Customer Reviews for

The Dead and Buried

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love a good mystery book. Kim Harrington is fantastic when it

I love a good mystery book. Kim Harrington is fantastic when it comes to producing a thrilling story that keeps me at the edge of my seat.




The best part about this book is the great plot. You have a new girl moving into a new house where there has been a murder. No ...
I love a good mystery book. Kim Harrington is fantastic when it comes to producing a thrilling story that keeps me at the edge of my seat.




The best part about this book is the great plot. You have a new girl moving into a new house where there has been a murder. No knows how the person died and it's up to Jade to figure out why. I love that the plot move well taking the reader by the hand, pulling deep into the mystery. Right away, Jade jumps into detective mode, asking questions, making assumptions and of course communicating with the dead. Each chapter is a page turner that takes your mind for a spin.




There is a love interest is quite interesting. Being that he too had a past, it's interesting to see how she figured it all out. They had a instant friendship that kept her happy and I liked that. Jade has had much happened in her life. I liked that there are moments where Jade is able to not think about anything and just be herself. 




The Dead and Buried is an great thrill ride that no one can resist. The unexpected journey into a mystery death pulls the reader into a amazing story. A stunning quest that you want to read, The Dead and Buried is wonderful!

posted by BooksWithBite on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Dead and Buried has the potential to be an epic haunting tal

The Dead and Buried has the potential to be an epic haunting tale. Jade moves with her family, finally landing in a bigger house in a more populated town. What she doesn't know is the big beautiful house they just moved into still has one of its previous residents, lu...
The Dead and Buried has the potential to be an epic haunting tale. Jade moves with her family, finally landing in a bigger house in a more populated town. What she doesn't know is the big beautiful house they just moved into still has one of its previous residents, lurking...waiting...haunting.

Ghosts scare the crap out of me and the ghost in this story was no exception. Cold bursts of air, dark shadows, electrically charged air...no thank you. These were the aspects that worked really well in The Dead and Buried.

Jade is a fairly well rounded girl. She is friendly and caring, especially where her younger brother is concerned. She's non-confrontational but still brave enough to face the impending doom loitering in her house.

Kayla, the girl who died in the house is pure evil. In life and death. She epitomizes the term 'mean girl' and I hated her. She's rude, ruthless, manipulative and vindictive.

Many of the other characters seemed one dimensional, they lacked much substance. Donovan, the romantic interest, had a bit of mystery to him and Alexa, the nerdy friend, had some quirkiness. It just wasn't enough to deliver me a real connection.

When Kayla makes her presence and her reason for not 'moving on' known, Jade is forced to investigate her mysterious death or risk the life of her little brother. Here is where the story started to fall apart for me. Kayla possesses Jade's little brother in order to convey her messages and threatens his life if Jade does not help her. This could have worked if the story was a much darker and horrific one. It's not though, it is creepy but not terrifying. The reactions to the haunting are not as ghastly and alarming as they should be, especially with a possession.


It was also fairly predictable. I had the perp fingered way too early for my liking. Many of the twists were anticipated. The first quarter of the book had me pretty excited and I wish that the rest of the book would have held that same feel for me.


Perhaps my expectations were too high going into this one. I was hoping for a pure frightening tale, maybe I should have looked for that in a YA book. Perhaps if I was much younger The Dead and Buried would have fit this bill perfectly. I would recommend it for a younger crowd looking for a creepy ghost story that will scare you enough to get a nice adrenaline rush but not cause any nightmares.

posted by Ginger-Read-Reviews on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love a good mystery so of course I was drawn to this book. Me

    I love a good mystery so of course I was drawn to this book. Me being perceptive like I am I fully expected to figure out who killed Kayla, but that still didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book at all. I loved getting to know the characters and trying to figure out not who did it, but why they did it. There was a few good chilling scenes in the book to keep my creepy book loving self satisfied, and a few swoon worthy moments to make my romantic side happy. This was a great and somewhat creepy mystery book that will appeal to people who love this type of book. What made this book even better for me is that it is set in Massachusetts and I love when I can find some familiarity in a book I am reading. (I asked the author if the small town Jade came from was a specific one, and it wasn't, but it made me think of a town I grew up in.)

