Customer Reviews for

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia de Luce Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Faithful readers of my blog will know that I absolutely adore t

Faithful readers of my blog will know that I absolutely adore this series by Canadian Alan Bradley. I have been eagerly awaiting the sixth entry.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches marks the return of Bradley's eleven year old sleuth - the intrepid, indefatigable, indom...
Faithful readers of my blog will know that I absolutely adore this series by Canadian Alan Bradley. I have been eagerly awaiting the sixth entry.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches marks the return of Bradley's eleven year old sleuth - the intrepid, indefatigable, indomitable Flavia de Luce!

Flavia, her two older sisters and her father live at Buckshaw, a crumbling old mansion near the village of Bishop's Lacey, England. She's incredibly bright, with a passion for concocting and distilling poisons in a forgotten wing of the estate. She also has a propensity for happening upon dead bodies. Besides her lab, her greatest joy comes from solving 'whodunit'. If she can solve it ahead of the local constabulary, all the better!

Minutes before he finds his maker, courtesy of the train at Buckshaw Halt, a mysterious stranger approaches Flavia and desperately asks her to "Tell your father that the Gamekeeper is in jeopardy. He'll understand. I must speak to him. Tell him that the Nide is under - "

Over the last five books, Bradley has slowly been surely dropping hints about Harriet, Flavia's mother, who disappeared many years ago when Flavia was just a baby. There are few cracks in Flavia's armour, but the loss of her mother is one. Bradley finally reveals the answers to Harriet's whereabouts and in The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches, takes the story to places I didn't see coming (But that I am very excited about!)

Why do I love this series so much? The time period, the crumbling mansion, the poky village and all of it's quirky inhabitants. All of the characters are wonderfully drawn, but it is Flavia and her busy little mind who captures me.

I've said it before and I'll say it again...."Flavia is one of the most endearing, captivating, curious, beguiling, precocious characters I've ever discovered in the pages of a book."

I love her view of the world - here are a few 'Flavia-isms'....

"I counted to eleven, partly because it was my age (although not for much longer) and partly because eleven seconds seemed to me a perfect balance between awe and insolence."

"One of the marks of a truly great mind, I had discovered, is the ability to feign stupidity on demand."

"As I have mentioned before, it has been my experience that a prolonged silence has the same effect as a W.C. plunger when it comes to unclogging a stuck conversation."

But, despite her talents, she is still a little girl. Bradley has fleshed out her character beyond her talents with poisons and her brilliant mind. Because, after all that she is still a lonely, little girl whose best friends are Dogger, the family retainer and Gladys - her bicycle. Flavia unconsciously transfers and attributes many of her own feelings to Gladys.

"There was nothing that excited Gladys more than sneaking out the back way. We had performed that maneuver together on many occasions, and I think she took a certain naughty delight in having the opportunity to do it again. She gave a tiny squeak of pleasure and I hadn't the heart to reprimand her."

" I thought of her sitting home alone, wondering why I had forsaken her. Although Gladys loved nothing better than whizzing hell-for-leather down hills, she loathed being shoved up them. It made both of us cranky."

See what I mean? I love her! I wanted to be Nancy Drew and Harriet the Spy when I was younger. I devoured each and every book and carried around my own notebook full of observations and clues. Flavia will appeal to all ages, but I like imagining myself in her eleven year old shoes.

Absolutely, positively recommended! If you haven't read any of this series yet, I encourage you to start at the beginning. For established Flavia fans - you won't be disappointed. And like me, you'll be counting down the days until the seventh book is released!

Flavia has a fan club - and of course I'm a member! (Also, the UK is making this series into a television program in 2015)


posted by Twink on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoiler

Another plot spoiler that ruined the book with her overly excessive reveal of the book. There is no need to regurgitate every point of the book. Just state if you liked it or not. Do not give us a readers digest version of it. Bn, please ban these plot spoilers, please....
Another plot spoiler that ruined the book with her overly excessive reveal of the book. There is no need to regurgitate every point of the book. Just state if you liked it or not. Do not give us a readers digest version of it. Bn, please ban these plot spoilers, please.

posted by 8888649 on January 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful readers of my blog will know that I absolutely adore t

    Faithful readers of my blog will know that I absolutely adore this series by Canadian Alan Bradley. I have been eagerly awaiting the sixth entry.

