus, spent nearly a week in the small towns of Newfoundland. These passengers were taken in and taken care of. Having spent a week along the southern coast of Newfoundland last summer, this book brought back memories of how the Newfies will do anything and more for you. It is a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Really eye opening

    At first long dut it was really good i even met the author jim defede

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Humanity is alive and well in Newfoundland

    In the aftermath of the life changing events of 9/11, we have all heard tragic stories of loss and devastation. None of us will ever forget that day and the weeks and months that followed. I was hesitant when this book was first proposed at my book club, to commit to reading it, mainly because I was concerned that it may be a raw read. Now that I have finished the last chapter, I am so glad that I didn't trust my first reaction. What an amazing account of kindness and compassion on the grandest scale. I can't believe I had not heard about Gander, Newfoundland before this book. In a world where people tend to be caught up in there own lives and pay little attention to their neighbors, it's amazing that this small community committed to caring for so many displaced people. The expression "pay it forward" may come to mind as your read this book. The people of Gander made a lasting impression on their unexpected visitors and I would venture to guess established a legacy of community service in the hearts of many weary travelers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    WOW!!!!

    I'm not much of a reader, but couldn't put this book down - it came highly recommended, and it wasn't hard to figure out why! I dare you to read just one chapter and put it down! 'Heartwarming' is an understatement! I think about eight people have borrowed my book so far...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Very well done

    An excellent book indeed. I live in Newfoundland and am very proud of our hospitality which also happens to be our tradition. Jim Defede done a superb job writing this book....great work me son!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Heartwarming

    I bought this book on vacation in Florida and could not put it down. I am so glad this story was shared with the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    Great holiday 'gift of the spirit'

    With all of the negative that came out of 9/11 it is a nice change to hear about some the good, and this is one of those books. Amazing what the kindness of strangers can mean in a time of need. Illustrates that a caring spirit is still alive in the world & in Gander, Newfoundland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Just How Great the People of Newfoundland Really Are

    Even though I am a citizen of the United States, I am so proud of my heritage (being the child of a Newfie and also the wife of a Newfie). I found this book to be truly wonderful and yes, there are "no locks on the doors of Newfoundland". This book was so inspiritional and it brought many a tear to my eye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    A Handbook for Humanity

    As a teacher and administrator I can only hope that all schools adopt this book as mandatory reading for all students. This book exposes the capabilities of the human heart. The character of the Gander people is beyond admirable. That is a society that I would wish to live in. The book has as many perspectives as it has characters. I implore all teachers to consider this as a teaching tool within their classroom. It has it all: Ethics, Morality, Multiculturalism, History, etc...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3