    Jade is a great character. She is originally from a small town in western Ma (woohoo shout out to my area!) and has now moved to Woodbridge, a more populated town with rich kids and a fancy school. She has always wanted a big house in a bigger city, but she doesn't understand how they could afford a huge house like that. It's not until she starts school and finds out that a girl not only died in the house just months ago, but it's suspected it was murder. Now she has to figure out what really happened to Kayla because Kayla's ghost is going to destroy her family if she doesn't. Her little brothers life is at risk and there is no way Jade will let that happen. She does everything she can to discover the mystery of who killed Kayla. She also collects gemstones which is cool because I do too. I loved hearing the meanings of each one since I didn't know a lot about that.

    There is a bit of romance in the story, but it isn't enough to take over. It's there and it's a big part of it, but it's not overwhelming, and it seems genuine and realistic. There does seem to be a bit of a love triangle, but I never really saw it that way. It was always obvious to me who Jade was interested in and she made it clear for the most part too. I really enjoyed the romance in this since it was believable and it fit in with the story well.

    I will touch on Kayla briefly since she is a main part of the story. She is not a pleasant character. We get to know her through diary entries which is really cool. We get little snippets of her life and hints at what really happened. She labels people in her diary as numbers so you get to figure out what number correlates to each person. She is the queen bee of the school, but people don't really like her. They all fear her because she can destroy anyone's reputation without even trying. Everything she does is calculated. She is manipulative and evil. She does have issues, but still. She's just not a character you can like. As a ghost she is even more evil than she was when she was alive. She doesn't care who she hurts or has to take down in order to discover who killed her so she can move on.

    I thought this book was fantastic and I really enjoyed getting to know the characters and watching the story unfold. Even thought I knew who did it early on, I had not clue why. And of course it's written so cleverly that the book makes you want to doubt yourself, but I know better. I think I read too many mystery books to really be fooled by them. The way the story was put together was great to read since you get not only Jade trying to figure things out, but you also get to read the entries in Kayla's diary and piece things together. Fantastic job Kim Harrington. This book had just enough creepiness and mystery to keep me engaged from beginning to end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars! 'The Dead and Buried' is a great old-fashioned ghost

    4.5 Stars!

    'The Dead and Buried' is a great old-fashioned ghost story set in modern times. Jade has always wanted to move to a bigger city with a bigger house, and now she's finally gotten her wish. The only drawback is that Jade has to start at a new high school, which she doesn't even mind. There are whispers behind Jade's back at school and she starts to wonder what everyone is talking about. Then she discovers that her little brother can see a shimmering girl in his room - one that nobody else can see. Strange things begin to happen in the house. Jade finally discovers the secret that no one wants to talk about - a girl her age died in the house only months earlier. Is Jade's new house haunted? It seems that the angry ghost of the girl who died is now haunted Jade's house - and threatening to hurt her little brother - if Jade doesn't help figure out who killed her. Will Jade be able to solve the girl's murder before it's too late? Will she be able to find a murderer among her classmates?

    I absolutely love a good ghost story and this book certainly did not disappoint. There is everything creepy that a good paranormal novel needs - a haunted house, a dead teenage girl, a ghost, murder, and possessions. Aside from being a ghost story, the book is also a fast paced mystery/thriller where Jade must uncover what really happened to the girl who died and who it was that killed her. The writing was incredibly well done and I was completely absorbed in the story from the first page. I literally could not put this down! I started reading it one night when I couldn't sleep and ended up powering through it and finishing around 6 am. It was so worth it though! The characters are realistic and easy to identify with - especially Jade, who I immediately liked. Of course there was a mysterious and gorgeous guy in the book - who just also happens to be heart-broken and suspected of murder. But I still adored him and the relationship between him and Jade was perfectly done. There was tons of action, adventure, twists and turns, and mystery throughout the story - which definitely kept me on my toes and guessing most of the time. The ending was a great twist - one that I didn't see coming until really close to the end. Overall, I totally loved this book. It was a fantastic page turner and a definite must read for fans of creepy ghost stories.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    So, I have this quirk of mine where I like to cozy up in my bed

    So, I have this quirk of mine where I like to cozy up in my bed late at night, turn out the lights, and listen to scary books on my Kindle (while the computerized voice isn’t all that scary, the fact that I am listening to potentially deadly situations unfold in the pitch dark always heightens the fear factor for me as opposed to reading in the daylight). I ended up listening to all of Harrington’s The Dead and Buried this way, and let me tell you, there were definitely some instances in which my blood ran cold.