    The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches marks the return of Bradley's eleven year old sleuth - the intrepid, indefatigable, indomitable Flavia de Luce!

    Flavia, her two older sisters and her father live at Buckshaw, a crumbling old mansion near the village of Bishop's Lacey, England. She's incredibly bright, with a passion for concocting and distilling poisons in a forgotten wing of the estate. She also has a propensity for happening upon dead bodies. Besides her lab, her greatest joy comes from solving 'whodunit'. If she can solve it ahead of the local constabulary, all the better!

    Minutes before he finds his maker, courtesy of the train at Buckshaw Halt, a mysterious stranger approaches Flavia and desperately asks her to "Tell your father that the Gamekeeper is in jeopardy. He'll understand. I must speak to him. Tell him that the Nide is under - "

    Over the last five books, Bradley has slowly been surely dropping hints about Harriet, Flavia's mother, who disappeared many years ago when Flavia was just a baby. There are few cracks in Flavia's armour, but the loss of her mother is one. Bradley finally reveals the answers to Harriet's whereabouts and in The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches, takes the story to places I didn't see coming (But that I am very excited about!)

    Why do I love this series so much? The time period, the crumbling mansion, the poky village and all of it's quirky inhabitants. All of the characters are wonderfully drawn, but it is Flavia and her busy little mind who captures me.

    I've said it before and I'll say it again...."Flavia is one of the most endearing, captivating, curious, beguiling, precocious characters I've ever discovered in the pages of a book."

    I love her view of the world - here are a few 'Flavia-isms'....

    "I counted to eleven, partly because it was my age (although not for much longer) and partly because eleven seconds seemed to me a perfect balance between awe and insolence."

    "One of the marks of a truly great mind, I had discovered, is the ability to feign stupidity on demand."

    "As I have mentioned before, it has been my experience that a prolonged silence has the same effect as a W.C. plunger when it comes to unclogging a stuck conversation."

    But, despite her talents, she is still a little girl. Bradley has fleshed out her character beyond her talents with poisons and her brilliant mind. Because, after all that she is still a lonely, little girl whose best friends are Dogger, the family retainer and Gladys - her bicycle. Flavia unconsciously transfers and attributes many of her own feelings to Gladys.

    "There was nothing that excited Gladys more than sneaking out the back way. We had performed that maneuver together on many occasions, and I think she took a certain naughty delight in having the opportunity to do it again. She gave a tiny squeak of pleasure and I hadn't the heart to reprimand her."

    " I thought of her sitting home alone, wondering why I had forsaken her. Although Gladys loved nothing better than whizzing hell-for-leather down hills, she loathed being shoved up them. It made both of us cranky."

    See what I mean? I love her! I wanted to be Nancy Drew and Harriet the Spy when I was younger. I devoured each and every book and carried around my own notebook full of observations and clues. Flavia will appeal to all ages, but I like imagining myself in her eleven year old shoes.

    Absolutely, positively recommended! If you haven't read any of this series yet, I encourage you to start at the beginning. For established Flavia fans - you won't be disappointed. And like me, you'll be counting down the days until the seventh book is released!

    Flavia has a fan club - and of course I'm a member! (Also, the UK is making this series into a television program in 2015)


    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A pivotal book in this series

    In the previous book in this series, Speaking from Among the Bones, the author dropped a bombshell on the last page: Harriet’s body has been found. Harriet is the mother of our heroine and first-person narrator Flavia deLuce and, even in death, she has been a key character in this delightful series.

    The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches begins with the arrival of Harriet’s body by train in Bishop’s Lacey in 1951. There’s a huge crowd to meet her and there are many tears being shed, even though her death was more than a decade ago, when almost-twelve-year-old Flavia was just a baby. Most of the rest of the book is devoted to Flavia’s detailing Harriet’s lying-in-state and funeral. Of course, there’s a murder – and it occurs just after the victim gives Flavia a cryptic message for her father and just after Flavia’s conversation with Sir Winston Churchill.

    Even though the story is more serious than earlier books in the series, there are many lighthearted moments, in which Flavia’s youthful imagination and naiveté poke through the gloom.

