Customer Reviews for

The Death Clock: a short story

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Very very good.

Very good plot. I wish it would have gone on longer! I think the author could have made this a longer story by developing the characters and adding more background to the plot. I would love to know more about Andie and Jack's relationship as well as more detail to the s...
Very good plot. I wish it would have gone on longer! I think the author could have made this a longer story by developing the characters and adding more background to the plot. I would love to know more about Andie and Jack's relationship as well as more detail to the subway and bus incident. Also, how the ability to see numbers is passed on. Definitely worth reading though.

posted by 8025310 on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment

I read this book based on so many glowing 5-star reviews. The plot concept is interesting, but the characters are poorly developed even for a short story, more like cardboard cutouts. The attempt at establishing a past office relationship for the main character fell fla...
I read this book based on so many glowing 5-star reviews. The plot concept is interesting, but the characters are poorly developed even for a short story, more like cardboard cutouts. The attempt at establishing a past office relationship for the main character fell flat, and served as an awkward vehicle for adding some additional story details. The ending could be guessed several pages in advance (although some reviewers seem confused over it) and I found it to be less than convincing, probably because the young man (antagonist) featured at the end seemed less than authentic. It's short, but still not worth reading in my opinion.

posted by HonestCritic on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Mixed review

    Loved the ending, the beginning was fine, the middle needs a bitt more work. The story could use some development in the characters and plot, a dozen or so more pages used to describe and explain certain situations or relationships with co workers could have helped. But it is an okay story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Enjoyed

    When I started to read the story all I could think about was "Great, based on that Justin Timberlake movie. I am not going to care for this." I wish that the story was much longer than 33 pages. The story was interesting, but left me wanting to read more about Jason at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good, quick read

    Chilling plot, quick read; recommend you give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Middle of the road

    Interesting concept, but could use more description and character development. I did like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Interresting

    Good interesting short story. Fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Short Story

    It's good for being a short story. I would like to see a longer version, perhaps with a different ending or following Jason after the ending. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Good, but it had a different twist at the end.

    It would be a book to read, but wasn't what I had expected at the end. Left me with a surprised feeling that this is all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Ok. Decent read.

    Nice short read. But very expected story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    OKAY

    I liked it once I got it but you don't get it til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly recommend for FREE story

    This was an interesting and almost "REAL" story. It held my attention and made me want to read something else by this author, and it was FREE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Thin plot, gimmick premise

    Unfocused story with flat, underdeveloped characters. The author throws a number of digressions at the page in the hope that something will stick, but he would have been better off adding flesh to the few characters and creating an infrastructure to support his gimmicky premise. After wandering down dead ends for half its length, the story ends rather abruptly. The author no doubt thinks this is a twist ending worthy of The Twilight Zone, but it plays out like an episode of Tales from the Darkside that ran too long: randomly tacked on, yet telegraphed several pages too early. Describing one's main character as "slow", dull-witted, unable to let go of an ex who has obviously moved on, and "preferring to let other people do her thinking for her" is absolutely no way to create a character worthy of the reader's empathy. Naturally, when terrible avoidable tragedy happens to her, the reader can't sympathize with her plight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The Tge The Death Clock

    Great book, to short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Decent story, worth a read. Doesn't take long to get through so give it a chance. I'd probably read the author again. Hopefully there would be a little more development in the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Good short story!

    Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Good

    story line was good just wished there was a little more,guess thats why their called short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    spirit

    pretty good short story, nice easy read, i almost felt like i had entered the twilight zone, well written,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Reminds me of a nickelback video

    Nicely written story, but I can't help thinking the idea was stolen from Nickelback's "SAVING ME" video. I love the video, but the similarity to this short story is too much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3