    While the beginning of the novel reads like any other YA story in which a teen moves to a new school and is struggling to make friends, the twist is the fact that Jade and her family moved into Kayla Sloane’s house, the resident mean girl who died in the very house Jade now calls home. The fact that it remains unclear whether or not Kayla was murdered makes it all the more chilling, and as Jade begins to uncover the truth about Kayla’s life, loves, friends, and death, a creepy ambiance surrounds the novel.

    I loved Jade’s determination to save her family from the wrath of Kayla, and her sleuthing abilities were fun all follow along with, and so was the little romance Harrington added to the mix. However, I will say that I was able to figure out the truth surrounding Kayla’s death fairly early on due to some foreshadowing and “in passing” comments from other characters in the text. This isn’t a bad thing, by any means, but I definitely would have liked it to be more of a surprise. But, what was lacking in the surprise department was definitely made up for when it came to scaring me stiff.

    In regards to Kayla, I hold absolutely no love for her, especially as she threatens Jade’s family and the truth about her thoughts and feelings unfold. She was a terrible person in life, and a terrifying entity in death, and even finding out the truth about her death didn’t make me feel sorry for her, but rather filled with anger. Once you read it, you’ll see why, but I can’t say anything else about that without giving away clues, so I’ll move onto the aspects of the novel that scared me to death. While Kayla is new to haunting people, she has no qualms about threatening the life of a five-year-old, and her newfound ability to possess Jade’s younger brother chilled me to the bone. As I laid in my bed listening to the story unfold, there were multiple instances that Kayla did something that made my hair stand on end and my entire body tingle—similar to the feeling you get when a part of your body begins to fall asleep. What was really creepy about this is that the feeling of intense evil would come over me and go from head to toe in a matter of seconds, which in turn chilled my blood and had me turning on the light to make sure I was alone and that no ghost was haunting me in my room. I don’t know that I would have been as afraid had I read this novel during the day, but I’m telling you, if you really want to be unnerved and a little bit frightened, definitely read this novel with minimal light when you’re home all alone. The plot will seriously mess with your feelings of security.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Jade has always wanted to move to a bigger town and a bigger hou

    Jade has always wanted to move to a bigger town and a bigger house, and she's finally gotten her wish. Unfortunately, when school starts and she realizes that everyone is whispering about her behind her back and she is the last one to find out why, she goes from excited to peeved quickly. When she confronts her father and stepmother, she finds out that the only way they could afford the bigger and much newer house was because a girl had died there, Kayla Sloan; a girl who would have been in her class that year and who was one of the most popular, charismatic, and yes, vicious students in the school.  All of the kids, even her friends, were afraid to cross her because if she was mad at you, or even just bored that day, she could make your life a living hell. The biggest problem, though, is that her death was a mystery in that she either tripped and accidentally fell down the stairs in the house, or was pushed. When Jade has a party and some of the kids decide to try to contact Kayla's spirit via a Ouija board, they are a little bit too successful, and that's when the trouble really begins.




    I read Kim Harrington's books Clarity and Perception a while back and really liked them, so I was excited when NetGalley approved my request for The Dead and Buried. I loved the premise and when I got into it, I liked the characters for the most part. Jade was enough of a rebel that she befriended who she wanted to regardless of popularity, which I really enjoyed. I really wanted to love Donovan because he was the moody artsy boy who I usually go for in books, but he always seemed to be hiding something, and that made got a bit wearing. Kane was okay, but I was usually pulling for Donovan anyway, so that didn't really bother me. I guess my biggest problem was one that has already been noted in previous reviews: There just seemed to be something missing from this book that would have taken me from liking it to loving it. And I'm not going to mention what happens at the end (obviously!) but I felt kind of let down and wanting more when I finished the book. 




    I'm still a big fan of Kim's and will definitely read any future books she writes, but I have to say that this one just wasn't as great as I was hoping it would be. I would give it 3 1/2 stars :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1