    The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches is a pivotal book in this series and in the life of Flavia deLuce. Much is revealed, but much is still hidden. As usual, I can’t wait for the next book in this series. I wonder if Alan Bradley knew where this series was headed when he began writing it. I know I never would have predicted where it’s headed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Each book in this series has been outstanding. In fact, I canno

    Each book in this series has been outstanding. In fact, I cannot recall a book/series I have read recently that I can say was this enjoyable. With the Harry Potter series, I started wishing Harry would meet a dastardly end. I guess I am glad he survived. Flavia and her creator, Alan Bradley, does not disappoint!!
    Will there be more in this series?

    I agree with another less happy reader that no one should give page-by-page details. This is a book and series worth the investment of your time and money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    READ THIS SERIES!!!

    I adore this whole series! Book #6 reveals our Flavia learning so much about her maturing almost-12-year-old-self as she deals with the death of the mother she lost as an infant. She is empathizing with family and village folk she had previously despised. More major changes are in store for our beloved Flavia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Plot spoiler

    Another plot spoiler that ruined the book with her overly excessive reveal of the book. There is no need to regurgitate every point of the book. Just state if you liked it or not. Do not give us a readers digest version of it. Bn, please ban these plot spoilers, please.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Sorry fans, I agree with Delphimo posted last March. The series

    Sorry fans, I agree with Delphimo posted last March. The series has been delightful but this one...no real plot, just a lot of hackneyed words about post-war England lifted from other books and films of the period. Unbelievable and boring.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Wonderful series. 

    Wonderful series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Yum

    This is such a great series.

    Highly recommended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Midnight

    Keep on goin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Lunamoth

    YOLO srry im bored

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    The Vault preview or whatever

    I was just talking to blue lightning about a book adolf hitler wrote when i accidently yelled at him when he tried to tell me about ww11 he left through a door that read do not enter.i decided i would just ignore the sign and follow Blue to wherever he was going.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    love this series and this book. Flavia has been  more mysterious

    love this series and this book. Flavia has been  more mysterious but this book answers a lot of questions.
    Where was her mother? Why did her mother go away? How is her father going to cope with Flavia and her questions?
    Hope we have many more books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    I enjoy this series immensely! The voice of the young girl is so

    I enjoy this series immensely! The voice of the young girl is so prominent, but she is obviously wise beyond her years. Her critical thinking has developed through the series, but she's still a breath of fresh air.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great read!

    I've read all of the Flavia DeLuce series by Alan Bradley and love every one of them. This one is no exception. A fun whodunit with a bit of a twist this time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Agree the end of a quirky series. Family remains unpleasant

    And father awful and what in the world is the plot? That every one keeps giving away? There wasnt any. Did not buy but read thru so a three. If did not get thru a two but if bought and couldnt read a one. Library Friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    I have enjoyed the Flavia de Luce series in the past, but the ch

    I have enjoyed the Flavia de Luce series in the past, but the chemistry overwhelms the novel. In the last novel, word had arrived that Harriet de Luce, Flavia's mother, had been found. Harriet embellishes the hard driven woman of the WWII era; she flies a plane and mountain climbs, as well as other daring feats. Since I do not wish to spoil the story, I will curtail my analysis of Harriet. This story doe not hold the charm of past Flavia stories. The novel concerns espionage and the life after the war. I do not feel the characters are well developed in this novel, and the setting limps around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Entrancing

    Dear Mr. Bradley,

    Please live to a quite-ripe old age--and continue writing--so Flavia may also live long in the entrancing world you've created for her.

    Sincerely,
    Camille DeSalme

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    After finishing this book can't wait to read the rest of this series!

    Alan Brady expressed Flavia's feelings










    Alan Brady's Flavia & her family were alive on every page. I felt he was writing from a long lost diary. I could not put this book down and was actually sorry when I finished it. This book deserves to be on the best seller list for a long,long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Flavia rules!

    Flavia is back. Another "can't put it down" story. This one is a little different from the previous ones, but just as enjoyable. Flavia's mother comes home. Not a spoiler - this happens at the beginning of the book. Flavia learns more about her background and "all's well that ends well".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    EVEN IN DEATH--FLAVIA RISES TO THE OCCASION!

    Love this whole series. This book has a necessary somber feel to it, considering the subject, but there are still enough twists and turns in it to keep you guessing. Your heart aches for the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2